Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy for The Message alone
This is a very good album, but as the follow up to Illmatic it would allways receive critisism.
The album starts off with an intro which is actually worth listening to! unlike many rap albums' intros. Next is the song the Message. In my opinion this is one of the best Nas songs ever, and a personal favorite of mine. Infact I'd recommend buying this album just for...
Published on 11 Mar 2004 by Iain Ashby

versus
4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best
This album is not Nas at his best. This was the follow-up to the magnificent to Illmatic. there are some good songs, but it seems to have too much filler. The only track that really stands out for me is "If I ruled The World". There are other good tracks, the Dr. Dre-produced "Nas Is Coming" and "Street Dreams" is enjoyable.
On...
Published on 20 April 2000 by M. Farrow


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy for The Message alone, 11 Mar 2004
By 
Iain Ashby "gigahoe" (London, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: IT WAS WRITTEN (Audio CD)
This is a very good album, but as the follow up to Illmatic it would allways receive critisism.
The album starts off with an intro which is actually worth listening to! unlike many rap albums' intros. Next is the song the Message. In my opinion this is one of the best Nas songs ever, and a personal favorite of mine. Infact I'd recommend buying this album just for that song. That's not to say the rest of the album is no good, on the contary This is certainly one of Nas' best albums. Other highlights include the singles: If I ruled the world (with Lauren Hill) and Nas is Coming, but also affirmative action.
This is not an album for non rap people, there are no Pop type songs but any fans of Nas should buy this and any Rap fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fat album, 13 Jun 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IT WAS WRITTEN (Audio CD)
this was one of Nas best albums, every song shows depth his story telling skills a strong here, the beats are good, people keep talking about illmatic, any rappers and lower their vocal range and increase syabllic pattern its just nas was the first, and anyway he needs to grow from Stillmatic what makes him any better than Jay Z, the Stillmatic album was all hype I advise people to buy this album not for putting
dirt on peoples names but the narration and skill displayed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nas- It Was Written, 31 Aug 2002
This review is from: IT WAS WRITTEN (Audio CD)
Every hip-hop fan, has to own this. Nas takes hip-hop to the next level , he explodes the start of the album with "the message", hardhitting anthem bout life in quensbridge. Just by listening to it you can tell why he is one of the best MCs around and not to be messed with.In every track Nas gives his all,you can tell hours and hours of work have gone into the production side of this album. "Nas is coming" is one of the sttrongest songs on the album,the fatest flavs lie with that song.NAS is queens finest mos def !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nas escobar brought pure fire, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IT WAS WRITTEN (Audio CD)
everyone talks about 'illmatic' being nas' best work but to me, his follow up, this album 'it was written' is escobar at his finest. the production, collaborations, lyrics...everything is on point. this album is the type you can listen from start to end without skipping any tracks. some of my favourite tracks are 'affirmative action' and 'take it in blood'. i keep having to buy this cd as friends always borrow it and i never see it again! and its definitely one i always want in my cd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Class, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IT WAS WRITTEN (Audio CD)
Love this album. It does represent Nas's fall towards piopulism, not a good thing for him, but at this stage he's dropping tracks like

The Message, If I Ruled the World (Imagine that), Take it in Blood, I Gave You Power, Shootouts, Live N'gga Rap, and the Firm's best track - Affirmative Action.

There are 2/3 tracks worth lopping off of this album but I love it anyway. Easily in Nas's top 3 imo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IT WAS WRITTEN (Audio CD)
One of the best rap albums out there, Nas has never failed to impress and this album optimises 90's rap.go get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Written in the stars, 22 May 2013
This review is from: IT WAS WRITTEN (Audio CD)
As abberant as it may seems, IT WAS WRITTEN is the full lenght album by Nas that I have listened from start to finish. When ILLMATIC came out, in the Congo, we've only watched videos to "The World is yours", "It ain't hard to tell" and "One love". However, no one had the album. Although these videos showcased the skills of this rapper and words got around that he was the Messiah of Hip Hop, I had not listened to the whole ILLMATIC. IT WAS WRITTEN is therefore my Nas defloweration and arguably the reason why this is rated as his best work. When translated in French and after analysing the lyrical dexterity, the album is far more superior than his debut. Shockingly, the Dr. Dre produced "Nas is coming" and the lead single "Street Dreams" - the R Kelly remix is way better - have never been my favourites.

What has made this album stand the test of time is the wholesome of each song and a step-up from ILLMATIC lyricism. Nasir Jones was broadening his horizons and never mind getting more commercial appeal, true fans of Hip Hop will admire the genius behind "I gave you power" and the street posse cut that introduces us to THE FIRM "Affirmative action". In any given era of Hip Hop, this album will have its place. Why? Because it is heartfelt and 17 years later, it still has its charms, relevance and potency thanks to tracks like "If I rule the world", "The message" or "Black girl lost". It was written in the stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IT WAS WRITTEN (Audio CD)
I bought this as a present for someone special who looked everywhere to get this, but couldnt find, cheap and recieved it within days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yo, 16 Jan 2012
This review is from: IT WAS WRITTEN (Audio CD)
This album is so sick, it has some of the best bars/concepts ever dropped in hip hop. The message is one of the best songs ever made to, 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album, 1 July 2010
By 
A92 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: IT WAS WRITTEN (Audio CD)
It was written is one of those great mid 90 hip hop albums. This album was made after Nas's debut album Illmatic which received universal acclaim and is considered the greatest rap album of all time.

Although i dont think It was written is as good as Illmatic, i feel that the album is also a classic, with only 1 or 2 bad songs on the album.

Nas tries to improve this album from the previous by including more songs (16), which he was critised for previously.

I would 100% recommend you purchasing this album, as it contains classic songs like....The message, affirmative action and of course the now classic song "if i rule the world".

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9e6a1438)

This product

IT WAS WRITTEN
IT WAS WRITTEN by Nas (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews