Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, moving, simply unique., 8 May 2012
By 
ST Nicholls "viggenboy" (Saxmundham, Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ethiopiques Vol. 4 (1969-1974) (Audio CD)
East African jazz at it's very best from the hay-day.

Like others, I happened across Mulatu Astatqe through the film Broken Flowers [DVD].

"Sublime", another reviewer has written and I completely agree. You'll have the tunes echoing round in your head for days.

In truth the production quality can only be described as "a bit dodgy", but somehow this all add to - and not detracts from - the overall atmosphere of the whole thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All good, jazz meets africa, 2 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ethiopiques Vol. 4 (1969-1974) (Audio CD)
This is faultless cd if you like world music - i'm amazed this music has been so obscure for so long. The whole series is good but this is my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime music, 16 Feb 2011
This review is from: Ethiopiques Vol. 4 (1969-1974) (Audio CD)
This is one of the most psychedelic albums I know; not psychedelic in the narrow stylistic sense but because of its other-worldly and transcendental music that transports me to another time and place. The sublime music on Ethiojazz is like no other I have heard. In fact, most of the music on the Ethiopiques series is like no music I have heard. If this album presses all the right buttons then Ethiopiques 10 - or Ethiopian blues and ballads - is the one to buy next, even though some of these tracks are duplicated on the latter album. The 12 minutes of Mahmoud Ahmed's Tezeta on Ethiopiques 10, with its smoky sax and swirling organ, is in my opinion the single most awesome song in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic., 3 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ethiopiques Vol. 4 (1969-1974) (Audio CD)
seriously fantastic.

this is an obscure set of rare groove tracks.

seriously spaced out funk, my bro found it, that's where i heard it from and just bought this cd for the uncompressed quality.

i believe all the others in the set have ethiopian vocals all over them.

if you like rare groove/funk trust me, buy this and you'll be more than happy ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lazy days, 12 April 2006
This review is from: Ethiopiques Vol. 4 (1969-1974) (Audio CD)
I discovered this album after listening to the "Broken Flowers" Soundtrack (2006 Bill Murray film) on which some of this Ethiopian music features. It is hard to categorise this album, you really need to listen to the samples on Amazon to be able to understand why! Listening to it takes you away to a different place, perhaps on a riverbank drinking a cool beer or to some mystical African city of intrigue and mystery... HIghly recommended for the ultimate in chill out music with a bit of a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So, so good., 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ethiopiques Vol. 4 (1969-1974) (Audio CD)
I don't actually like jazz. In fact, I try to avoid it whenever my husband puts it on... and yet, I cannot get enough of this album (which I bought for him).

Track 4 in particular is my favourite, it's just mesmerising.

I find it amazing that these bands are not well known in the west- they really deserve to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ethiopiques Vol. 4, 5 Jun 2014
This review is from: Ethiopiques Vol. 4 (1969-1974) (Audio CD)
When I gave this to some very keen jazz enthusiasts they very much enjoyed it and so did I. Thomas Hickson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Broken flowers of jazz, 7 Feb 2007
By 
C. J. Statham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ethiopiques Vol. 4 (1969-1974) (Audio CD)
Ah, yes.

As my fingers glide along the edges of my CD selction, looking for something 'sweet', I seem to be inexplicably drawn to this CD every time.

A veritble celebration of modern Ethopian jazz/funk, this is the plat du jour taken that the production team of the film 'broken flowers' touched on for it's soundtrack. Its luscious and unfettled sound is both casual and mysterious. But at it's heart there lies something more; somehting which grows each time you listen. You begin to appreciate the various jazz and funk influences that hold it together. There is some excellent instruemntation here too, which lends a hand to making each track sound tight and wholesome.

Reclined, peaceful, melodic and very easy to get down with. This is perfect music for cooking to or sitting outside on hazy August afternoon.

Buy buy buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ethiopiques, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ethiopiques Vol. 4 (1969-1974) (Audio CD)
If it is as good as the previous one, it will be fabulous. Haven't heard it yet as it is a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cool, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was really good cos it lasted a long time and there is so much to say and you never
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ethiopiques Vol. 4 (1969-1974)
Ethiopiques Vol. 4 (1969-1974) by Ethiopiques (Buda Series) (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews