Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling and original sounds from another world
This disc and its sequel (Vol 2), provide a thrilling opportunity to hear the unique sound of Bulgarian women's choral music. The rhythms and harmonies in strong almost forced tones are mesmerising and at times spine-tingling in effect. This has been truly one of the 'discoveries' of my musical education, which has by no means been narrow! Thoroughly recommended to...
Published on 29 Nov 1999

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disc 2 not what I expected
While disc 1 is full of the spunky, folksy close-harmony I was hoping for (performed by Bilyana Vocal Group, Trio Bulgarka and the like), disc 2 is full of rather less energetic church music performed by Armsmusica Schoumen Chamber Music Collegium. It does not seem to belong under this Mystère title.

A lot of other discs are available with similar titles...
Published on 27 Nov 2010 by jeanie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling and original sounds from another world, 29 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Le Mystere Des Voix Bulgares (Audio CD)
This disc and its sequel (Vol 2), provide a thrilling opportunity to hear the unique sound of Bulgarian women's choral music. The rhythms and harmonies in strong almost forced tones are mesmerising and at times spine-tingling in effect. This has been truly one of the 'discoveries' of my musical education, which has by no means been narrow! Thoroughly recommended to anyone searching for a new aural experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique and captivating recording, 15 Feb 2000
This review is from: Le Mystere Des Voix Bulgares (Audio CD)
Traditional bulgarian choral music may sound like a minority interest but this is a cd which deserves an enormous audience. The sheer force of these relatively untutored voices, often singing acapella, is quite a hair-raising experience. The songs have touches of eastern european and arabic influences in a fascinating mix. This is mysterious and intriguing musica low-tec recording that still conveys powerful emotion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bulgarian Music, 11 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. R. A. Aiken (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Le Mystere Des Voix Bulgares (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Bulgarian choral music for a number of years, and this CD is very typical. To anyone who is not familiar with the very distinct sound, listen to some. You will be hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious indeed, 21 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Le Mystere Des Voix Bulgares (Audio CD)
Surely one of the most glorious expressions of the human soul is the harmony vocal: whether that's the Beach Boys, or Coope Boyes & Simpson, or the Watersons, or Crosby Stills & Nash, or umpteen bluegrass bands, or Jamaican rock steady vocal groups, or the descants on your favourite Christmas carols, or a couple of unbelievably young Swedish girls called First Aid Kit doing a wonderful and convincing take on Americana; but really, this is just better. Fabulous voices, whether soloists or as a choir, with harmonies so cuttingly close that they almost hurt; as several others have said, genuinely spine-tingling stuff. Not for everyone, not the easiest listening: but a little adventure in your musical purchases might well be richly rewarded...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and magical, 19 July 2011
After having heard my former piano teacher (who is Bulgarian) talk about the distinctiveness of Bulgarian female choirs, I thought I had to find out for myself what this is all about. Well let me tell you, from the opening track I was captivated by this unique sound. It's very hard to describe in words, but there is a direct and almost other-worldly quality about the singing which I found so beautiful.

The recording consists of a mixture of love songs, more austere (but harmonically fascinating) Thracian Chants, up-beat numbers with complex rhythms (often 5/7/11 in a bar) - one of my favourite being 'Svadba' (The Wedding). There is one curious track called 'The bleating sheep', which consists of a soloist imitating the sound of said sheep and some alien glissandi in the choir forming a curious background - weird at first but I found that I responded to it's uniqueness. It's certainly different!

I would recommend this wholeheartedly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disc 2 not what I expected, 27 Nov 2010
While disc 1 is full of the spunky, folksy close-harmony I was hoping for (performed by Bilyana Vocal Group, Trio Bulgarka and the like), disc 2 is full of rather less energetic church music performed by Armsmusica Schoumen Chamber Music Collegium. It does not seem to belong under this Mystère title.

A lot of other discs are available with similar titles - Le Mystere Des Voix Bulgares Vol.1, Le Mystere Des Voix Bulgares Vol.2, Le Mystere Des Voix Bulgares 3. The tracks on disc 1 of this item appear to be different from the others. These titles include "Svatha", "Ah, Kolko Oidoh, Maro" and "Gel Vido, Gel Nedo".

If you like the sound of disc 1 (or even disc 2), then don't be afraid to buy this box set. But don't expect one disc to sound like the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystere Des Voix Bulgares, 29 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Le Mystere Des Voix Bulgares (Audio CD)
Superb music - haunting and enigmatic. First bought the album about 25 years ago when it first came out and have yet to find a better recording of Bulgarian music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spine tingling...., 6 Nov 2010
This review is from: Le Mystere Des Voix Bulgares (Audio CD)
Half way through the third track, I spontaneously burst into tears and carried on sobbing like a baby for half an hour. Whatever it is, these haunting melodies somehow enable us to un-lock and feel raw emotion.... they seem to tap into something very deep about the human condition, that of love and loss. Also, the music is just beautiful, demonstrated in the singer's vocal range and complex harmonising. This cd is an absolute gem. I daren't listen to it in public in case I make a complete fool of myself, but it is quite unique and transcendental!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, 25 Jan 2010
This review is from: Le Mystere Des Voix Bulgares (Audio CD)
I am writing this as I have been meeting my cousin who is a member of two or three choirs - so I was reminded of the time I saw this group at the Royal Festival Hall after listening to the CD. Fantastic CD, fantastic gig.
The music and voices are hauntingly beautiful. I cannot give enough praise for it.
If you have an interest in music generally and are looking for something a bit different, this will not fail you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music for your heart and soul, 26 Jan 2012
By 
Yordan Deliradev (Romania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Mystere Des Voix Bulgares (Audio CD)
This has been my best choice of music for quite some time. I am afraid that traditions and culture that once where so important, are long gone. We will not be able to create music even half as good as this even in a million years from now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Le Mystere Des Voix Bulgares
Le Mystere Des Voix Bulgares by Le Mystere Des Voix Bulgares (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews