Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars24
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2006
You don't have to be a Northener by birth and a Yorkshireman by heritage to enjoy this collection of brass band music, there's something for everyone - well, almost everyone - ranging from music for reflection or devotional purposes, through the classics and works written especially for brass bands to arrangements of jazz and popular music (none of the more modern pieces though) as well as some stirring marches.
For the purist perhaps the differing standards of the twenty two bands featured (some alas no longer with us) may be irksome but I know of nothing else which captures the spirit and range of 'banding' so well.
A unique collection and one which gives a great feel for a part of our English heritage which has been increasingly been taken up across Europe and in North America in recent years!
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2002
I have only recently started buying Brass CDs and this collection has been a fantastic "Kick Start". There are loads of tunes that I had hoped were on it but didnt know the name of, if you get my drift. Sure , because some of the recordings are low rent there is the occasional "oops" moment with volume levels but I would say the quality is going to be acceptable to all but Audiophiles. Some great individual performances on each of the 4 CDs. If you are reading this because youve just bought Brassed Off and have clicked a link, buy this , you'll love it, and its cheap !
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2002
This CD is quite hard to assess. Some would say it comprises some of the 'cheesiest' brass band numbers, whilst otheres would say its a great compilation of recordings from the hey day of old fashioned brass banding. Many of the bands no longer have the same names as they play under on the CD and many of the recordings leave a lot to be desired compared to the standard of brass bands nowadays and the modern recordings they do. Despite this the CD is a great trip down memory lane and makes for some nostalgic listening.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
100 Brass Band Classics contained much of the great brass band music from the 20th century. The bands were of a high standard and the recording was also of good quality. The cd is one of the most comprehensive collections that I have listened to.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
I like martial and hymn tunes. There are good tunes on the discs and the music brings out great solo musicians and, you can tell the timing of each piece of music is spot on.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
A real must for Brass lovers, great selection of the all best Brass Bands around. Will make an ideal present .
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2000
Superb selection of tracks played by some of the best bands in the world. The choice of music is varied and you would find it difficult not to find something that you liked.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2003
Can't give it the fifth star because with so very many tracks there are bound to be duplicates of what one already possesses. Perhaps not quite fair of me but there you have it.
In terms of how much brass you get for your brass --- that's a pun? --- then this comes up trumps [or is it flugel horns?]
Glad I bought it. And the recording quality can't be faulted. Bruce M-S +++
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
I had a yearning for more brass band music and this CD doesn't disappoint. All the usual suspects are there: Black Dyke Mills, Grimethorpe Colliery, Williams Fairey, Wingates and Brighouse and Rastrick, but there were others who I had not come across before (not being an expert in this field).I thoroughly enjoyed the CD and would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
Excellent value for money. For those who enjoy brass band music make this part of your collection. For those who would like to understand more about brass bands the DVD Brassed Off would in my opinion be a good start. A very moving film which I believe helps to understand part of our social history and at the same time great music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.00
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)