Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!
The one album able at any time to pull one out of deep depression, creative block or loneliness. The beauty in the voice of Lisa seems to have the power of transporting souls to a place inhabited only by beauty and strong emotions. Lisa is one of the very few artists able to fill their work with pure emotional beauty, something impossible to put to words and something so...
Published on 5 May 2004 by J. Feltus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Haunting
Where to begin, this is such a mixture of styles, and this is not what anyone could describe as easy listening. It mixes asian and folk influences with opera and an abstract style of music. It is original, haunting, spiritual and emotional. There are many other elements to discover, this is an album that needs the full attention of the listener.
Published on 17 July 2011 by Grahame


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 5 May 2004
By 
J. Feltus (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mirror Pool (Audio CD)
The one album able at any time to pull one out of deep depression, creative block or loneliness. The beauty in the voice of Lisa seems to have the power of transporting souls to a place inhabited only by beauty and strong emotions. Lisa is one of the very few artists able to fill their work with pure emotional beauty, something impossible to put to words and something so rare.... This album is a treasure to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 7 Jun 2004
This review is from: The Mirror Pool (Audio CD)
Just like most people i discovered Lisa Gerrard through her work with Hans Zimmer in Gladiator & Mission Impossible 2 (which has an absolutely beautiful score and i thoroughly recommend it). I was browsing on this site when i came across her individual albums and the other reviews on here prompted me to buy Mirrorpool. I was not disappointed, its amazing and totally inspiring, i can't select one particular track i like more than the others. At a price of under 5 i felt i'd got myself a real bargain, so, if it's still this price (and even a little more) i totally recommend you buy this album, take the chance because you'll find its worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eerie and astonishing, 13 May 2005
By 
V. S. Moses "scomos2" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mirror Pool (Audio CD)
The voice of Lisa Gerrard is the most uplifting and mesmerising voice i've ever heard.
I have a few albums by "Dead Can Dance" which all take pride of place in my collection (favourite; "A passage in time") The Mirror Pool is up there with them.
Amazing!!!
BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A voice to touch your soul, 15 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mirror Pool (Audio CD)
As a fan of Dead Can Dance, I bought this CD unheard. I certainly was not disappointed. It's hard to believe the tracks on this CD are all performed by the same person, Lisa Gerrard has as many voices as she has songs to sing. Her rendering of Handels Largo in particular has raised goosebumps on my skin. You can lose yourself and find yourself all at the same time. Living in Johannesburg as I do, it's quite difficult getting hold of music like this, but well worth the trouble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voice of an angel, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mirror Pool (Audio CD)
You have to listen to this. Haunting, eerie, captivating and sensual.....Lisa's voice is a true gift that can lift you high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, spiritual, powerful, anybody think of any more?, 10 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mirror Pool (Audio CD)
I bought 'The Mirror Pool' purely because i enjoyed Lisa's contribution to the 'Gladiator' soundtrack. I have to say I am amazed. Amazed that I have never come across her material before. Obviously not mainstream. But beatiful and strangely familiar. Listen to track 4, Sanvean, I bet you've heard it before. Beatiful, soulful music. Buy it, you might like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as 'Duality', 11 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mirror Pool (Audio CD)
I bought 'The Mirror Pool' because I'm a huge Lisa Gerrard and Dead Can Dance fan and because it came even highlier recommended than 'Duality,' which I love. To be quite honest, however, I can't see why people prefer this album to 'Duality.' To be sure, it is melodious and harmonious and all that, but it seems to be rather TOO rich for its own good. If I weren't such a Lisa Gerrard fan I would even go so far as to use the word 'pretentious.' Don't let that keep you from buying 'The Mirror Pool,' though - it IS a good album, albeit somewhat over the top. Just don't expect it to have that hear-it-once-and-you're-hooked quality that makes 'Duality,' the 'Insider' soundtrack and the 'Gladiator' soundtrack so special. This one requires more careful listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great album, 28 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Mirror Pool (Audio CD)
I heard this years back, and loved it. Lost touch with it and then came across it in the UK belly dance scene in the late 1990s and loved it again. Eventually put some pennies together and bought it. Now in this internet age it is also great to access clips of Ms Gerrard doing her thang on youtube. A convincing performer as well as musician, i quite like the quirky hybridity to this music the ancestral call to something older, ancient and deeply connected to now as well as an imagined past. She has an unusual timbre to her voice, it has a Eastern European - Bulgarian singers - tone and dexterity. And since the hollywood blockbuster Gladiator interest in her music has had a resurgence. Something timeless, warming and etherial in her music, an old friend but simultaneously full of passion, surprise and ghosts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 17 July 2011
This review is from: The Mirror Pool (Audio CD)
Where to begin, this is such a mixture of styles, and this is not what anyone could describe as easy listening. It mixes asian and folk influences with opera and an abstract style of music. It is original, haunting, spiritual and emotional. There are many other elements to discover, this is an album that needs the full attention of the listener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And here's the truth, 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Mirror Pool (Audio CD)
Lisa Gerard was the voice of an act called Dead Can Dance which she named after a real event in her life.Trouble was when she told anybody they never believed her.
It all began when she went to a Cajun festival in Shreveport Louisiana mainly to look for inspiration rather than dance-something she never really did.
And on stage was a band called Poppa Stopper & his Lafayette Uptown Stompers who were playing a thing called the Bayou Pom Pom Two Step.Suddenly everybody in the field was dancing-even she was.As she moved down the field suddenly in a world of her own she noticed the alligators coming out of the creek jumping up and down to the wild sounds of accordeons and triangles.And finally she found herself outside the walls of the Evangeline Church.She thought she was dreaming when the churchyard was now full of dancing skeletons!!
Back at the stage she told Poppa Stopper and he just said "whatever you're on Madam I'll have two"
So back in LA where she was rehearsing with a yet unnamed band she came up with the name DEAD CAN DANCE.
Later when she made The Mirror Pool she named a song La Bas as this was a phrase she would constantly hear at the Cajun festival
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mirror Pool
The Mirror Pool by Lisa Gerrard (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews