Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars10
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2000
Words are not enough to describe this cd. Gil Scott-Heron is a lyrical genious. He conjours up an intoxicating blend of hip-hop, funk, soul and jazz and serves it up on this masterpiece. Listen, enjoy, buy.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2008
This is a fantastic little compliation and a great starting place to the music of Gil Scott-Heron.
It's got bar one song, the whole 'Pieces of a Man' album on it plus a few other little things which are ok.
so you do the maths....
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2001
This definitive album portrays a reggae-jazz style theme charting the thoughts and feelings of the artist and many others of his day on the socio-political environment in the USA, includes tributes to other artists and some simply easy-going tuneful material. He was live at the jazz cafe this year- a crystal-shining event!- and needs to be recognised for his contribution to good music in the past several decades, especially with this great album. Shay.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Gil at his best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
Fine album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2010
difficile de le critiquer moi j'aime beaucoup l'écriture de gill - je suis descendu jusqu'à acheter son album précédent qui n'est qu'un recueil de poéme dicté oralement - il y a une superbe premiére version de " télévision will not be a revolution " ou le contraire ahahaha ! je l'aime autant que l'autre à cause de l'intro ou gill se présente .Tout ce que cet homme fait est sur le sceau de la qualité !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2016
Dull
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
Carp early stuff...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2005
I bought this album after hearing track one the much sampled 'The Revolution Will not Be Televised' which is a great track but the rest of the album just ain't up to standard. If you ask me his voice is not that great and the lyrics, at the risk of being controversial, ain't good niether which is the main problem as the grooves underneath are kinda cool. Maybe I'll love it after a few months but I doubt it it's not a grow on you kind of record if you heard the afore mentioned track and are thinking about buying this, think again and maybe buy the track off I-Tunes or something.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)