Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Difficult' second album proves to be another gem
UK rockers Thunder were flushed with success after their debut album 'Backstreet Symphony' caused a stir at home and abroad, from which the guys were able to steal the show at Donington and sell out venues across the UK. The big question was whether they could come up with another strong album to build on that success. Happily 'Laughing...' follows on with another set of...
Published on 7 Jan. 2004 by ronster500

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What Happened Here?
No matter how much I listen to this album, I can't figure out what is wrong with it.

You see, in principle, there is nothing wrong. Same guys that made the fantastic Backstreet Symphony get together and follow the same recipe. Is that what went wrong?

The vocals are good, the guitar style is similar, but somehow Laughing on Judgement day doesn't rock...
Published on 18 Jan. 2008 by J. M. Salinas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Difficult' second album proves to be another gem, 7 Jan. 2004
By 
ronster500 (Liverpool, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Laughing On Judgement Day (Audio CD)
UK rockers Thunder were flushed with success after their debut album 'Backstreet Symphony' caused a stir at home and abroad, from which the guys were able to steal the show at Donington and sell out venues across the UK. The big question was whether they could come up with another strong album to build on that success. Happily 'Laughing...' follows on with another set of top notch songs, mainly written once again by guitarist and co-producer Luke Morley with input from the other guys (and co-producer Andy Taylor) on a few numbers. This album has many highlights, such as the emotive 'Low Life in High Places', 'A Better Man' (a live favourite to this day) and the storming 'Fire to Ice', where singer Danny Bowes evokes memories of classic Dio-era Rainbow.
The album is notable for the fact that there is one track which is NOT written by the prolific Morley; 'The Moment of Truth', a funky number which the rest of the guys composed and is not out of place alongside the consistently high standard set by the chief writer. Once again Danny Bowes proves himself in the great British rock singer stakes, and the musicianship is top notch, with signs that the guys were beginning to step beyond pure 'crunch', ading horns and harmonica where appropriate.
A second Donington appearance and some prestigious support slots helped keep the band's profile high in the face of the grunge tidal wave sweeping the rock scene, but there was a mini crisis looming in the ranks when bassist Mark 'Snake' Luckhurst quit after this album and tour citing musical and personal differences. Rumours of an approach by Whitesnake's David Coverdale to snap up Luke Morley were circling at this time also (since refuted by both parties) and the period was the most turbulent in the band's career. The grunge effect finally bit not long after, when the unrelenting success of the Seattle bands meant nothing else was getting a look-in, and so it would be two years before Thunder returned with a new album and a new bassist.
Another highly recommended album for fans of classic well-crafted British rock 'n' roll, although inevitably overshadowed by the near perfect 'Backstreet Symphony', this album should be high on the list for those just discovering this excellent band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic blues rock at it's best, 20 Dec. 2006
By 
Angus Bell "spideypsych" (Guisborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laughing On Judgement Day (Audio CD)
This is my favourite Thunder album - and is reminiscent of early blues period Whitesnake crossed with Bad Company brought up to date - Empty City has echoes of Ain't no love in the heart of the city, but they are a tighter and much more intelligent band than 'Snake ever were. Danny Bowes voice is magnificent, only Paul Rodgers in his prime beats him for that combination of smoke and power. Luke Morley gives us rockers, acoustic ballads and blues rock at the flick of a plectrum. Yes it beats the latest Robert Johnstone`s tombstone for length and quality and variety but only just. They are fabulous live and I saw them a month ago rocking out the City Hall in Newcastle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars from a woman!, 10 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Laughing On Judgement Day (Audio CD)
Thunder are the most underrated rock band of all time - in my opinion.. fortunately now they are getting the recognition that they have long deserved with concerts selling out consistently - i attended their Wolverhampton gig on november 21st and was enthralled! As a result we - Matt and I bought their new album Robert Johnson's tombstone and the hairs stood up on our necks - the best yet!! this brings me to Laughing on Judgement day - until now I thought this was their best!! & it will always mean so much - appealing to women as well as men - who love and hurt at times.. Empty City, A better man and my personal favourite - 'Like a satelite' for if you have ever been a good distance apart from someone you love & miss!are the best tracks for me!Dont get me wrong - they are all GOOD! Well worth your investment if you are a rock fan but have a softer side too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy follow up to Backstreet Symphony, 4 Nov. 1999
This review is from: Laughing On Judgement Day (Audio CD)
This is classic Thunder at their blues-rock best, the profusion of crunchy guitar and wailing vocals in the opening track setting the tone for the rest of the album. Danny Bowes' voice is adequately stretched but your mind won't be, as the majority of the lyrics deal with stock relationship issues "Everybody wants her....but she wants me". The only real departure from the norm is "Empty City" which is a little more morose. The rest of the album though is good for a jump around your living room after a few Tenants Super.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 14 tracks, no filler = 5 star album, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
K. Miles "Kev M" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Thunder - possibly the most under rated rock band of all time. How this band did not make it BIG is a mystery that not even Mulder & Scully could figure out.

Following on from the excellent Backstreet Symphony album, Laughing on Judgement Day is 14 tracks long, and filled with brilliant bluesy rock. Great vocals and musicianship and the album production sound is also top notch.

Someone else has mentioned that it kind of sounds like an upto-date melding of Bad Company & Whitesnake. That's probably the best description you can give to describe the sound.

One of my top 10 albums of all time, give it a few spins as it does take a while to sink to really appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Thunder album, 11 Feb. 2009
By 
Chris Perkins (Colchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Laughing On Judgement Day (Audio CD)
People rave about the debut, but I like this one the best of all Thunder's albums. It's all a bit mid paced, but contains songs of quality, even what might be termed as fillers aren't bad. The best thing about this record, and the thing that elevates it to five stars and what really made Thunder brilliant, is the superb voice of Danny Bowes, showcased in its absolute prime here. He never topped the vocal performance heard here. Frankly one of the best vocal performances on any rock record I've heard, and I've listened to a lot.

Now they're calling it a day (for the second time), they'll be missed, but at least they have a great back catalogue to revisit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Laughing All The Way, 11 Jan. 2015
By 
This review is from: Laughing On Judgement Day (Audio CD)
Thunder’s second album, 1992’s “Laughing on Judgement Day” showcases everything that made Thunder great. There are some wonderful up-tempo rock/pop songs, a ballad that seems to make your heart beg for mercy, and some of the band’s trademark humour. The title itself is an indication of the band’s whole attitude to life – if you’re not laughing, then you’re not living.

The album cover itself is pretty stunning. Weird, but wonderful, if you like. I’m not entirely sure what it’s meant to represent, but this was their first album cover by Storm Thorgerson who, with a company called Hipgnosis, designed about 16 album covers for Pink Floyd, and also worked on album covers for Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath and Genesis. He also designed the cover for Thunder’s third album, “Behind Closed Doors”, which was the best thing about it. Hiring Storm Thorgerson was, I think, and indicator of where Thunder wanted to be, and an attempt to show a new found maturity, which also shows itself in their songs. Having done so well with the first album, they’ve decided that they had better take things a little more seriously.

There’s only one thing that makes this album fall slightly short of being the equal of its predecessor. After riding so far with “Backstreet Symphony”, which earned them two appearances at the famous Castle Donington Monsters of Rock festival, and numerous “Best Newcomer” and “Best Album” awards from any number of rock magazines, you get the impression that they’re maybe trying a little TOO hard with this album. The end result is some wonderfully crafted songs, but less of a feeling of all-out fun. Which is kind of ironic, given the title of the album. Even the sleeve notes aren’t as amusing as those on the first album, although the shameless sales pitch of the phrase “To enjoy this record in true stereo reproduction, our sound engineer recommends that you go out and buy another copy” will always raise a smile.

However, make no mistake about it, this is a very good album from a truly great rock band. There are any number of bands who have lived and died without producing anything nearly as good as these fourteen songs.

So, this is all from Thunder’s second album. It’s a great effort, slightly heavier and more mature in outlook than their debut and somehow falls short of that album. If I were to recommend a single Thunder album to anyone, it wouldn’t be this one, but if you’re going to own a couple of their albums, this has to be in your collection. And if you enjoy decent rock music, you’ll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightning may never strike twice........, 25 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: Laughing On Judgement Day (Audio CD)
...but Thunder can! A brilliant album that has had a regular place in my cassette player,then CD player and now ipod! As another reviewer said,one of the most under rated bands in the genre,and this 2nd album has one of my personal favourite songs of all time,Today the world stopped turning.If you haven't paid Thunder much attention in the past,do yourself a favour and start now.5 stars all day long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars principles and perceptiveness and still happypy., 3 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Laughing On Judgement Day (Audio CD)
This album was no less classy than backstreet symphony and bluesy, accomplished, sadder, as well as a comment on the ninetys society. It is a tonic when you think somebody was using their nut in debating issues like disharmony, crime and poverty, as well as the ghost of sin under the spotlight of broken relationships. I think it is not a sobering dialogue, there is humour, wit, as well, and enough energy in the can to lift the mood and sew the seams as a panacea. If the album was a nurse it would be worldly, helpful, and quite good while a bit naughty. Opinions don't necessarily work in the music business, but this statement mixes the delights of headbanging on your Walkmans to shakesperian comedies, and matters and trivia that say you can walk out if you don't do political spontaneity, but do have one on the house, and sit on the fence with Pamelah for half hour and help yourself to any only fools and horses. I'll be back. And after backstreet symphony this outfit certainly were. Open up to this one and you'll be laughing or in my judgements looking at the mirror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Strongest Thunder Album Of All, 7 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Laughing On Judgement Day (Audio CD)
I originally bought this album a good while ago and have since gone on to buy all the others, but without any doubt at all, this is the best one by some distance.

If you like Thunder, you cannot not have this album. If you like rock music, you still cannot not have this album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Laughing On Judgement Day
Laughing On Judgement Day by Thunder (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews