Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid collection of singles
I perhaps shouldn't be listening to Depeche Mode, as I am only 17. But in comparison with the latest electronic offers around at the moment, Depeche Mode are still in a class of their own. Their sound is refined while still being varied from catchy guitar riffs on "Personal Jesus" to all out electronics in "A Question of Lust". I should point out that these are both some...
Published on 3 Jan 2004 by David Ellis

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depeche Mode - Singles 86-98
I bought this compilation as I wanted to have certain songs on CD - The rest, I do not care much for.
Published 17 months ago by Osprey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid collection of singles, 3 Jan 2004
By 
David Ellis "DE" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Singles 86-98 (Audio CD)
I perhaps shouldn't be listening to Depeche Mode, as I am only 17. But in comparison with the latest electronic offers around at the moment, Depeche Mode are still in a class of their own. Their sound is refined while still being varied from catchy guitar riffs on "Personal Jesus" to all out electronics in "A Question of Lust". I should point out that these are both some of the standout tracks on the 2CD set amongst others. . I do agree with other reviews in that Depeche Mode are not given the recognition that they deserve as they have no doubt inspired countless other musicians to get out their keyboard's. The only thing I do feel about the set is that the second disk does let the package down, but then again that may just be because disc one is so absolutely flawless and the inclusion of the live "Everything Counts" is a good move as it displays the bands true musical ability. All in all a very worthwhile purchase indeed, for both those who are just discovering the band, or those who have fond memories of the 80's electronic music scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars These boys invented a genre!, 19 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Singles 86-98 (Audio CD)
Whilst some may argue that some of their later stuff (i.e. most of disc 2) isn't in the same league as some of their slightly earlier stuff (disc 1), few can dispute the overall quality of this compilation.
No other band has ever attempted to make music quite like Depeche Mode, and their style therefore represents something unique ... which may help explain how they have managed to remain largely unaffected by changes in music and fashion?
Apart from the superbly brilliant "Strangelove", this compilation also features a whole host of other great tracks which no household should be without. E.g. Stripped, Never Let Me Down, Behind The Wheel, Policy of Truth, Condemnation, I Feel You etc., etc.
Questionmarks over the inclusion of Everything Counts (live) though; although it is a good song, it just doesn't quite seem to fit in with the rest of this compilation (besides the original studio recording falls outside the 1986-1998 period).
In short, there are a lot worse ways of spending your hard-earned pocket money than on buying this double CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music for Thinkers, 21 Sep 2002
This review is from: The Singles 86-98 (Audio CD)
The best thing that ever happened to Depeche Mode was that Vince Clarke (later of Erasure, amongst others) left the group. This is not to besmirch Mr Clarke who, with the aforementioned Erasure, went on to make his own more mature musical marks. My point is that this allowed Martin Gore to step up to the plate, something that might never have happened had Clarke remained. Gore took over songwriting duties from Clarke and by 1986, the chronological beginning of this CD, he had developed into something of a mature and classic writer of hard-edged, pulsating electro-pop with the odd touch of broodiness. There had been flashes before with such tracks as "People are People", "Everything Counts" (which makes a "live" reappearance here), "Master and Servant" and "Blasphemous Rumours" but in the years 1986-1998 the mature Martin Gore emerges and Depeche Mode produced their most musically impressive work.
Primary among this work are "Personal Jesus" and "Condemnation". They serve as examples of what seems to be Gore's existential search for meaning in life. Alternatively, they are just good music. There has been specuation over the years as to what sort of music Depeche Mode actually produce. The terms "industrial" or "electro-pop" make some sense yet, ultimately, they remain inadequate. I would suggest that they produce songs of complexity and depth and leave it at that. Listening to this CD is an intellectual and thoughtful process as well as a musically enjoyable one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defined the 'electronic' generation.. "Enjoy The Silence" was one of those songs..., 13 April 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Singles 86-98 (Audio CD)
I can remember the first time I heard Enjoy The Silence years back, and loving that amazing electronic ryhthm, and the video that went with it (it was a bit odd, but simple) and ever since electric music has been in me. Most of Depeche Modes most popular songs are here, from the emotionally uplifting 'Everyhting Counts' live from there 101 concert, to 'Never Let Me Down'. The album has a mix of more wintery, darker tunes than uplifting ones (as on their 1st singles album) but I enjoy listening to this album during the winter, it seems to fit nicley somehow. I would reccomend getting the video version of this album too, which has the song videos included - a much better way of listening/looking at the songs.

Cd1 is better in my opinion, as the earlier years of Dep. Modes career where alot better. Cd 2 unfortunately looks at the drug influenced part of their career - a bad time for them, so it goes alot more rocky and darker. But towards the end of cd2, things pick up with the amazing 'Lose Myself', and topped off nicely with every fans favourite 'Everything counts'.

A great album with some real emotional, yet energetic songs that take you back to the 80's. Dep. Mode did release some other good albums, they said "Black Celebration" was their 'finest', but I disagree. There most vivid, memorable songs between 1986-1998 are here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars singles 86-98, 2 Jan 2004
By 
M. black "barriebb3" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Singles 86-98 (Audio CD)
this superb album proves that depeche mode are one of the greatest bands britain has produced.earlier singles are good
(behind the wheel,never let me down again).to their classic 90's
period, personal jesus,enjoy the silence - one of the best songs
EVER written.i feel you, walking in my shoes,in your room, stunning songs.the tracks from their comeback album ultra, barrel of a gun, home and it's no good ,proved that in the time they were releasd (1997) dm could still hold their own against the popular bands of the time, radiohead ,oasis etc.
although their most recent album exciter was a let down and dave gahan going solo suggests dm may be about to call it a day this
album is a reminder of how great they were and still could be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A question of.... sheer quality, 20 Jan 2004
By 
A. S. Garton "age garton" (milton keynes, england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Singles 86-98 (Audio CD)
Depeche Mode have written and produced some of the best synth pop/rock tracks around and this compilation of their biggest hits is quite simply superb. This is a remarkable study in a long-standing group's work over two decades and the many and varied sounds associated with those times.
Singles 86-98 is a great way to break into DM's work, and frankly a must-have for any fan. Depeche Mode have long been underrated in this country, yet they have enjoyed amazing popularity both on mainland Europe and in the States. Perhaps we've got it wrong in this country!
I highly recommend it, whatever your age. Fantastic tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 11 May 2009
By 
S. Phillips (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Singles 86-98 (Audio CD)
This compilation of greatest hits by DM really deserves 5*. Throughout the album it continues to amaze and produces fantastic songs! I definitely recommend it to anyone who thinks they may like it, because they will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply good., 13 April 2009
This review is from: The Singles 86-98 (Audio CD)
Depeche Mode have been a great and inspiring band throughout the years and even after more than 25 years Depeche Mode are still THE band for young and old. For people who aren't "Devotees" this album proves to be a great buy to have a small collection of their work! With catchy songs such as "Strange Love", "Enjoying the silence", "Everything counts" and so forth this album really is a must-have for anyone who has a taste in music. Anybodyelse saying otherwise is simply wrong here! Love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you know more than you think you know, 13 Oct 2004
This review is from: Singles 86>98 (Audio CD)
its 1987, and a 13 year old manchild is looking for a band to call his favourite. he's heard some other dm stuff and been impressed and intrigued - not by 'just can't get enough', but that's another story. he's listening to the top 40 one day (relax, grew outta THAT habit) and hear's a track called 'never let me down again'. pause, transfixed. despite the fact that he's only just started taking an interest in music (beyong casual watching of totp) and technically speaking everything is new (except for that godamnawful s.a.w. stuff), its safe to say he's never heard anything like this before in his life. saves up his pennies (bloody nostalgia) and buys black celebration/ music for the masses the following year.
its actually great seeing how a band developes, being there for the releases rather than playing catchup (as happened with me and the smiths for instance) and i don't hold with the view that this compilation represents a dip in quality next to 81/85 (though it has its moments), merely a progression
and what a progression! violator is most people's (myself included) favourite dm album but the singles are usually spot-on in their representation of the album, most noteable during the 'rawk' and gospel phases of sofad. special mentions for 'little 15' which took a while to grow on me but i now regard as one of their strongest tracks lyrically, 'policy of truth' and 'world in my eyes' for being fantastic singles from a superb album ('wime's chart position was very disappointing) and i guess we should be glad for 3 very strong singles from a poor album ('ultra' - was never fussed on 'home') since it was a miracle it was ever recorded at all
a few minor points. only gets 4 stars because some fool thought it was a good idea to include a dire remix of 'behind the wheel'
exiter was a damned good album although mr wilder's absence is felt. whether there's any more dm albums will depend one suspects on if dave just wants to go solo; maybe dm need him more than he needs dm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dramatic, graceful synth-pop, 5 Sep 2000
This review is from: The Singles 86-98 (Audio CD)
This 'best of' 2CD set is far superior to its early-80's sibling (detailing the first part of the band's career.) By 1986, there sound was sharpened to a powerful, evocative stab of pulsing electronic beats, jagged yet melodic hooks and a engaging art-pop vocal delivery. The texture of their songs is rich and full of little touches. Take, for example, the understated orchestral backdrop to songs like 'Walking in my Shoes' and 'Home.'
Naturally, it's a brilliant introduction to the band's work, and both discs are packed with exceptional material. Although the lyrics are a little weak, and their heights (Stripped, Never Let Me Down Again, It's No Good) tend to eclipse some lesser work, this dark, edgy pop is truly worthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Singles 86-98
The Singles 86-98 by Depeche Mode (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews