Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special voice and special music
The readily recognized rich voice of Jim Reeves is as fine on this CD as any other of his numerous recordings, but here his special voice focuses on very special music - gospels. The CD is a collection of religious or sacred recordings made over the years 1958-1962 with Jim Reeves accompanied mainly by guitar and piano, and on some tracks with gospel chorus vocal...
Published on 6 Dec. 2002 by D. Elliott

versus
5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars my disappointment
I knew Jim Reeves songs before. I knew gospel before. I don't know what I expected, some kind of totally surprising gospel? In fact I prefer Jim Reeves in his other songs and I prefer when gospel is sung by black people...
Published on 20 May 2009 by Zoska


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special voice and special music, 6 Dec. 2002
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Gospel Favourites (Audio CD)
The readily recognized rich voice of Jim Reeves is as fine on this CD as any other of his numerous recordings, but here his special voice focuses on very special music - gospels. The CD is a collection of religious or sacred recordings made over the years 1958-1962 with Jim Reeves accompanied mainly by guitar and piano, and on some tracks with gospel chorus vocal support. There are many traditional numbers of which my favourites are "In The Garden" and "It Is No Secret" together with the jazz orientated "Take My Hand Precious Lord", and there are titles where tunes were composed especially for Jim Reeves with a total of 20 tracks in all. These make for easy and relaxed listening, but the degree of sincerity with which the singing is delivered adds a spiritual dimension that can bring uplift and comfort in much the same way as some jazz music. This is a special CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 20 Nov. 2012
This review is from: 20 Gospel Favourites (Audio CD)
I got this CD as a present for my birthday in October of this year and it is great. From the first song to the last, everyone is just superb. Jim Reeves voice is so smooth and so easy to listen to - I could listen to it all day. There are many of my favourite gospel songs on the CD.

I was on a shopping trip with my mum recently and whilst I was driving we were listening to the CD, my mum loves Jim Reeves and when she heard the CD she thought wow. She now wants a copy for Christmas. I cannot praise it enough. Pure magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Reeves: 20 Gospel Favourites & Christmas Songbook, 16 Jan. 2011
This review is from: 20 Gospel Favourites (Audio CD)
I bought 2 of Jim Reeves CDs for Christmas - '20 Gospel Favourites, and 'Christmas Songbook' both excelent. '20 Gospel Favourites' is a must have if you love Gospel. Easy listening and good Gospel album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jim reeves 20 gospel favourites, 30 July 2009
By 
Mrmalcolmsbyass (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 20 Gospel Favourites (Audio CD)
i used to have this on vynle ,just had to have cd version .it is fab .you can loose yourself for hours and just drift away with jim reeves golden voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Reeves Gospel Favourites, 5 Sept. 2012
By 
Ms. H. Speck (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Gospel Favourites (Audio CD)
Jim Reeves never fails to delight. I love Gospel music and this is so easy listening too. This has been transferred to my iPod for long train journeys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 26 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Gospel Favourites (Audio CD)
I bought this for a friend who is ill as she loves Jim Reeves and had asked 5
other people to find it but Amazon came up trumps.
It came very quickly,she was so pleased I had to order another
3 and they were sent direct to her, for presents to her friends!
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Divine Jim Reeves, 28 Dec. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Gospel Favourites (Audio CD)
My father loves Jim Reeves. Bought this for Christmas for him and he was elated- it is wonderful and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JIM REEVS, 18 Nov. 2012
By 
Mrs. M. Biagi "M. Biagi" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Gospel Favourites (Audio CD)
This Jim Reevs cd is a delight to listen to. As always, the dulcet tones of Jim Reeves pleases everyone who is still a fan, and to hear him sing all these old sing-a-long favourites again is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Reeves - gospel favourites, 8 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Gospel Favourites (Audio CD)
this is the 2nd of Jim Reeves albums that I have replaced - the quality of his voice coupled with the songs he sang on both are almost heart stopping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Reeves, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Gospel Favourites (Audio CD)
I love Jim Reeves voice and I also love Gospel so this suited me very well. It is a good relaxing CD to have on in the car on a long journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

20 Gospel Favourites
20 Gospel Favourites by Jim Reeves (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews