Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan's latest album comes straight from the soul!
I'm quite surprised to see Melanie C's 'Northern Star' has 50 reviews and I'm the very first to review 'On A Day Like Today'. Both albums are equal in beauty and strength.
Every track on this album is very good, some are excellent ('How Do Ya Feel Tonight', 'I'm A Liar' and 'I Don't Wanna Live Forever') and two of them are masterpieces. We all know the nice 'On A...
Published on 10 July 2000

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not original
If you like Bryan Adams you will like this album. There is nothing shocking here, just 14 tracks which could have been taken from any Bryan Adams album before it.
This is not necessarily a criticism though. Bryan has sold countless albums through the same formula and who can blame him. Stand out tracks on this album are the title track 'on a day like today' 'before...
Published on 1 Feb 2004 by liambirch37


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan's latest album comes straight from the soul!, 10 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: On A Day Like Today (Audio CD)
I'm quite surprised to see Melanie C's 'Northern Star' has 50 reviews and I'm the very first to review 'On A Day Like Today'. Both albums are equal in beauty and strength.
Every track on this album is very good, some are excellent ('How Do Ya Feel Tonight', 'I'm A Liar' and 'I Don't Wanna Live Forever') and two of them are masterpieces. We all know the nice 'On A Day Like Today', Bryan's musical adventure with Mel 'When You're Gone' and the remixed 'Cloud Number Nine'. The two songs I hold in my heart are 'Inside Out' and 'Where Angels Fear To Tread'. The last song is mostly for the melody, but 'Inside Out' will remain in my top-10 songs for a long time: never have I heard such touching lyrics, where Bryan tells a girl he wants to know her inside out. "The biggest lie you ever told/you're deepest fear 'bout growing old/the longest night you ever spent/the angriest letter you never sent/the boy you swore you'd never leave/the one you kissed on New Year's Eve/the sweetest dream you had last night/your darkest hour, your hardest fight" and he continues "the sadest song you ever heard/the most you said with just one word/the loneliest prayer you ever prayed/the truest vow you ever made/what makes you laugh, what makes you cry/what makes you mad, what gets you by/your highest high, your lowest low/these are the things I wanna know".
Some may say Bryan turned pop or got soft, I say he discovered real beauty... Thanks Bryan! Keep on rocking the world like you did in Flanders Expo, Gent (Belgium) in october '99!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: On a Day Like Today (Audio CD)
This album is probably Bryan's best album to date (along with "into the fire") returning more to his rock roots after the disappointing album "Eighteen till I die". Right from the very start this album is pure quality and keeps up the pace right to the very end with only a couple of weak tracks. In short, Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice album..., 21 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: On A Day Like Today (Audio CD)
... This album is one of the best of Bryan.
Um... personally really love the songs like "Inside Out" and " C'mon C'mon C'mon ", they are definitely fantastic!
There's something special 'bout the album, it's hard the describe. All the songs are "bridged" together. Also, when you hear the album, you 'd hear some "soft background", I couldn't find word to describe it but that's what I love about the album.
Afterall, that's a great album and desearves a better "popularity". I'm afraid it didn't reach the top position in the Uk charts... did it? That's a pit...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not original, 1 Feb 2004
This review is from: On A Day Like Today (Audio CD)
If you like Bryan Adams you will like this album. There is nothing shocking here, just 14 tracks which could have been taken from any Bryan Adams album before it.
This is not necessarily a criticism though. Bryan has sold countless albums through the same formula and who can blame him. Stand out tracks on this album are the title track 'on a day like today' 'before the night is over' and 'cloud number nine'.
A good solid album, if you are just curious then stay away but for fans its a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars revisited, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On a Day Like Today (Audio CD)
I bought this album just after it came out but lost it.... but this is even better revisited after some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good one, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On A Day Like Today (Audio CD)
Again this is brian adams at his usual brilliant self. Its all been said before but he is the best thing to come out of Canada in a long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality, 15 Oct 2013
By 
A. J. Harknett (london,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On A Day Like Today (Audio CD)
great voice great songs what more do you want, I can't recommend his recording enough, go buy and listen for yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On A Day Like Today (Audio CD)
This is a super album with so many good songs. This is one of Bryan Adams' better albums. You can listen to it over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On A Day Like Today, 2 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: On A Day Like Today (MP3 Download)
Bryan Adams is a brilliant singer, I love most of his songs.

This album had some great tracks, though I might have to remove a star on the fact that although the songs are superb, a lot of them are quite simular to each other. Not quite enough diversity.

This will certainly suit fans, but if you are just interested in Bryan Adams' music, may I suggest you buy The Best OF Me first? It's a compilation of his greatest hits, with a nice mix of singing styles.

For the fan, this is the perfect album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One of Bryan's Finest, 24 April 2009
By 
Mr. R. A. Jones "AL" (North Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On A Day Like Today (Audio CD)
Easily one of his best latter-day albums, On a Day Like Today was something of a surprise when it was released in 1999. Released three years after the typically rocky 18 Till I Die, this album centres more on mid-tempo ballads than "Summer of `69" and "Can't Stop This Thing We Started".

Not as slow-paced as 2008's rather dreary 11, and not as rock-infused as Waking Up the Neighbours, On a Day Like Today shows how Bryan's song writing has matured. Lyrics, never his strong suite, have finally been improved upon, and the melodies are as rich as ever.

The hit title track isn't the only fine single here: "Cloud Number 9" and "When You're Gone", the latter being the popular Melanie C duet. The album tracks are remarkably listenable too, with "Where Fallen Eagles Fly", for example, ranking as one of Bryan's finest ballads.

Not as eminently consistent as 2004's Room Service, but certainly better than a lot of albums he released in the `80s, this 1999 opus is certainly one of Bryan Adams' strongest albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On A Day Like Today
On A Day Like Today by Bryan Adams (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews