Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars10
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2001
You'd think from the cover that this would be no more than a novelty record, but baby its so much more! Oow!
The king of soul belts out some great christmas tunes that should have you a quakin' an a shakin' (like Go Power At Christmas Time) and some great soulful, serious tracks like the fantastic "Let's Make Christmas Mean Something This Year". Highly recommended listening!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2007
James Brown was always a big fan of Christmas - in fact, he recorded several Christmas albums over the course of his career, including a rare Internet-only release just a couple of years before his passing. That aside, 'Funky Christmas' gathers together tracks from each of Brown's festive LP's, so fans can have him on the stereo instead of Cliff Richard (sorry, Cliff)!

This record places more emphasis on his soul work, and there are not as many funky grooves as some might expect. It is also surprisingly serious, even grim in some places, as James sings of Christmas in the ghetto, and trying to get by without a dime in December. It's good music to reflect to, and certainly one of the most original Christmas albums I've heard. However, at Christmas time, I think most people want to play carefree, uplifting music, or at least something they can dance to, and a lot of these songs don't fit that description.

'Funky Christmas' is worth collecting if you are a serious JB fan, but is probably best enjoyed after the big Christmas party, rather than during.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 September 2011
Having recently bought the amazing 5 star Christmas album by Etta James recently I looked around the candy store to find some other funky seasonal offerings that were not full of remixed carols, show tunes or right on messages. I needed something more deep down and dirty and here is where I found it in this superb collection of James Brown tracks culled from three older albums from the 60s era ~ the era of golden soul ~ "Soulful Christmas", "James Brown and his Famous Flames sing Christmas Songs" and "Hey America". I dont know if those albums are still available and if not then this current anthology is a superb tribute.
There are a couple of favourites on here but the majority of the songs are new Brown penned masterpieces. Nobody can tear into a song like this guy, like an excited kid on Christmas morning
Just buy it and share the Christmas soul of the Master
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2009
What a brilliant Christmas gift - we had it on as background music all Christmas and loved it! There's a lot of variety and all done in JB's best funky way.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2011
classic James Brown i have got to say a great cd to listen to all year round. very powerful deep and dark a must for all james brown fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
It's not great by any means but if you want to drive people mad with LL kind of Christmas songs this ones for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Excellent, got to have some James Brown in your christmas music collection, this is a nice spin on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2009
Delicious tunes to give an extra flavor to any Christmas evening: a must for any James Brown fan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)