Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Bitesized Maiden gems
What makes this Maiden album special is that all the songs are so short but packed full of great ideas. The title track and 'Mother Russia' sound like epics but they're both only about 5 minutes long. There are great hooky tracks like 'Holy Smoke', 'Bring Your Daughter...' and 'Hooks in You'(which has some intentionally hilarious lyrics) alongside growers like 'The...
Published on 13 Nov 2001 by paulias

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not A Prayer
The biggest reason why this is such a disappointing album is evident when listening to any of Maiden's previous 7. They are all so very, very good. The writing comes across as being poured over, revised and corrected and bettered again and again. No Prayer... just sounds like the band thought that the songs will do. It feels rushed and it feels lazy. And, unfortunately,...
Published on 22 July 2010 by ratmonkey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of music., 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
There's nothing better, than having a collection of recrds of one of ones' favourite bands. :)
Just buy it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bring this album to the slaughter., 15 Jan 2014
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
This album isn't a complete disaster. It isn't as much off a drop off in standard when you compare St Anger to Metallica's first five or the latter Sabbath albums to say Paranoid. It has come catchy songs and I can not understand why "Mother Russia" Is slated so much. I think it is the best song on the album. It has a unique atmospheric sound. So it stands out because a lot of the other songs sound the same.

However it dose however lack the drive, focus and sophistication of their previous albums. It lacks accessibility and feels very rushed. "Fates Warning" and "Hocks in You" are in my opinion some of the worst Maiden songs ever recorded. Just noise!

I have listened to worst metal albums but I couldn't recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No prayer for the dying, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
Great album, but i give 4 stars, but it is great! . . . . .. . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
a very good album, that will go well in any heavy metal fans cd collection. a must have for true fans, but a must listen too for all others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Maiden, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
Been more than happy with the album, the cd came through quickly been in the car / van with the other since it arrived
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Something Different from Iron Maiden..., 21 May 2012
By 
Richard Owen "judas_the_guide" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
If there's one single thing this album lacks, it's accessibility; it isn't easy to appreciate many of the tracks on first listen. On re-visiting the album, you'll find a joy in the snarling guitar riffs that drive songs like Hooks in You, Pulic Enema Number One, and Holy Smoke. Bruce's growling tone punctuates the driving rhythms with a typically strong enthusiasm, and Murray & Gers are regularly let-off-the-leash to perform their now trademark lively solos.

The hidden gems of this album are Run Silent Run Deep, Fate's Warning, and No Prayer for the Dying. The first has a dark, brooding feel with a lovely mix of acoustic harmony and electric melodies, the second is driven my classic Maiden dove-tailing guitars, and the third is a slow, pensive piece that invites the listener to reflect on life and it's meaning.

You'll find something in every song on this album that you'll want to rewind back to time and time again. It may not be the most elegant-sounding record in the world, but it's certainly worth giving a good chance, in my opinion...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What happened?, 12 May 2012
By 
Mangetout (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
The great tragedy with this Maiden album is that it is let down by the production. The sound is poor, completely unlike all that came before it and much of their output since.
There are some brilliant tracks on here, displaying some quite creative writing with a good slice of humour in places. The sound could be a lot better, but I'd urge all true Maiden fans to give it a blast, or seek out a remaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Still Disappointing, 25 April 2012
By 
Mr. MJ Hill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
I've not listened to this one in years. However I'm on a bit of a Maiden trip at the moment - so thought I'd re-visit.

It's still not very good. Firstly it has the appalling "Bring Your Daughter on it". Not to mention "Mother Russia" and let's not go near "Hooks In You". On the positives "Public Enema Number One" is decent, it has the key and timing changes that is a trademark of Maiden.

It all seems really basic without the depth and complexity of other Maiden albums. Perhaps this is a result of the departure of Mr Smith??

The good news is that they've recovered since. Buy for completeness only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No prayer for the dying, 12 Sep 2004
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
This is Maidens 8th studio album and although we can not count it as one of there best, it still contains some great songs such as "Hooks in you", "Public enema number 1", "Holy Smoke". "Bring your daughter to the slaugther" and the title song "No prayer for the dying". This should be in every Maiden fans collection, and if this is your first Iron Maiden album, its a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enhanced?, 12 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: NO PRAYER FOR THE DYING (Audio CD)
The videos aren't really worth paying extra for - if maiden in action is what you want, see them live or buy 'Rock in Rio'.
Not Maiden's best album. The controversial 'Bring your Daughter...', the criminally catchy 'Holy Smoke' and the title track are worthy of any Maiden album. Sadly, the rest of the record pales in comparison to their first few albums.
All in all a good music CD, but a poor Maiden album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6b86684)

This product

No Prayer For The Dying
No Prayer For The Dying by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews