Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


165 of 165 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Track listings ...
Once again, Amazon can't be bothered to provide track listings for compilation albums. Maybe they're not interested in selling them. Oh well, I can only try to fill the gaps here with the track listings. They are:

TRACKS: CD1: Begin the beguine (Shaw). A string of pearls (Miller). The Sheik of Araby (Waller). I'm getting sentimental over you (Tommy Dorsey)...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by bressons_puddle

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little swing for 4th July
this was the best for setting the mood, swing gets the feet tapping and helps to set the atmosphere too, we had a great time for the 4th July 2012
Published 24 months ago by Gmac


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

165 of 165 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Track listings ..., 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: Swing! The Ultimate Big Band Album (Audio CD)
Once again, Amazon can't be bothered to provide track listings for compilation albums. Maybe they're not interested in selling them. Oh well, I can only try to fill the gaps here with the track listings. They are:

TRACKS: CD1: Begin the beguine (Shaw). A string of pearls (Miller). The Sheik of Araby (Waller). I'm getting sentimental over you (Tommy Dorsey). King Porter Stomp (Goodman). Linger in my arms a little longer (Armstrong). Cherokee (Barnet). I got it bad (Ellington). Oh yes take another guess (Fitzgerald/Goodman). Robbin's Nest (Basie). Traffic Jam (Shaw). I didn't know about you (Horne). I can't get started (Berigan). Stormy Monday Blues (Eckstine/Hines). Jazzocracy (Lunceford). Day Dream (Hodges). I'se a muggin (Teagarden). Sing sing sing (Parts 1 & 2) (Goodman).

CD2: Take the A Train (Ellington). Don't be that way (Goodman). Whoa babe (Hampton). I'm gonna clap my hands (Krupa). Minnie the Moocher (Calloway). Rockin' in rhythm (Barnet). Rock and ride (Leonard). No variety blues (Armstrong). In the mood (Miller). Any old time (Holiday/Shaw). Tuxedo Junction (Hawkins). Big John Special (Goodman). Rump Steak Serenade (Waller). Perdido (Hines). Grand Terrace Shuffle (Hines). Knock knock who's there (Henderson). Rock it for me (Hot Lips Page). Milenburg Joys (Parts 1 & 2) (Tommy Dorsey). Chattanooga choo choo (Miller). Frenesi (Shaw). Things ain't what they used to be (Hodges).

Hope that helps someone out here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth having in your colection, 1 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swing! The Ultimate Big Band Album (Audio CD)
This is a good selection of jazz classics from just before WW2, i.e. 1938 onward.
What did our grandparents or great grandparents dance to before the well known days of rock and roll music?
Answer. Jazz or Swing or BIG BAND music or whatever you may call it.
Some of these are tracks are standards that are even used in adverts today.
This is an excellent album and the music quality is not so bad bearing in mind the technology that they had back then.
The sleeve notes make great reading too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swing ultimate big band album, 27 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swing! The Ultimate Big Band Album (Audio CD)
Excellent value. Good range of swing music. Only draw back on my copy the Johnny Hodge track a little fluffed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars swing it daddy, 28 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. Anthony J. Hume (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swing! The Ultimate Big Band Album (Audio CD)
i bought this CD for my dad and we both really loved it. i was looking for a set that ranged through just about all the important swing bands of that great pre-war era. this was just perfect. miller is there, of course, but the better lunceford and teagarden outfits are just as prominant. "I'S A MUGGIN'" by the latter being a real favourite. i checked most of the others on offer - this was, in my view, the most comprehensive and, therefore, the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swing, 16 July 2011
This review is from: Swing! The Ultimate Big Band Album (Audio CD)
The recording would appear to have been remastered as the sound quality is very clean.
Good selection and variety of tracks.
Recommended without hesitation.
Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars big band fan, 1 May 2011
By 
R. Phillips (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swing! The Ultimate Big Band Album (Audio CD)
bought this as a gift for a big band fan he liked it so i give it a good review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to Big Band Swing Music, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: Swing! The Ultimate Big Band Album (Audio CD)
If you want to explore the Jazz Swing era of the Big Bands you can't go far wrong with this collection - and at such a low price too. Sound quality is variable, but only to be expected given the age of these recordings, but there is not one single duffer in the collection. Go buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Album, 3 Oct 2011
By 
Mrs. C. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swing! The Ultimate Big Band Album (Audio CD)
Most enjoyable album, easy to dance to and lots of 'swing'. A very nice way to spend an evening listening the big band sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WW2 NOSTALGIA, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swing! The Ultimate Big Band Album (Audio CD)
foot-tapping, soul-food -cheerful tracks from desperate times, guaranteed to make you pull up your socks and stop complaining! Thankyou Amazon -my cheapest and best entertainment every time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swing! The Ultimate Big Band Album (Audio CD)
Fab CD if you want something a tad different from the norm, plenty of foot tapping. Product arrived on time and in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swing! The Ultimate Big Band Album
Swing! The Ultimate Big Band Album by Various (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews