Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the greatest album of all time
I don't imagine there'll be many people out there who'll agree with me, but this is one of the finest records it is my privilege to own. Frank's writing songs purely to please himself, putting stuff in them just cause it's cool, and making a beautiful sound. None of the Pixies records can match it for breadth, style or vision. In fact, no other records at all match it...
Published on 20 May 2000

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The lone voice of dissent strikes again.
This review is for people like me who are big fans of the Pixies, and are considering looking into the big man's solo outings without really knowing much about them. I absolutely adore the Pixies, and was expecting to find a catalogue full of hidden gems, and general consensus seems to be that this is Black's best solo album; so I bought it, plunged in...and was very...
Published on 31 May 2010 by Mr. Te Stringer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the greatest album of all time, 20 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Teenager Of The Year (Audio CD)
I don't imagine there'll be many people out there who'll agree with me, but this is one of the finest records it is my privilege to own. Frank's writing songs purely to please himself, putting stuff in them just cause it's cool, and making a beautiful sound. None of the Pixies records can match it for breadth, style or vision. In fact, no other records at all match it for those things. Buy it, listen to it, think it's a bit dodgy in places. Six months later you'll be listening to it again, all the pieces of the weird multi-dimensional jigsaw will fall into place, and you'll be glad you listened to me today. Frank was never quite this good before, and so far he hasn't been quite this good again; credit has to go partly to Eric Drew Feldman, whose eerie keyboards create a perfect atmosphere for every song, giving the vocals, drums and guitars something to play off. Some people say there are too many songs. For me, that just gives Frank time to bring you around to his way of thinking. And every single one of those songs has a dozen new ideas to offer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just as good as any pixies album, 4 Dec 2003
This review is from: Teenager Of The Year (Audio CD)
Frank Black carries on his previous band's ability to make great music.
Stand-out tracks are Headache & White-noise maker, but all the tracks add something to the feel of the album.
There's not many artists that put 22 tracks on an album without having a few fillers, fortunately Frank Black is an exception. All 22 tracks are fantastic.
If you like great music this is definetely an album worth adding to your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get a white noise maker and turn it up to ten, 1 Jan 2002
By 
Elvis Polonius (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teenager Of The Year (Audio CD)
The Pixies were about as cool as it's possible for a band to be, and so it was at first difficult to stomach the invention of Frank Black, suddenly sounding like their dad.
For all the good things that can be said about the first (eponymous) solo album, it certainly invited those unfavourable comparisons by sticking too closely to the Pixies formula. Teenager of the Year, on the other hand, sounds happy to be flabby and uncool. He seems to have relaxed, forgotten about the Pixies, and just doing what he wants to do.
Consequently, there is a treacherous MOR quality to the record, and one can't help lamenting what he might have done with the same material had he recorded it five years previously. That said, the songs are some of his most accomplished ever: fun, writerly and irresistibly melodic.
The subject matter is as scattergun and predictable as ever-- UFOs, the joys of music, Pong, sci-fi television-- but it's nice to see the inclusion of a couple of mature yet idiosyncratic love songs. 'Sir Rockaby' will make you cry with a stupid smile on your face.
Seven years after its release, I cannot stop myself from bursting into song along with this record, and that's its real power. It's a sprawling songbook of utterly unique, goofball vignettes, stuffed full of inventiveness and performed with a straight face. Who else could rhyme 'potlach,' 'sasquatch' and 'mismatch' in three successive lines? And who hasn't heard this album without reaching for the dictionary?
All his classic vocal personae are out in force too. He shifts from his Ramones snarl ('Thallassocracy') to his plaintive Neil Young impression ('(I Want to Live on an) Abstract Plain') within the first five minutes. It's this constant change in vocal gear that supplies the emotional element missing from the songs themselves.
If there's a problem, it's in length. Judicious editing of the song-list from 22 to somewhere nearer 15 might make it a sharper, more satisfying experience. But then where do you cut? He wrote this album on a creative roll, and everybody I know would argue the toss for different songs. Which, I suppose, only goes to show the quality of the quantity.
Sadly, despite the occasional song to hit the mark, he's never bettered this album. But I know I'll be singing these songs for the rest of my life, and for a tenner, that seems like a real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some People Will NEVER Understand this ,, 16 Jun 2000
This review is from: Teenager Of The Year (Audio CD)
I bought this album as a Pixies fan and came out of it a Frank Black fan. The man changes from dub reggae to punk to pop to rock to alternative to main stream on one allbum. My only problem with this is that it should be a double album as 22 songs on one CD means you never get the chance to listen to the last songs as you have usually got to go out and do stuff or go to sleep. This guy is a genius. I had heard these songs before on the LOST video (Surfing Video) put to the back drop of those amazing waves this album will take you somewhere else.
Frank Black Always the man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the paddle to the paddle/from the side to the side..., 3 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Teenager Of The Year (Audio CD)
There's no doubt that this is FB's best album, his only solo effort to compare favourably with the output of his former alias Mr Francis (that's not to say that his other solo albums aren't worth checking out). Its a sprawling, protean effort- an eclectic and defiantly odd-ball collection. At times it sounds like The Fall (Whatever Happened To Pong?), at other moments more like Dire Straits (Calistan, Speedie Marie), but it NEVER sounds much like the Pixies. The sound is cleaner and poppier, smoothing off the edges of the Pixies' abrasiveness, but the weirdness, the bug-eyed humour (and the sheer quality) remains.
Despite its sprawling nature, this is nonetheless a very accessible and remarkably consistent album. I don't agree at all with people who consider the album uneven. Only the cod-reggae of "Fiddle Riddle" has me reaching for the skip button. But its true that Frank Black's taste occasionally fails him- Lyle Workman's awful, squiddly guitar solos on the otherwise excellent Two Reelers and Ole Mulholland stray too far into tasteless 70s rock territory for my liking. But that's what makes the guy interesting- he clearly doesn't give a monkey's about being cool or fashionable, and its this refreshing eclecticism which makes this singulalrly odd collection one of the most under-rated albums of the 1990s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Frank, 6 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teenager Of The Year (Audio CD)
I was introduced to Franks music by my teenage daughters and am now an even bigger fan than they are.
This is an outstanding example of great American rock music and is now one of my firm favourites. Great riffs, lyrics and variety of tracks.
Thanks Frank for giving me such pleasure & happiness listening to this album.
Buy it.That's an order!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Grower..., 18 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. R. J. Wallace (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teenager Of The Year (Audio CD)
After being a Pixies fan, I was initially very disappointed in this album when I first got it in 1994. I felt like this for about 2 years and sporadically played it, getting some enjoyment from one or two faster tracks. To me it all seemed a mess.. But one day I was driving a fair distance home.. I played the whole album and I just got it for the first time. It has at times been elevated to my favourite album of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest artist of the 90's, 2 Aug 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teenager Of The Year (Audio CD)
Frank Black is a unique talent who can produce the most brain-mashing rock music, yet still retains a sense of melody that shames most of his contemporaries. Listen to the dull, Pixies-pastiche "Nevermind" and then listen to "Teenager of The Year" - this album is more brash and unpolished yet is much more melodic and listenable.
There's a lyrical genius at work here - a songwriter with a similar in-yer-face style to Iggy Pop, but without sounding as pretentious and serious. This album is a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dumbstruck in love with this, 22 Jan 2009
By 
Sj Vickers "Si" (Brigg, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was the first album I ever thought of as a masterpiece. Beyond beauty, this is Frank at his chaotic best. A severly underated collection of sublime songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This 'desert island disc' is still DEADLY after 20 years!, 11 Mar 2014
An amazing diverse 'double album' with NO FILLER what so ever. It's a definite grower but Charles has always been ahead of his game and created music which will be forever fresh and never age.

Warped lyrics and strange guitars once again.

I can't describe how much I love this album, just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teenager Of The Year
Teenager Of The Year by Frank Black (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews