Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding live set from the first lady of "folkabilly", 22 Jun 2001
By 
dagreen@another.com (Leyland, Preston, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Fair Summer Evening (Audio CD)
Featuring the definitive version of Love at the Five and Dime, this is almost a greatest hits live album. Also with the delicate More Than a Whisper and the rousing Spin On a Red Brick Floor, this showcases the versatility of Nanci's voice. This disc also features an amazing version of Julie Gold's "From A Distance". Ultimately for me this, along with Dust Bowl Symphony are two must have's. But if you choose only one pick this one, if only for the intro and brilliance that is "Love at the Five and Dime" As close to the perfect live album as Thin Lizzy's Live and Dangerous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A scorcher, 20 April 2007
By 
W. Riley "walriley" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Fair Summer Evening (Audio CD)
I don't honestly think i've heard a better live acoustic album than this one. Everything is exactly where it should be. The fragile but expressive voice. The emotionally charged melodies and subject matter. The supremely accomplished, but subtle accompaniment of the Blue Moon Orchestra. Hell, even the one bum note she hits in 'wing and the wheel' just adds to the emotional honesty of this performance. Amongst her best albums, and probably the finest recorded live performance i've ever heard committed to compact disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect?, 20 Jan 2010
By 
A. E. Hardman "Keir MH" (Crewe UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Fair Summer Evening (Audio CD)
This live album finds a youthful Nanci Griffith performing in 1988 at the Anderson fair in Houston. It showcases many of her most cherished songs in the perfect location with a tangible atmosphere which she absolutely revels in.

Her performance is wonderful bringing new light to familiar songs. They are helped by a wildly enthusiastic audience and some charming chat between songs. This really is an almost perfect live album which delights on so many levels.

I bought this CD (at an absurdly low price) to replace my ageing vinyl copy and to transfer to my mp3 player: for anyone who doesn't already own this album then now is surely the time to treat yourself. If it's possible to get more pleasure for this amount of money I'd love to know how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hidden treasure, 18 Mar 2004
This review is from: One Fair Summer Evening (Audio CD)
This is simply a beautiful album, full of gems both in the live performance and songwriting quality. It is hard to pick favourites but 'love at the five and dime' is a quiet masterpiece. Anyone familiar with 'from a distance' and who has a pre-formed opinion of the song based on the Bette Midler (or indeed Cliff Richard) 'versions' should take a listen to the clean, clear and simple version on display here. The whole album is a very gentle country/folk performance throughout (if it has to be given a label) however those of you who are unsure whether this is for you, but who value musical talent, owe it to yourselves to listen. But be warned, once hooked there is no turning back and she has made a lot of albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Live Set, 20 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: One Fair Summer Evening (Audio CD)
This was my first introduction to Nanci Griffith and is one of my favourite records of all time. Each track is an exquisite blend of Country and Folk with a small hint of Rock thrown in now and again. If you only ever buy one CD then make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem, 1 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Fair Summer Evening (Audio CD)
I am not generally a fan of live performances as often the recording quality suffers or the audience intrudes. This record is the exception - the sound quality is excelent and the audience seems to inspire Nanci to perform at her best. Highlights for me werethe great versions of Love at the Five and Dime, From a Distance and Trouble in the Fields. The rest are pretty good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like being there, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Thom Robert "Robert of Burgundy" (Burgundy France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Fair Summer Evening (Audio CD)
great intimate concert you almost feel that you were there at the moment of recording. The overall sound quality is not the best but the actual individual sounds are incredible. Good filming of Nanci's guitar work and her great facial emotions. I play this on many occasion to bring sunshine on rainy days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nanci Griffith one fair summer evening, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Fair Summer Evening (Audio CD)
Being a big fan of Nanci Griffiths I was keen to get this cd. It has not let me down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the album, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Fair Summer Evening (Audio CD)
I bought a few of Nancy's albums but this is the one that is both charming and gutsy. I love it, she has a great way of telling stories both before singing and during singing. She reminds me of Christy Moore, they are very similar in their folk backgrounds and modern outlook and approach in performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Fair Summer Evening
One Fair Summer Evening by Nanci Griffith (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews