Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best live album in the world ever!
I used to think the best live album ever was Thin Lizzy's 'Live and Dangerous', but then I heard this one. Don't get me wrong, I'm not a mosher by any stretch of the imagination. I love music from all walks of life, but this one just totally rocks dude!
Even if you're not a fan of Maiden you can't help but admire the energy and excitement of this album. The crowd...
Published on 5 Feb 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, but it not the full original version ...
It's ok, but it not the full original version. Bought it to replace the old double album I bought in the 80's and there are some of the tracks missing.
Published 2 days ago by Andrew Dobson


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, Amazing, Superb..., 30 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Live After Death (Audio CD)
...etc. etc. No amount of superlatives can give enough praise to this live album of their best songs. Of course, Maiden had not yet reached the giddy heights of the UK singles Top 10 (not until March 1988's "Can I Play With Madness"), but there was surely some conspiracy by the chart people as Maiden had racked up several Top 20 hits that always seemed to get to Number 11 or something like that. Nevertheless, any Maiden fan will tell you that this era is their best. Any non-metal fan can appreciate the musicianship and energy on display on this live album recorded in California in March 1985 on the "World Slavery" tour.
I had always dismissed Maiden as cheesy until I got my hands on this recently. There are so many amazing songs on here - "The Trooper", "Two Minutes To Midnight", "Number Of The Beast", "Hallowed Be Thy Name", "Run To The Hills" and "Running Free" stand out in particular. But if you can, try to get the reissue with the bonus CD - "Children Of The Damned" has a bluesy intro then a furious denouement ensues. But the finest track Maiden ever wrote was in fact from their debut LP in 1980 - "The Phantom Of The Opera" is one of the greatest metal songs ever written.
If you've never really heard Maiden's music before, well it's thrash from the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal school that influenced America's best metal bands like Metallica and still does. Even though Maiden were an 80s band they do not have the lame "big drum" sound of the 80s, just the mullets, which is why their music still sounds as fresh and exhilarating as it must have done 20 years ago. It's a shame that the UK is never given the chance to shine these days like half-baked American numetal bands do. This album is brilliant, truly brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute rubbish!, 23 Jan 2007
By 
Graham Simons "grahams246" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live After Death (Audio CD)
Ha got your attention! Having seen Maiden for the first time live at Earls Court this album has taken on greater resonance for me. This is Maiden live and it is an uncontrollable animal. I have albums by artists as varied as Marvin Gaye to Travis to Daft Punk to the late Johnny Cash and James Brown. I can honestly say that I don't enjoy live albums as a rule as the production values usually hinder the performance and so the recordings generally leave me disappointed. I even think that the great Rage Against the Machine's studio work is superior than their live abum and I have seen them live also so I know what I'm talking about. Maiden are in a different league as if you asked most Maiden fans to name their top 5 albums, this would probably be listed even though it contains none of the air punching hits such as The Evil that Men Do or indeed Fear of the Dark. The album's success lies in conveying the sheer energy of Iron Maiden live. You wonder why Maiden tickets are so difficult to get hold of - well this is why. From Aces High and 2 minutes to Midnight to Hallowed be thy Name and The Iron Maiden, what you have here is a feast for the ears. Like the other reviewers I have owned this album on tape and two copies on cd. You see Iron Maiden live are actually better than their studio work and there's not a lot of acts you can say that about. Buy this now and go for the fast delivery otherwise you may just sh*t yourself in excitement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREATEST LIVE ALBUM EVER, 13 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Live After Death (Audio CD)
IRON MAIDENS FINEST COUPLE OF HOURS,THIS RECORDING IS NOW ABOUT 14 YEARS OLD AND STILL SOUNDS AS FRESH AS THE DAY IT CAME OUT.ITS JUST ONE BIG METAL-FEST,NONE STOP MAIDEN.NEW MAIDEN FANS,GO OUT AND BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new art work, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great release as are all of these seven picture disc releases however this one being a double disc has art work which known to fans has never graced official disc releases before 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live After Death (Audio CD)
one of maidens best live albums if not the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB!, 17 Jan 2004
By 
Tom (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live After Death (Audio CD)
All of the best tracks from the first 5 Iron Maiden albums and they all sound even better live. Examples are Revelations, Hallowed Be Thy Name, Powerslave, The Number Of the Beast. This is a great live album. Never heard Iron Maiden before? Buy this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live After Death (Audio CD)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELENT!!, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How nice return to vinyl, only to collectors, beautiful impression, very good idea this reissue, the pictures are real dics artworks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Maiden, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I m a massive Iron Maiden fan so this was a must have to add to my collection. I do no intend to play these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We shall fight in the hills - we shall NEVER surrender!, 21 April 2003
This review is from: Live After Death (Audio CD)
Maiden's classic live album kicks off with Churchill's famous speech, followed immediately by "Powerslave" opener "Aces High". A fitting way to start an energising, powerful, live double-album. The setlist is faultless, almost a "best of" for the first 5 albums. Although a few more tracks from "Killers" could have been considered, the album includes many epics such as "Rime of the Ancient Mariner", "Phantom of the Opera" and "Hallowed Be Thy Name", along with crowd pleasers like "Run to the Hills", "Iron Maiden" and "The Number of the Beast".
There are some particularly great crowd-participation sections, especially in "Running Free". But instead of ruining it, I'll let you experience it for yourself if you buy it. Such moments show just how much the live show means to Iron Maiden, and Bruce's expertise at involving the fans as part of the show.
One major complaint about this album. For whatever reason, be it bad recording, small crowds, or more likely just technology at the time, the crowd are virtually inaudible apart from the gaps between songs. This makes the novel unpredictablilty of hearing some of the songs live sound instead like dodgy studio efforts. While this is not the case, in this respect it pales in comparison to the more recent "Rock In Rio", in which the huge crowd make themselves felt all the way through.
For a more "live" Iron Maiden feel, or for a more varied set-list, "Rock In Rio" may be what your looking for. But if your looking for energy, something a bit older and with classics ommitted from Maiden's later tours (eg "Rime of the Ancient Mariner", "Flight of Icarus" or "Powerslave"), then Live After Death is your baby. The album also includes 3 exciting videos, and the best sleeve that Eddie has ever graced in his near 30-year lifetime. So if you've read this review and still aren't sure, just take a peek at the album sleeve and spend some of your hard-earned money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live After Death
Live After Death by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews