Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars China in your hand
Taking their name from a Star Trek character, T'Pau were successful in Britain in the late eighties with several UK hits. Heart and soul, their debut hit, made the top five on both sides of the Atlantic, but the song for which they will be forever remembered (at least in Britain) is China in your hand. It reached the very top of the UK charts and deservedly so. Other hits...
Published on 3 April 2009 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album let down by quirky mastering
The music on this album is great, however someone at Virgin must have been having an off day when they were mastering this CD, as the start-of-track marks on the CD seem to be a fraction of a second into the track, so if you are going straight to a track or playing it using program play or shuffle, you'll find that you miss the first fraction of a second of the song,...
Published on 4 Aug. 2007 by Mrs Ruth Mills


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album let down by quirky mastering, 4 Aug. 2007
By 
This review is from: T'Pau: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The music on this album is great, however someone at Virgin must have been having an off day when they were mastering this CD, as the start-of-track marks on the CD seem to be a fraction of a second into the track, so if you are going straight to a track or playing it using program play or shuffle, you'll find that you miss the first fraction of a second of the song, which can sound quite off-putting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars China in your hand, 3 April 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: T'Pau: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Taking their name from a Star Trek character, T'Pau were successful in Britain in the late eighties with several UK hits. Heart and soul, their debut hit, made the top five on both sides of the Atlantic, but the song for which they will be forever remembered (at least in Britain) is China in your hand. It reached the very top of the UK charts and deservedly so. Other hits followed including Valentine, I will be with you, Secret garden and Whenever you need me, all of which made the UK top twenty, but they were unable to write any songs that captured the public imagination as they had done with China in your hand. Carol Decker, the lead singer, has an excellent voice that is very expressive, but her efforts to establish a solo career after the T'Pau hits dried up came to nothing.

This compilation contains the best of their music including all the hit singles except Walk on air (which was such a minor hit that it barely registered on the charts), all recorded between 1987 and 1991. T'Pau re-formed to record another album that was released in 1998, but it didn't revive their career so they disbanded again. Those 1998 tracks aren't represented here, because this compilation was released in 1997.

If you enjoy British pop of the late eighties and early nineties, T'Pau are worthy of your consideration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great 80's album, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T'Pau: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a great album, but to get all the hits you know you have to buy more than 1 album, which I think I'll make do with this. It took me right back to my teens with the Clasic 'China in your hand' and 'Bridge of spies'. All in all a nice album and it came with the added bonus of the 'Autorip' for instant down load which meant I could listen to it straight away. Unfortunately the 'Autorip' took almost a week to come through and not the stated 48 hours the Amazon say it will take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T'pau. greatest hits, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T'Pau: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A good trip down memory lane, I only brought it for one song, but after listening to the whole album I was surprised how much T'pau had actually done and I really have enjoyed listening to it over and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!, 18 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I love this CD - there is not one song on that I don't enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars T'Pau The Greatest Hits., 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T'Pau: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Greatest hits it has on this album. From : Heart And Soul, China In Your Hand, Valentine, Secret Garden, to Only The Lonely Know, a good picture of Carol Decker and I wouldn't want any other album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T'Pau Belts Them Out, 20 April 2009
By 
M. Taylor (Asfordby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Saw T'Pau perform at Butlins in Bognor Regis back in October 2008. For a wee lass, Carol Decker can half belt them out... Amazing show. Met Carol after the show for pics. What a lovely girl. Ah yes, back to the CD. Obviously bought their greatest hits CD afterwards and have played it ever since. Takes me back to the 80's when I was a teenager. Marvellous CD, grab a copy for yourselves :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 9 Jan. 2012
This review is from: T'Pau: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
this so brings back the real emotions of music. I am so glad I got to listen to this and would recommend it to anybody who needs some easy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love T'Pau, 20 Aug. 2013
By 
D. Rose-boyne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T'Pau: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Great CD - love T'Pau. Recently saw them in concert in Stevenage and they are still great and Carol has an amazing voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T'Pau: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
got this for my mother in law who's been after it for ages and she never has it off.. fair to say she loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

T'Pau: The Greatest Hits
T'Pau: The Greatest Hits by T'Pau (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews