Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars63
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 13 November 2001
What makes this Maiden album special is that all the songs are so short but packed full of great ideas. The title track and 'Mother Russia' sound like epics but they're both only about 5 minutes long. There are great hooky tracks like 'Holy Smoke', 'Bring Your Daughter...' and 'Hooks in You'(which has some intentionally hilarious lyrics) alongside growers like 'The Assassin' and 'Run Silent Run Deep'. It's a fun rock album played with great energy and enthusiasm. It's a very different but most welcome addition to the Maiden discography.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2008
This is suprisingly underrated. In my opinion this album is awesome and goes along with all the other classic Iron Maiden albums. There are some really awesome maiden songs here Holy Smokes & Public Enema Number One are my favourites out of this album. I think only not too keane on Mother Russia it starts off cool and ends cool but a little repetitive (sorry to say). Iron Maiden after the departure of the guitarist Adrian Smith went onto more Rock N' Roll style which for isnt a bad thing it works for me so i think this album is awesome. Maybe not the best place to start with Iron Maiden but a very good buy for Maiden fans should i really be mentioning that?. New Iron Maiden fans start with The Number Of The Beast. UP THE IRONS!!!!!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2012
If there's one single thing this album lacks, it's accessibility; it isn't easy to appreciate many of the tracks on first listen. On re-visiting the album, you'll find a joy in the snarling guitar riffs that drive songs like Hooks in You, Pulic Enema Number One, and Holy Smoke. Bruce's growling tone punctuates the driving rhythms with a typically strong enthusiasm, and Murray & Gers are regularly let-off-the-leash to perform their now trademark lively solos.

The hidden gems of this album are Run Silent Run Deep, Fate's Warning, and No Prayer for the Dying. The first has a dark, brooding feel with a lovely mix of acoustic harmony and electric melodies, the second is driven my classic Maiden dove-tailing guitars, and the third is a slow, pensive piece that invites the listener to reflect on life and it's meaning.

You'll find something in every song on this album that you'll want to rewind back to time and time again. It may not be the most elegant-sounding record in the world, but it's certainly worth giving a good chance, in my opinion...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2005
As a longtime Maiden enthusiast I have always been mystified by many fans' negativity towards this album, since it has been my favourite Bruce Dickinson-era release from the moment I first heard it.
No Prayer For The Dying dispenses with the keyboards and glossy production that IMO marred their previous two albums ('7th Son of A 7th Son' and 'Somewhere In Time') and gives the sound a more natural earthy feel, with plenty of gritty guitars and crystal clear drums.
And the songs are just great! With the possible exception of the slightly naff 'Assassin', there isn't a duff track on it. Personal faves include 'Public Enema No1', the title track and the awesome 'Run Silent Run Deep' (surely one of Maiden's finest songs to date?)
I would recommend this to anyone who has even the most casual interest in Maiden...seriously, give it a go...it's wonderful!
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
Right! That's it! I'm coming out!
I love this album and did from the moment I bought it back in 1990 on the day it was released.

After Seventh Son any album was going to find it hard to stand tall in its shadow, and unfortunately No Prayer was stuck right next it. This must have had a detrimental effect on the way it was received because I really don't believe it was the content of the album itself.

But there's good stuff here. They are all short songs (and my God don't some of us wish that were true today...) but 25 years on I can still listen to the entire album without skipping any of the tracks. I know it's going make some fans think I'm mental, but Mother Russia is a stand-out track to finish off a good album - the solo here is possibly the best on the album.

Anyway, that's it! I'm off to give Virtual XI five stars next!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2006
Certainly not one of their best, and i used to hate this album. But as time has gone on and i've listened to it more, i've grown to appreciate this album, and realise it's quite good. Just dissapointing by Maidens astronomically high standards.

Tailgunner is a great opener, followed by Holy Smoke which i love as it rightly slaughters the frauds that are TV preachers. The title track is OK , maybe ruined for me by Bruce's vocal performance on it. Hooks In You and Mother Russia are both very good too.

Believe it or not though, my favorite song on the album is The Assasin. I know alot of people think this is one of Maidens worst, and i would think so too if it was meant to be taken seriously, but it isn't!. Think about it, do you really think the guy who bought us gems such as Hallowed Be Thy Name, Aces High, Infinite Dreams and Alexander The Great meant it when he wrote this song? no, he meant it to be funny/lighthearted. So take it that way, and you'll appreciate it more.

The other songs pretty much do nothing for me. I know Bring Your Daughter.. was meant to be a novelty song too. I suppose it's its popularity that puts me off, and i can't help but feel its trying to be a little more serious than The Assasin.

If you're new to Iron Maiden, by no means buy this album first. Start with Powerslave, Seventh Son, Number Of The Beast or Dance Of Death. Get this once you've established yourself as a fan ;)
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
This is an Album like Marmite you either love it or hate it, I "like" it Maiden's sound has changed slightly and that's not a bad thing, if you listen to it with an open mind and don't compare it to it's predecessors its a good album, the Lyrics are a bit different but they work in my opinion, best tracks on here are "Tail Gunner", "Holy Smoke", the title track "Assassin" and of course "Bring Your Daughter To The Slaughter"

So Listen to "No Prayer For The Dying" with an open mind and not to compare with "Powerslave", "Number of The Beast" etc. And just enjoy it for what it is a good Metal Album
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
I find this album gets a rough deal from the heavy metal community, for my money (and I'm actually very rich!) it's the Maids best long-player after the majestic 'Virtual XI'. Yes it's true, they opted for a more simple approach to song-smithery, which is why I'm surprised the fans didn't take to it, but why write songs with 5 chords when two will do? Anyway, onto the songs! Opener 'Tailgunners' is up there with the best, especially if you like war and guns, I know I do! From here we get to hear Maiden's humorous side, 'Bring Your Daughter To The Slaughter' is just ruddy hilarious and then we are treated to some very witty misogyny on 'Hooks In You' . You shouldn't really find this kind of thing funny these days - ah, who cares!? As I've pointed out in previous reviews the next album (Virtual XI) is where vocalist Bruce Dixon really shines however he practically sh*ts a lung on the epic closer Mother Russia. Respect Sir! As always the twin guitar attack of David Murray and Adie Smith is unparalleled and the galloping bass of Steve 'Eddie' Harris is almost as good as Level 42's Mark King (almost). If you are a first timer, do yourself a favour, ignore the first few albums and start here. Five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
THIS IS ANOTHER GOOD MAIDEN CD THE GUITAR WORK IS SOME WHAT IMPROVED BY JANICK GERS WHO REPLACES ADRIAN SMITH . JANICK IS A MORE FASTER AGGRESSIVE PLAYER THAN SMITHY .
THE SONGS LIKE TAILGUNNER / HOLY SMOKE / MOTHER RUSSIA ARE THE BEST TRACKS ON THIS ALBUM . BUT THERE ISN'T A BAD TRACK ON IT THOU . NOT QUITE APPEALING AS SOMEWHERE IN TIME / 7TH SON OF A 7TH SON BUT STILL A GREAT MAIDEN ALBUM " UP THE IRONS "
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2004
This 1990 release was a back-to-basics affair for Maiden, now well established as Heavy Metal royalty after 10 years of success. After the departure of guitarist Adrian Smith, the band were minus a key songwriter and it was uncertain if fans would welcome new guitarist Janick Gers with the enthusiasm they had for Smith, who had left to pursue a solo career. Another key thing about this album is that it was the follow-up to 'Seventh Son of a Seventh Son' - which was both a great album and the first and only concept album from the band. To top that album was going to take something special if not amazing and 'No Prayer for the Dying' does not quite manage to accomplish that difficult task. Despite this the album is very good and is fondly remembered as it spawned a number 1 U.K. single! In the lull following the Christmas singles chart the band very cunningly put out the albums 2nd single 'Bring Your Daughter...to the Slaughter' and it went straight to number 1. This was during an era when it was very rare for a single to go straight in at number 1 and most people were shocked by this Heavy Metal invasion. Following Maiden's cunning stunt it has become record company policy to release a songs straight after Christmas to get them high debut positions in the charts.
Other highlights from this album are top 5 U.K. hit 'Holy Smoke' which attacks TV preachers and their pay to pray philosophy and 'Public Enema Number One' which was co-written by Dave Murray, helping to break the Steve Harris and Bruce Dickinson song-writing monopoly. 'Hooks in You' is a tounge in cheek look at the world of bondage and contains a reference to a pervious Maiden song from 1982, '22 Acacia Avenue' but when I first heard it as a 17 year-old I just assumed it was a song about hooks! In 'Tail Gunner' and 'Run Silent Run Deep' we are in true Maiden territory - bomber planes and torpedoes. The big song at the end is 'Mother Russia' which explores the fate of the country during the first months as a democratic nation, urging its people to embrace freedom and remember what a fine nation it was before Communism.
This album marked the 10th anniversary of the bands first release. And like all the previous albums and singles before it, there was minimal support or interest from the small, uneven playing field which is British radio. 9 months after Maiden topped the charts with no radio support a band named Nirvana would herald the advent of grunge and Heavy Metal would take a battering from people who grew up listening to it as teenagers! It would be 10 years before a Heavy Metal band hit number 1 again (Limp Bizkit) but Maiden survived this nuclear winter and are still entertaining the troops.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)