Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute favourite of mine - buy it now!, 17 Sep 2000
By 
mfo@uni2.dk (Aarhus, Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pärt: Te Deum (Audio CD)
I first heard the music of Arvo Pärt when it was used in a long and sorrowful scene in the movie 'Little Odessa'. The scene lasted for several minutes, with no dialogue, just this beatiful piece of music playing. It was extremely powerful, and I knew that I had to find that piece. It turned out to be 'Sanctus' from the 'Berliner Messe', featuring on this album.
When listening to it, I sometimes cannot believe just how beautiful the music of Arvo Pärt, and especially the music on 'Te Deum', is. The voices interweaving, the sometimes sharp, sometimes muted sounds of the violins, the odd yet perfectly suited prepared piano, the rise and fall of harmony. The music lifts you up, making you feel as if you are soaring, while seconds later yanking you right back, infusing you with melancholy... I could probably go on like this, but I'd better not.
Suffice to say that this is a wonderful album, and I recommend it wholeheartedly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Te Deum - Arvo Pärt - Conducted by Tõnu Kaljuste, 11 Mar 2006
By 
David Lazzari - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pärt: Te Deum (Audio CD)
Hypnotic; healing are not terms I'd usually use in a review of a piece of music - too much like crystal gazing (Be Bop Deluxe - great track!), copper bracelets & ley lines - airy-fairy stuff that I usually ignore with a sneer but Pärt's music has an effect that does indeed induce (at least in me) feelings of peace and warm fuzziness. I first heard this in a TV documentary about the piece itself. A nice little doco – watch it if you can catch it. All the major protagonists were there on the screen except the composer who seems a reserved quiet person who shuns too much publicity – good for him! The conductor, Tõnu Kaljuste, has worked extensively with Arvo Pärt and this shows in his ability to bring out the best in choir and orchestra. The combination of The Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir and the Tallinn Chamber Orchestra is amazing. It produces a beautiful recording. The main piece Te Deum is complimented by the other pieces on the CD. I’d buy Te Deum alone but the other works make up an amazingly value for money CD and a great example of Arvo Pärt's portfolio.
I recommend this piece of music to anyone who appreciates good quality music. My tastes run from 12th century music from the Crusades through Baroque to Tool & The Chemical Brothers. I have no problems in reconciling my catholic tastes. Pärt’s music is as wonderfully enjoyable as any other style. Based on this CD I would have no hesitation in buying more examples of this wonderful composer’s work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devotion: quiescence; adoration; awe, 10 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Pärt: Te Deum (Audio CD)
Part's music so often seems to inhabit a place, take the listener to a place, beyond words. He exposes the limitation of language, when attempting to describe a numinous place, which just IS, and in the act of describing it, one is no longer inhabiting that place.

So, really, if something you want from music is to be in touch with `thoughts that do lie too deep for tears', for an experience of something ineffable, transcendent, sacred, truthful, entering into mystery, well, play the opening track. The choir, the venue with its acoustics, the music itself; these are all very special. This is tender, compassionate music, full of sorrow and yearning, but reaching beyond that to places of resolution. The silent spaces, the pauses in the music are also `full'

These are quiet, deeply felt songs of praise and devotion. Personally, I find those tracks which find that place, whilst containing pain and sorrow (such as Te Deum) more profound than pieces which are less emotionally complex, such as Credo, which are beautiful, but don't quite engage with this listener on such a completely profound level

Te Deum itself, like the title piece of another Part album, Pärt: Miserere/Festina lente/Sarah was Ninety Years Old, is the pure gold nugget of the CD which the other pieces, though still stunning in their own right, bow down before!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfection!!!, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pärt: Te Deum (Audio CD)
totally gorgeous is how i would describe this work of the great man that Arvo Part is.
production of this ecm recording is sublime...
The orchestration, the choral voice truly is perfection of the highest order..
Cannot praise this one enough..
Truly beatiful..
.. If you wish to relax, need for quite, this work will meet your needs..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite and ecstatic., 10 Oct 2003
By 
P. S. Thomas "strephon2" (bristol, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pärt: Te Deum (Audio CD)
Magnificent ... mesmerising ... profoundly spiritual ... uplifting ...
... and that's just the first piece. This CD is one of my favourites ever. It nurtures and heals me. Buy it, bask in its glorious harmony, the sumptuous reverb afforded by the old church in Lohjan, Finland that served as recording studio and allow the Lord to lift and sustain you; Arvo Part has found a way to tap into the musical bloodstream of the Almighty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The closest thing there is to a musical massage, 3 July 2009
This review is from: Pärt: Te Deum (Audio CD)
This is an absolutely outstanding collection with my favourite Pärt pieces on one CD. It's much more accessible than some of Pärt's other work like Miserere, so if you're undecided about which of the many Arvo Pärt CDs to opt for then I strongly recommend this one.

Originally I bought this CD specifically for Silouans Song but Berliner Messe has since become my favourite piece. The production of Berliner Messe on this CD is by far better than the Naxos CD as the harmony of voices with instruments (and the acoustics) is far more polished on this recording. From the opening notes of Kyrie to the heavenly conclusion of Agnus Dei this piece grabs your attention and draws you in, no matter how many times you hear it.

Transfer this track to your iPod/iPhone and whenever you're out and about and feeling stressed or in the hub-bub of a crowded place, whip out your headphones, put this track on, and you will be instantly transported to a place of peace and tranquility. It really is the closest thing there is to a musical massage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music heard in a film!, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pärt: Te Deum (Audio CD)
Brilliant! Soul moving..... discovered his music through a film, researched to find who wrote and the performers, found it ! and have bought it. Well worth the search!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceedingly beautiful, 14 Feb 2013
This review is from: Pärt: Te Deum (Audio CD)
Exceedingly beautiful. A perfect introduction to Arvo Part's music. Buy without the slightest reservation and enjoy for the rest of your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get this for the Te Deum alone, 28 Feb 2011
This review is from: Pärt: Te Deum (Audio CD)
This starts off as lovely music but uncomfortable in its slight discordance. It chimes with a depressive or anxious state and then it develops a very deep beauty as it becomes increasingly sublime. It works as a really powerful way to overcome a black mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabc9524c)

This product

Pärt: Te Deum
Pärt: Te Deum by Arvo Pärt (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews