Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an album!
Who made who was released after fly on the wall, and is a definate improvement, taken from the stephen king film, maximum overdrive, it is basically a mini best of ac/dc up to that point.
1. Who made who - one of the best songs they have ever recorded, so damn catchy - 10/10
2. You shook me all night long - yet again another true classic - 10/10
3. DT - the...
Published on 10 Sep 2003 by ste-ven

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who Made Who? Stephen King...
As many have commented here, this was indeed the soundtrack for now cult Stephen King trailer trash movie Maximum Overdrive.

This album is a soundtrack and features all the songs that were featured in the film itself that were performed by AC/DC (the film has excerpts from Wagner and an ice cream truck plays King of the Road as it's jingle) - bar a few short...
Published on 15 Dec 2010 by Azz McMahon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars :-), 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
Not as good as the old stuff but far better than the new stuff, Angus at his best in here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC who made who, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
AC/DC who made who......good album,cracking tunes throughout and the booklet is full of info and pics. would make a good introdution to the group...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Minimum Undercoast, 7 Mar 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
This is an anomaly of a comilation album, made specifically for the film Maximum Overdrive, based on the Stephen King short story 'Trucks', which I suppose makes it both a soundtrack ANd a compilation album. And it's ok but there are a lot of really good AC/DC songs but 'Sink the Pink' and 'Shake Your Foundations' aren't any of them. It is nice to see the inimitable 'Ride On' from Dirty Deeds... and the excellent classics 'You Shook Me All Night Long' and 'For Those About to Rock...' but where's the 'Back in Black' instead of 'Hell's Bells'?

The original tracks are all good, 'Who Made Who' being a great song, showing a new, more tuneful direction for the band. The instrumentals are ok interludes but nothing more really.

On the whole it's very good but also missing many other classics while a few lesser ones languish in their place, although more recently written at the time of its release hence their inclusion.

And actually not a bad place to start if you have never heard them before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's fine by me, 9 May 2011
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
Bought this album years ago, my first album was dirty deeds done dirt cheap.. Although back in black is a classic this is a great album.. For Hells Bells alone it's worth it.. don't be put off because it's not "true" ac/dc album or something, I don't know why any rock music fan would not love this...I never saw the movie and couldn't care less about that.... Thumbs up.. I'll have to order a new copy as it's gone walkabout..bloody hell..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still as good now as it was back then!, 2 Oct 2010
By 
Coops (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
I hadn't realised just how much I missed having this in my collection. Used to have the cassette tape but haven't had the equipment to play it on for about 15 years. Just fantastic, classic sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scrappy But Brilliant, 9 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
It's maybe a random collection of tracks thrown together for a film soundtrack but despite this it is still a great album. As stated elsewhere there are only three new tracks, the great title track and two solid instrumentals (D.T. & Chase The Ace). The only track to feature Bon Scott on vocals is Ride On (from Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap album) which is a slow bluesy track. Most of the tracks are part of the established AC/DC legend including You Shook Me All Night Long & Hell's Bells (from Back In Black). Sink The Pink & Shake Your Foundations (the highlights from the disappointing Fly On The Wall album) and the album finishes on the majestic For Those About To Rock (We Salute You).

Until the release of Iron Man 2 Who Made Who was the closest AC/DC had come to a greatest hits album. It still provides a good overview of AC/DC's back catalogue with Brian Johnson on vocals. Who Made Who is unfairly dismissed during discussions on the band's career but almost 25 years after it's release it's still band 4th biggest selling album in the US with sales of five million. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good collection of old and new, 26 Nov 2000
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
This really is good. Even though it is a soundtrack album to a not very successful film it dosent mean the musics bad. It displays some of their classics such as "Hells Bells", "You shook me all night Long" and "For those about to rock" against their new material like the title track for instance. Agood collection however if you own most of AC/DC's albums already you probably own most of these songs already so more for the people who sort of like AC/DC but only like particular songs like "Hells Bells" and so on. V.Good!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice start to an ACDC collection, 16 Jun 2003
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
I bought this album with absolutely virtually no knowledge of ACDC, I bought this purely because I knew of one song (You Shook Me All Night Long) and heard of a few others. Even though its a soundtrack, its a really good album. 'Who Made Who' and 'You Shook Me All Night Long' make a good start to the album. In the next track, 'DT', I heard Pearl Jam, no doubt Vedder et al. owe much to ACDC musically. 'Sink The Pink' isn't quite up to the rest of the album despite a nice guitar riff. 'Ride On' slides into its own bluesly mellowness and when 'Hells Bells' kicks in, you begin to feel sorry for the prisoners in Camp X Ray who are forced to listen to this song for hours upon end. How much rock can an Afghan take? One might presume a lot, considering the terrain of the country. Lame attempts at humour aside, this is the highlight of the album. 'Shake Your Foundations' is annoyingly catchy and 'Chase the Ace' is a self-absorbed instrumental. The final track of the album is 'For Those About to Rock', just under six minutes of dated 80s rock. Needless to say, its great.
In this day of age ACDC do sound dated, but this is, in a funny way, somewhat charming. May the solo never die...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic AC/DC, 16 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
If you're a DC fan, then this is right up your alley. I know it's basically the Maximum Overdrive soundtrack, but nonetheless the usual AC/DC ethic is prevalent; pounding riffs and grizzly vocals abound. Brian Johnson: Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic AC/DC, 16 Sep 2003
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
If you're a DC fan, then this is right up your alley. I know it's basically the Maximum Overdrive soundtrack, but nonetheless the usual AC/DC ethic is prevalent; pounding riffs and grizzly vocals abound. Brian Johnson: Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who Made Who
Who Made Who by AC/DC (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews