Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An occasionaly overlooked masterpiece
It doesnt surprise me that this sits (at the time of writing) at 17 in Amazons order when selected via Bestselling. This album always seemed to fall somewhere short in a lot of peoples opinion. Not as punky as "Iron Maiden" not as polished as "Number of the beast" it seems to sit awkwardly between the two releases either side. But I love it. It has some of the best Maiden...
Published on 2 Feb 2007 by Paul

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware potential of horrendous whooshing surface noise
Just received this but upon playing was confronted with awful surface whooshing noise throughout both sides. Checked my copy of Iron Maiden and the same noise is present there but much much quieter. I believe this may be due to these reissues being picture disks but still ... suggest potential buyers bear this in mind!
Published 19 months ago by sean foster


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Miaden - the pop music Killers, 17 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
Released in 1981, Iron Maiden's scond album "Killers" is a act of metal genius. The line-up consists of Origonal voclasst the ever-distinctable voice of one Pual 'Di'Anno, guitarist David Murray, new recruite (at the time) Guitarist Adrian Smith (replacing Dennis Stratten., the founder of the band basist Steve Harris and the infamous Clive Burr. A year later we'd find out that thsi would be Paul Di'Anno's last album with the band, when in 1982 Iron Miadens manager employed Samson vocalist Paul "Bruce Bruce" Dickinson. Paul was saked for his alcahol addiction. Back to the album - the songs included the catchy Murder in a Rue Morgue, the title track Killers, the depp Purgetory and historical Gengis Khan. the singles and b'sides (available on the second disc) include the excellent Woman in Uniform, which was recorded before Stratton left the band. which was actually only available on the casseette yet it appeared the CD, Purgetory with the B-side Gengis Khan and Killers and a live version of Remember Tomorrow that was from Maiden's Iron Maiden Tour. Altogethr a work of pure art musically, its a must have for any mertal fan, past, present or future. GET IT NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer!, 17 Jun 2010
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
More of the same from these hip young upstarts. Hot on the heels of their searing debut, the Maiden boys are creating quite a stir in the new wave punk scene. Just wrap your ears around the title track - it's insane!

I jest, however a listen to this is like a trip back to the '80s (if you're too young, it wasn't as bad as everyone who lived through it says - it was a lot of fun and there was some great music. No, honest) and what a trip it is. In tone it is similar to their debut and is all the better for it, but the tracks are more thoughful and there's evidence of more emphasis on composition this time.

'The Ides of March' opens it well, an instrumental that doesn't overwhelm but sets the scene well for the overly groovy and completely un-Maideny 'Wrathchild'. A great slice of early Maiden that is unsurpassed. 'Murders in the Rue Morgue' follows as something of a minor classic, never played too many times anymore but such a catchy song and one of the first views into the future of the band, as 'Phantom...' was on the previous album. 'Another Life', Genghis Khan' and 'Innocent Exile' are all very good, mid-paced rockers but fall slightly short of classic status. Then 'Killers' kicks in. It is still a live favourite but Paul's voice is more suited to it than Bruce's. Say no more - stone cold classic. 'Prodigal Son' is a personal favourite as it is the least Iron Maiden sounding song ever. It is a beautiful ballad that only now are we hearing more of in their repertoire (Journeyman, etc). 'Purgatory' is much the same as the middle of the album - good, but no cigar. Then 'Twilight Zone', which isn't on my original vinyl, plays as a rather ghostly presence and it just about fits in with the rest of the album. 'Drifter' finishes it off nicely.

Despite a lot of the tracks being kinda filler, Killers is still a classic. It has many tracks still played live today and the cover art is still awesome and one of the all time great covers ever!!

Part of the flawless first 7 Maiden albums.

If you don't have it - why not? I am bursting with envy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult 2nd album and it is brilliant, 6 Oct 2006
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
1981 and maiden release their 2nd album, and it's as good if not better than the debut. Harder, faster, better production and loads of classic songs like; Wrathchild, Murders in the Rue Morgue, Ghengis Khan, Killers, Prodigal Son and of course the blistering Drifter. My favorite Maiden album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the 2nd best, 31 Aug 2009
By 
Mark S (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
The 2nd best maiden album after "Iron Maiden", If you love maiden get "Iron Maiden", "Killers", "Number of the Beast", and "piece of mind". that is 75% of the best of iron maiden
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When rock had some imagination, 18 Aug 2005
By 
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
I love this album, for me it is on a par with the debut, both are my favourites and I think Paul Di'anno sounds particularly good. Don't get me wrong, I love the later stuff too, but this and the first album just have different qualities to them that I can't explain. The songs are imaginative and fresh, no-one has ever done anything similar. I would suggest that if you prefer the more traditional rock music, the earlier contributions such as 'Killers' would be more your cup of tea. Those that fledged later and enjoy the 80's metal sound (metallica, etc) would be best starting at Somewhere in Time.....
And a final point, surely no fan can tell me that their heart wouldn't skip a beat if Maiden started doing more of the early stuff in their sets!? And am I really the only person that loves 'Prodigal Son', Maiden's only part-acoustic creation? Its one of my favourite songs of all time - makes me go all goosebumpy. Surely thats worth 5 stars?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I prefer this to there debut. It's an underrated masterpiece., 7 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
I love this album it has so many clasic(in my opinion of cours). There is only one track that doesnt really stand out which is the last track but the rest are amazing. The best are Another life (what a solo i can't get over how good it is), Killers, Murders In A Rue Morgue, Wrathchild & Purgatory. This is an awesome start to Iron Maiden who in my opinoion are one of the best bands ever. I must admit this is alot better then their debut though the debuts brilliant it's not as good as this. UP THE IRONS!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware potential of horrendous whooshing surface noise, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just received this but upon playing was confronted with awful surface whooshing noise throughout both sides. Checked my copy of Iron Maiden and the same noise is present there but much much quieter. I believe this may be due to these reissues being picture disks but still ... suggest potential buyers bear this in mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killers (MP3 Download)
I think this a great album I like Paul's voice it really suits there early music. My particular favs are Purgatory and Drifter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Up the Irons, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killers (Audio CD)
Iron Maiden one of Great Britain's best exports even if I do say so my self. The cd came and I have listened to it several times now and it's played great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killers
Killers by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews