Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Into the 80's...
After a run of undoubted classic albums in the 70's 'The Game' marks a definite shift in the musical fortunes of Queen, as they enter the '80's with a blaze of synthesizers, a new producer, and a more basic approach to songwriting. In terms of sales 'The Game' was a huge success for the band, but it's rather dry stripped-down approach in both composition and recording...
Published on 8 April 2006 by Jane Aland

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decidedly average for Queen.
The thing with Queen is that you can never quite define them. They're a rock band who do Opera. A dance outfit who did Jazz, and so it goes on. What they rarely were though, is mediocre. It's a shame to say, therefore, that this album suffers from that quite a lot. There are some infamous (and rightly so)tracks on here, but you'll find them on the Greatest Hits Package. A...
Published on 4 Mar 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen's Start to the 80's, 7 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Game (Audio CD)
First of all, the product I was received is of excellent, like new quality as promised, and plays perfectly fine, so that's a good start, but how is the album itself? Well, I'll start by saying that I'm a massive Queen fan, but not one who deems all of their content perfect. I'll review track by track, and though there will be those who disagree, I am only speaking as a fan and a critic.

First of all, we start with Mercury's title track of sorts 'Play The Game'. This isn't necessary the best track on here in my opinion, but it is a very nice song, being about love yet still featuring some very impressive instrumental and vocals, especially from the great man himself. This opens up the album well, and immediately has hopes running high. The next track is 'Dragon Attack', and boy do I love this. It is understandable to see that some would not find this track very good, and it is a like/hate track. Dragon Attack goes to show the bassist Deacon's true playing skills, and gives him a larger role, as well as Taylor's drumming to an extent. As said, this track is interesting, and I love it myself, but you really have to give a try and see how you find it to know...

The next track is the ever-famous Deacon song 'Another One Bites The Dust', and there's not much to say about this one. Most people seem to love it, even considering how differential it was for Queen back at the time, and now. This is definitely one of the album's highlights, and most catchy songs, featuring raw power in Mercury's vocals. Next is another love song 'Need Your Loving Tonight'. This is a nice enough song really, but fairly average if you ask me. Still, its not bad at all, and does have a good rhythm that'll likely have you singing along soon enough! Then there's the other hit Queen song, the Rockabilly 'Crazy Little Thing Called Love', which is another very well done and catchy tune, further emphasising Queen's variation of themes. Its a simplistic song too, featuring only basic vocals and guitar for example, and so is a nice change.

It is from here that the album's 'golden age' has passed unfortunately, although the next part is still good!

We start the next part of the album with 'Rock It (Prime Jive)', Roger's composition which features him on vocals too for the most part, Mercury being at the start and end. Its another catchy and rhythmical song, and Taylor shows some impressive vocals here generally, though the song can be a tad repetitive, but no problem really. Next is the unique 'Don't Try Suicide', which I know has mixed reactions from people, a bit like Dragon Attack, so you have to listen to it to judge really, but I personally think its a great little song, and its just as catchy as any of the prior songs... Next is Brian May's contribution, the touching melody 'Sail Away Sweet Sister'. This Love-themed song is just beautiful, and I would recommend it to anyone. It might not feature May at his best with vocals, but he does a good job throughout. The guitar is wonderful too. We then have Taylor's other contribution, the Rocker song 'Coming Soon', and though fairly alright, this is my least favourite song on the album. It isn't bad, but its just average, and you won't probably find it too interesting. The album ends on May's epic hit 'Save Me', which not only features what could be argued to be some of Mercury's greatest vocals, but also an amazing guitar solo, and a hell of a lotta epicness!

The album is now over, and so in conclusion, the first five songs are worthy of five stars, being great, but then the last five are varied, being from great to average. In conclusion though, a great album, and very enjoyable. Not Queen's best, but a great start to the 80's.

James Dunn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 28 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Game (Audio CD)
A transitional album between the inconsistent Jazz and the Poppy Funk/Dance experiment Hot Space, The Game is a truly impressive transition which took Queen into their most popular, but what some would claim their worst, period of music- The 80's! Starting off with the beautiful piano ballard Play The Game, and then leading onto the catchy Funk Rock of Dragon Attack, next comes one of Queen's most famous songs, the dance funk Another One Bites The Dust. You'll love or hate this track. Need Your Loving Tonight is quite average, but is a good power ballard for what it's worth. The Rock 'n Roll of Crazy Little Thing Called never grows old and is another impressive step for the Game. Rock It is a very basic rockability track, followed by Mercury's regular Dont Try Suicide. Brian May's emotive Sail Away Sweet Sister is next with beautiful lead vocals from May, with Roger Taylor's pop rocker Coming Soon next up. The album ends beautifully with the tranquil Power Rock Ballard, and ends this impressive album on a very high note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More consistent than Jazz, 1 April 2008
By 
Mr. Jonathan Robin Oxley "Jon Oxley" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Game (Audio CD)
This was the new sounding Queen - their first album of the 80s and its not bad. It's certainly a lot more consistent than their previous album Jazz. It also boasts 4 impressive singles - Crazy Little Thing Called Love, Save Me, Play The Game and Another One Bites The Dust. Other notable tracks are the 2 Brian May compositions - Dragon Attack and Sail Away Sweet Sister. The other tracks are just OK'ish. It definitely feels as though they had the American audience in mind with this release and it worked - this was a big hit both sides of the Atlantic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Game...., 29 April 2008
By 
John M. Bannerman (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Game (Audio CD)
A very close second in my opinion to the overblown majesty of A Day At The Races, The Game (the first Queen album I bought) is an amazing piece of art, and an amazing rock album. From the synth driven intro to Play the Game, to that infitesimal pause in Save Me, the whole album oozes class.

Another One Bites the Dust pounds your guts, Dragon Attack causes serious guitar mayhem, Crazy Little Thing Called Love is a great copy of the 1950s and early 60s Elvis... and then Don't Try Suicide laughs in the face of stupidity in this life. Save Me, a surprisingly heavy sound for this album is also an emotional tour de force. Its just a shame that the funky first side seems to get so much more mention than the second part, of what is, in my opinion an outstanding rock album.

Don't take it from me... buy it. Play it LOUD. Tell the neighbours that the busted wall and windows were worth it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Queen on the Game!, 25 Aug 2000
This review is from: The Game (Audio CD)
It held so much promise this Silver encased offering but seemed to disappoint so deeply at the time of release.... atleast thats how it seemed.For any other band this album would be a 'tour de force' for Queen it was a departure from the traditional and we kill what we don't understand.
In reality it is a powerful album almost lost in time, what will you recognize from your extensive greatest hits purchases? well how about the outstanding 'Another one bites the dust' John Deacon's main claim to songwriting fame , or 'Crazy little thing called love' or the haunting - Dove grabbing- 'Save me'.
The album was the first to extensively use synthesiser, although God only knows how they achieved the sounds previously without one, but that aside it was restrained , it was controlled, it was not Freddy in tights and full operatic flow.....and people just did not like to take their camp with out a spoonful of the ridiculous.
With the possible exception of 'Flash' and 'Hot Space' there is no such thing as a bad Queen album, and even the two afore mentioned stand head and shoulders above the general standard, 'The Game' is an aural experience full of jewels. Play 'Sail away sweet sister' and wonder how you have never heard it before even though it touches the soul and displays Mr. Mercury's indisputable talent and sweetness of voice to wonderous effect....and if you are looking for silly well 'Dragon Attack' gets better every year we move from 2000.
If you have greatest hits 1 + 2 believe me it is time to go off piste. The best stuff is still to be discovered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decidedly average for Queen., 4 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Game (Audio CD)
The thing with Queen is that you can never quite define them. They're a rock band who do Opera. A dance outfit who did Jazz, and so it goes on. What they rarely were though, is mediocre. It's a shame to say, therefore, that this album suffers from that quite a lot. There are some infamous (and rightly so)tracks on here, but you'll find them on the Greatest Hits Package. A difficult thing to work out is that the songs do show a lot of promise. Dragon Attack has a pretty pounding riff, and a great bass solo, but for the most part it sounds like Brian May wrote it because he was terrbly bored, and just wanted it over with. "Need your loving tonight" is a pretty fine number, but lacks something of that Queen magic, the opportunities are there for lavish harmonies and lush guitar, but it retains a sort of bare sound throughout. Rock It suffers from Roger's vocals, and some fairly boring lyrics as well, and Don't Try Suicide is one of those songs which could have been so much more, but again, seems to limp along rather pathetically. "Sail Away..." is the album's saving grace, a magnificent number, recorded around the same time as the Greatest Hits tracks (spot the correlation?) and is a moving moment, on an otherwise average offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great way to follow up from Jazz!, 10 April 2008
By 
James Hutton (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Game (Audio CD)
A short and sweet album, The Game has got to be one of my favorate albums. The first track is the perfect way to introduce the album, although the next track Dragon Attack is nothing more than Brian's version of John's Another One Bites The Dust. Some of the songs on the album are weak, like Sail Away Sweet Sister, which is slow and by far one of the worst tracks Brian May ever wrote. Some real classics appear on the album such as Play The Game, Antoher One Bites The Dust, Crazy Little Thing Called Love and the best track from the album, Save Me. This is really the last 'classic Queen' album, but what follows is just as good as this great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Game
The Game by Queen (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews