Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Bitesized Maiden gems
What makes this Maiden album special is that all the songs are so short but packed full of great ideas. The title track and 'Mother Russia' sound like epics but they're both only about 5 minutes long. There are great hooky tracks like 'Holy Smoke', 'Bring Your Daughter...' and 'Hooks in You'(which has some intentionally hilarious lyrics) alongside growers like 'The...
Published on 13 Nov 2001 by paulias

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not A Prayer
The biggest reason why this is such a disappointing album is evident when listening to any of Maiden's previous 7. They are all so very, very good. The writing comes across as being poured over, revised and corrected and bettered again and again. No Prayer... just sounds like the band thought that the songs will do. It feels rushed and it feels lazy. And, unfortunately,...
Published on 22 July 2010 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not A Prayer, 22 July 2010
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
The biggest reason why this is such a disappointing album is evident when listening to any of Maiden's previous 7. They are all so very, very good. The writing comes across as being poured over, revised and corrected and bettered again and again. No Prayer... just sounds like the band thought that the songs will do. It feels rushed and it feels lazy. And, unfortunately, it feels of its time - the herald of grunge and britpop and the coming of the heavy metal wasteland of the 90s.

The album itself is not terrible. There are a handful of good tracks but no classics at all. 'Tailgunner' is probably the most Maiden sounding track on the album and is one of the better ones. But there is a new edge to the sound, somehow. As 'Seventh Son...' seemed very prog-influenced, 'No Prayer...' seems to be finding its voice as a striaghtforward rock album. The guitars are crisper and a bit dirtier sounding and there is no overall epic quality, like in 'Piece of Mind', 'Powerslave' or the 'fuzziness' of 'Somewhere in Time'.

'Holy Smoke' is ok but not really single material. The title track is very good but a million miles away from their best. 'Public Enema', 'Fates Warning', 'The Assassin' and 'Run Silent...' range from ok to mediocre which has never happened to a run of 4 tracks on a Maiden album - EVER! 'Hooks in You' is actually my favourite song on the album, which is strange as it is more reminiscent of their B-sides from 'Somewhere in Time', 'That Girl' and 'Juanita' and very un-Maidenesque. Still, a good song is a good song.

'Bring your Daughter...' is a bit of fun but it isn't really THAT good, which is probably why it got so high up in the charts. Ironic that Maiden had their biggest commercial result from their least creative album. And 'Mother Russia' is awful.

On the whole, by any other hard rock band this would be a worthy acheivement. From a band of Maiden's grandeur and back catalogue, this is unforgivable. But the saddest thing about it is that it is the first album to break the status quo of the perfect 7 run of albums.

Despite this, Maiden are still one the best things ever about music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Below par, but not that bad, 29 Sep 2006
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
Certainly not one of their best, and i used to hate this album. But as time has gone on and i've listened to it more, i've grown to appreciate this album, and realise it's quite good. Just dissapointing by Maidens astronomically high standards.

Tailgunner is a great opener, followed by Holy Smoke which i love as it rightly slaughters the frauds that are TV preachers. The title track is OK , maybe ruined for me by Bruce's vocal performance on it. Hooks In You and Mother Russia are both very good too.

Believe it or not though, my favorite song on the album is The Assasin. I know alot of people think this is one of Maidens worst, and i would think so too if it was meant to be taken seriously, but it isn't!. Think about it, do you really think the guy who bought us gems such as Hallowed Be Thy Name, Aces High, Infinite Dreams and Alexander The Great meant it when he wrote this song? no, he meant it to be funny/lighthearted. So take it that way, and you'll appreciate it more.

The other songs pretty much do nothing for me. I know Bring Your Daughter.. was meant to be a novelty song too. I suppose it's its popularity that puts me off, and i can't help but feel its trying to be a little more serious than The Assasin.

If you're new to Iron Maiden, by no means buy this album first. Start with Powerslave, Seventh Son, Number Of The Beast or Dance Of Death. Get this once you've established yourself as a fan ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Bitesized Maiden gems, 13 Nov 2001
By 
"paulias" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
What makes this Maiden album special is that all the songs are so short but packed full of great ideas. The title track and 'Mother Russia' sound like epics but they're both only about 5 minutes long. There are great hooky tracks like 'Holy Smoke', 'Bring Your Daughter...' and 'Hooks in You'(which has some intentionally hilarious lyrics) alongside growers like 'The Assassin' and 'Run Silent Run Deep'. It's a fun rock album played with great energy and enthusiasm. It's a very different but most welcome addition to the Maiden discography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!, 19 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
Maiden, like many metal and rock bands who found success in the eighties had problems continuing their form into the Nineties. Guitar music was going through massive changes and a lot of the old bands now seemed out of date and obsolete. On top of this many tried to change their style to suit the new sounds and either lost their fanbase or their own sound. Maiden have always tried to find a new sound for each new release whilst keeping that unique Maiden flavour, but some of the new directions Maiden were taking here would displease many fans. Shorter, more stripped songs, a change in Dickinson's singing style each conspired to forcing Adrian Smith to leave the band. How much he would have inputted creatively is open for debate, but it is clear something is lacking. The two most apparent features are a drop in invention (which in turn would convey a lack of ambition) and a loss of strong melodies. Having said that, this is still Maiden and even their most lacklustre albums have a few good songs and ironically this one has their only number 1 UK hit.

`Tailgunner' opens the promisingly enough with building chunky guitars, an underlying bass riff overturned by a strong lead riff. The drums blast off to a quick rhythm while Dickinson tells another tale of war, this time dedicated to the warriors of the sky. The chorus is fairly strong making this one of the few songs from the album to feature in later live shows while the solo is as strong as ever. It is unusual as there is a bit of swearing and Dickinson sings in a more growling fashion. A strong opener which would rarely be emulated throughout the album.

`Holy Smoke' continues the good start to the album leading us to believe that the band had made another classic. Dickinson is growling and swearing again and the lyrics speak directly of the religious televangelist scams of the time. The song is structured simply, the video is a sight to behold, and the lyrics are among the bands best.

`Bring Your Daughter To The Slaughter' gave the band their only UK number 1(Christmas no less) and while it will sound like the new (at the time) Maiden to bigger fans, it may be the first song none Maiden fans will think of when the band is mentioned. Like many of the songs this was ravaged by critics and naysayers who failed to understand what it was really about. This would be the only song from the album which would be played frequently live after the album tour was done. There are plenty of memorable moments- the `scary' chanting, the huge chorus, good riffs and chugging guitars, and of course the obligatory solo.

`No Prayer For The Dying' is the first ballad on the album, one with a softer, slower riff which would be re-used for Fear Of The Dark. The band have a habit of making sure their title tracks are stand out tracks, and this one works surprisingly well. The songs gains speed about halfway through and we get some great guitar work but I'm uncertain as to whether it fits in with the rest of the song.

`Public Enema Number 1' opens with a laugh and there is biting satire throughout. The introduction is fine but the verse and chorus melodies don't have anything memorable. Naturally there is good work technically but it ends up sounding like a by the numbers album track.

`Fates Warning' opens with a brilliantly atmospheric introduction then progresses to a mid paced, angry song. The verses are ok and the chorus is catchy enough but there isn't particularly a big hook to reel you in repeatedly. The song seems to lost its way over halfway through, yes there are good solos but it never really gets back from this. If they had made it faster and shaved a few sections it could have been more potent.

`The Assassin' is a pretty weak song, no memorable riffs, no melodies, decent playing, strange vocals, and an uninspired chorus.

`Run Silent Run Deep' has another softer, atmospheric album before bursting into a strange, Blaze like rhythm. The verses are quite odd, the chorus is at least catchy but isn't the best. The middling pace doesn't help and it becomes just another forgotten album track. Of course, it isn't bad, it just lacks the quality of most of what they have done until this album.

`Hooks In You' sounds upbeat, but the lyrics show a darker side. The vocals are mostly poor and annoying and the sound borders on a cheesy hair band. Again it isn't terrible, it just sounds tired and lacking in energy and creativity.

`Mother Russia' closes the album in a continuation of the atmospheric style. Fair enough, but it also closes the album with a continuation of the weird rhythms. I'm all for strange rhythms and changing paces and Maiden have always been great at this but here and on the whole album most of the experimentation fails. This is almost all instrumental and does have some strong parts such as the military section in the middle but otherwise it is another average track.

While we can give credit to the band for trying again to change their sound on this album it almost sounds like they want to become a changed band, forgetting all they have done before. There are a few strong tracks but the majority of the album comes across as filler and ideas which only work half the time. It's still a Maiden album and fans will no doubt get/have it, but for the casual listener or someone interested in getting into the band it is one to skip for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I know it's not great, but it's the one I'm most fond of, 14 Sep 2006
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
This album isn't much liked by Maiden fans. I suppose the only reason I like it so much is because it's the first album of theirs I heard.

A lot of people consider Hooks In You, Run Silent Run Deep, The Assassin etc to be filler. I don't. I genuinely consider them to be as important as the singles; Bring Your Daughter To The Slaughter, Holy Smoke and Tailgunner. These songs have been forgotten. Obscure album tracks on an obscure album.

In my opinion the only bad track is Mother Russia. They always end their albums with a long epic track. This one is short and too vague to make any impact. If anything, it feels like the first half of a song. It just sort of fades out before the second half plays. Although having said that, the church like moaning on it sounds good.

It's been said that it sounds underproduced. Maybe I don't have an ear for that sort of thing, but I don't think it sounds rough and ready. And even if it does, is that such a bad thing? It can be seen as going back to their punk roots.

If nothing else it has more inspired songwriting on it than the limp Fear of the Dark and the tepid Somewhere In Time albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Maiden's most criminally underrated album, 25 Nov 2005
By 
Pink (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
As a longtime Maiden enthusiast I have always been mystified by many fans' negativity towards this album, since it has been my favourite Bruce Dickinson-era release from the moment I first heard it.
No Prayer For The Dying dispenses with the keyboards and glossy production that IMO marred their previous two albums ('7th Son of A 7th Son' and 'Somewhere In Time') and gives the sound a more natural earthy feel, with plenty of gritty guitars and crystal clear drums.
And the songs are just great! With the possible exception of the slightly naff 'Assassin', there isn't a duff track on it. Personal faves include 'Public Enema No1', the title track and the awesome 'Run Silent Run Deep' (surely one of Maiden's finest songs to date?)
I would recommend this to anyone who has even the most casual interest in Maiden...seriously, give it a go...it's wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underated and overlooked..., 25 April 2012
By 
Mr Nostalgia (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
This was the last great Iron Maiden album before they lost track somewhat with 'Fear Of The Dark' and Bruce left the band. This is a gritty, stripped-down return to the un-polished sound that they had before 'Somewhere Back In Time' and sounds great played loud. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album it rocks., 14 July 2008
By 
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
This is suprisingly underrated. In my opinion this album is awesome and goes along with all the other classic Iron Maiden albums. There are some really awesome maiden songs here Holy Smokes & Public Enema Number One are my favourites out of this album. I think only not too keane on Mother Russia it starts off cool and ends cool but a little repetitive (sorry to say). Iron Maiden after the departure of the guitarist Adrian Smith went onto more Rock N' Roll style which for isnt a bad thing it works for me so i think this album is awesome. Maybe not the best place to start with Iron Maiden but a very good buy for Maiden fans should i really be mentioning that?. New Iron Maiden fans start with The Number Of The Beast. UP THE IRONS!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maiden's 10 Commandments, 18 July 2004
By 
Mr. Hugh Harkin "hugh_harkin" (Worldwide) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
This 1990 release was a back-to-basics affair for Maiden, now well established as Heavy Metal royalty after 10 years of success. After the departure of guitarist Adrian Smith, the band were minus a key songwriter and it was uncertain if fans would welcome new guitarist Janick Gers with the enthusiasm they had for Smith, who had left to pursue a solo career. Another key thing about this album is that it was the follow-up to 'Seventh Son of a Seventh Son' - which was both a great album and the first and only concept album from the band. To top that album was going to take something special if not amazing and 'No Prayer for the Dying' does not quite manage to accomplish that difficult task. Despite this the album is very good and is fondly remembered as it spawned a number 1 U.K. single! In the lull following the Christmas singles chart the band very cunningly put out the albums 2nd single 'Bring Your Daughter...to the Slaughter' and it went straight to number 1. This was during an era when it was very rare for a single to go straight in at number 1 and most people were shocked by this Heavy Metal invasion. Following Maiden's cunning stunt it has become record company policy to release a songs straight after Christmas to get them high debut positions in the charts.
Other highlights from this album are top 5 U.K. hit 'Holy Smoke' which attacks TV preachers and their pay to pray philosophy and 'Public Enema Number One' which was co-written by Dave Murray, helping to break the Steve Harris and Bruce Dickinson song-writing monopoly. 'Hooks in You' is a tounge in cheek look at the world of bondage and contains a reference to a pervious Maiden song from 1982, '22 Acacia Avenue' but when I first heard it as a 17 year-old I just assumed it was a song about hooks! In 'Tail Gunner' and 'Run Silent Run Deep' we are in true Maiden territory - bomber planes and torpedoes. The big song at the end is 'Mother Russia' which explores the fate of the country during the first months as a democratic nation, urging its people to embrace freedom and remember what a fine nation it was before Communism.
This album marked the 10th anniversary of the bands first release. And like all the previous albums and singles before it, there was minimal support or interest from the small, uneven playing field which is British radio. 9 months after Maiden topped the charts with no radio support a band named Nirvana would herald the advent of grunge and Heavy Metal would take a battering from people who grew up listening to it as teenagers! It would be 10 years before a Heavy Metal band hit number 1 again (Limp Bizkit) but Maiden survived this nuclear winter and are still entertaining the troops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not their greatest album,but get over it!!! still bloody good!, 18 April 2007
By 
Jl Tucker "NO1 maiden fan" (carlisle,cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
i am bloody fed up of hearing bad reviews on this album,simply because its not maidens best of their best! man,its still a class album i believe,and there isnt a song on the album that ive ever wanted to skip. great bands who have been so consistantly good,always get slated when an album fails to impress as much. i believe its very sad that great maiden songs like bring ya daughter to the slaughter,and holy smoke are almost totally forgotten,cos they still rock to high heaven.i appreciate the fact that maiden,on this album wanted to return to the basics,and ditch the synths,and also have stand-out guitar sound.this album was recorded almost live,with little or no overdubbs...is this so bad? i dont think so buddy. so lets all dig this album out again,crank up the volume...annoy the neighbours and knock back a pint to thank the maiden lads for another great album! up the irons,my favorite band in the world ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Prayer For The Dying
No Prayer For The Dying by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews