Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant!
The album starts well with Highlander theme Princes Of The Universe, then gets going with a terrific bass line from John Deacon on A Kind Of Magic. Pain Is So Close To Pleasure almost sounds like Diana Ross, with Mercury excelling at falsetto while the guys ham it up in a tribute to Motown. Friends Will Be Ffriends is an anthem which now seems to rival We Will Rock You;...
Published on 26 Sep 2002 by D. M. Farmbrough

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars would not reccomend this to start your Queen collection
Queen was past it's prime when this album was released in 1986 , but it has it's moments.

Most of the songs are from the hit movie Highlander.

It's A Kind of Magic is a great rock-pop song , a real feel-good hit.

One Vision , an anthemic hit ,is also a powerful piece.

And then there is the melancholy Who Want's To Live...
Published 4 months ago by Gary Selikow


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant!, 26 Sep 2002
By 
D. M. Farmbrough "Dave Farmbrough" (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Kind of Magic (Audio CD)
The album starts well with Highlander theme Princes Of The Universe, then gets going with a terrific bass line from John Deacon on A Kind Of Magic. Pain Is So Close To Pleasure almost sounds like Diana Ross, with Mercury excelling at falsetto while the guys ham it up in a tribute to Motown. Friends Will Be Ffriends is an anthem which now seems to rival We Will Rock You; Queen said this was written to thank fans for being their friends. Who Wants To Live Forever was premiered as being Mercury & May rather than Queen at their 1986 concerts, and featured Brian at the organ. It starts as a melancholy song then soars into the stratosphere thanks to Freddie's powerful vocals. Gimme The Prize and Don't Lose Your Head are more Highlander tracks, rockier than most on this album, which ends with the Live Aid inspired One Vision. The only criticism I have of this album is that there isn't enough of it! Nine tracks just isn't enough! Nevertheless I saw Queen's last concert at Knebworth in 1986 and these songs were the flavour of that concert. This album will always remind me of a truly memorable experience in which I saw the world's greatest showman hold 200,000 people spellbound for two hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for any CD collection, 26 Mar 2002
By 
M. D. Rathbone (Runcorn, Cheshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Kind of Magic (Audio CD)
Whilst most of Queen's early fans would have given up all hope by the time they listened to "The Works", for those that remained and the new followers "A Kind of Magic" was probably the peak of Queen's studio-based highly-polished era and blew me away when I picked up a copy upon its release in 1986.
'Classic' may be an over-used word these days, but just listen to the album over and over again and songs such as "A Kind of Magic", "Who Wants to Live Forever" and "Princes of the Universe" will still sound fresh and such is the skill in the production of the album and its multi-layers that I STILL hear something different in each track even today!
Gone is the diversity, pomp and tempo change of yesteryear, but here is a rock group at the peak of their output again out-classing the music of the moment (having seen out glam and punk, Queen were now taking on the new romantics).
No excuses - you must own this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic album that was the soundtrack to highlander, 19 Nov 2001
By 
anne56468@aol.com (north Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Kind of Magic (Audio CD)
I love this album as it is the soundtrack to the film highlander with Christopher Lambert in. It also has one of my favourite songs in Who Wants To Live Forever I think Freddie Mercury is at his best singing ballads as it showcases Freddy Mercury's voice at its best. I also like the fact there are extracts from the film on the album sounds of swords especially in Don't lose Your Head!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's more than whats here!, 6 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Kind of Magic (Audio CD)
In addition to the tracks listed here (and on my original the tracks are in a different order), there's also:
Track 10: A kind of 'A Kind of Magic' - a remix of the above
Track 11: Friends Will be Friends Will be Friends - a mainly instrumental remix.
Track 12: Forever - purely piano + strings version of Who Wants to Live Forever, with some added bits and most of the end missing, but a wonderful, relaxing and moving track.
These extra three are credited as "extra magical ingredients".
It's quite simple. Buy this album, if only to listen to track 12!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Album, 24 Jun 2006
By 
R. Easom "Rob" (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Kind of Magic (Audio CD)
Not one of the well known albums but one of my favourite. Having seen the film Highlander I recognised the songs when brought this album and have to say this is the best work. Gimme The Prize shows some skill from Brian May one the guitar and the classic Who Wants to Live forever and A Kind Of Magic Shows Mercury at his best. A must have album in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Queen goes back to rocking, 18 Mar 2005
This review is from: A Kind of Magic (Audio CD)
A Kind Of Magic (1986.) Queen's twelfth album.
Movie companies must have been impressed with the music Queen created for the 1980 film Flash Gordon, because six years later, the band got the opportunity to record music for another feature film - Highlander. At this point in their career, Queen was in a major identity crisis - it seems as if they were going to become nothing more than a Duran Duran rip-off - shameful considering their seventies rock triumphs. For the Highlander songs, would the band continue to exhibit signs of this identity crisis, or would they make the long-awaited return to normalcy? Read on for my review.
The first thing I need to state is that, despite what the end credits of the film claim, there is NO SUCH THING as a Highlander soundtrack. This is the closest thing there is to a soundtrack, and these are actually NOT THE SAME VERSIONS of the songs that appear in the film. That aside, let's get onto what counts - the music. This is when Queen went back to their rock and roll roots - at its time of release, it was easily their finest release since 1980's The Game. Don't be expecting a full-fledged return to normalcy, though - there are still plenty of keyboards and synthesizers to be found. However, unlike on Hot Space and The Works, they aren't the primary foundation of the music. At long last, the guitar of Brian May reigns as the supreme instrument again. If you were a Queen fan back when the band was releasing material and the two tragic missteps in the early-mid eighties disappointed you, more likely than not this album won you back over. After listening to those two albums, I found the band's future to be questionable, but this release shattered those doubts. Magic is arguably Queen's finest eighties album.
All of Queen's albums were remastered and reissued circa 1991. The remasters have expanded liner notes with lyrics and cool rare band/discography photos. There are even bonus tracks, but these are just lame remixes that are disposable. If you got the original CD release, it's pointless to buy the remasters. If you don't have the album yet though, get the remaster.
A Kind Of Magic would mark a short-lived return to greatness for Queen, which would be cut short only by Freddie Mercury's tragic passing away a few years later. In their final years the band would go back to creating rock and roll - it's a shame this newfound golden age didn't last longer. A Kind Of Magic is where this short-lived era of greatness began. While probably not the best place for a new fan to start, no Queen collection is complete without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind of Magic (Audio CD)
One of the first ever albums I ever bought, which needed updating. Still sounds great, with some superb songs on there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good band, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind of Magic (Audio CD)
got this for a friend
i was happy with the album well put together
and i tell other people about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Kind of Magic., 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind of Magic (Audio CD)
Oh dear - same comment. Queen are great! Freddie's voice has never been better. If only Freddie was still around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Kind of Classic, 25 Oct 2010
This review is from: A Kind Of Magic (MP3 Download)
I love Queen and have done for yonks. I originally bought this on cassette in th 80s and at the time (i was really young) thought it was the best thing to ever happen. You can actually watch the recording/writing sessions for "one vison" on you tube. It might uplift you. Maybe not, I'm in two minds now. By 1986 Queen were very confident about being Queen and there are times when it sounds a bit like they've plugged in a bon-tempi keyboard and thought it would do. This album sits between pop of the time and rock. The overall feel is a little stilted, produced and reverby compared to the bite of such works as The Game and News Of The World (masterworks no doubt).Even Flash Gordon (they're previous film tie in record) seems a little more cohesive. If the film Highlander wern't supposed to be shoe horned in to this record and wern't supposed to be rerenced lyrically (unsubtely and not very well)I feel it could have been exellent as a record -such as "The Works" and later, "The Miracle," where the QUEENIES could write about what they liked. Freddie's voice though is powerful and sweet and there are some great moments. If you like 70s Queen it won't be the same feel, if you don't mind then this should impress anybody as being a decent pop "thing." It's very commercial but that in itself doesn't HAVE to be bad. I gather they made a lot of cash from this record and also from touring it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb577551c)

This product

A Kind of Magic
A Kind of Magic by Queen (Audio CD - 1986)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews