Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vocal purity lost…
Have recently watched the film ‘Sense & Sensibility’, I just had to buy the soundtrack, as the music made complete, the magical experience of the film.
Unfortunately, the ‘dramatic soprano’, Jane Eaglen is the one jarring note in this otherwise excellent CD. The two songs she performs are, (in the film), sung by a young girl, and I strongly...
Published on 10 May 2003 by Clare A. Wilson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Soothing music
I do like this, but like some other reviewers would have liked to hear Kate Winslet on the 2 vocal tracks. I did buy this because I loved the film and I knew that the vocal tracks were not as in the film, but nevertheless use it a lot when driving as it is very soothing.
Published 11 months ago by bridgesilver


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vocal purity lost…, 10 May 2003
By 
Clare A. Wilson "Circe" (Cheddington, Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility / O.S.T. (Audio CD)
Have recently watched the film ‘Sense & Sensibility’, I just had to buy the soundtrack, as the music made complete, the magical experience of the film.
Unfortunately, the ‘dramatic soprano’, Jane Eaglen is the one jarring note in this otherwise excellent CD. The two songs she performs are, (in the film), sung by a young girl, and I strongly feel that the purity of tone, so beautifully evident in the original should have been reproduced in this soundtrack. Unfortunately, the main reason I bought the cd, was for the instrumental track ‘My Father’s Favourite’ and the two vocal tracks, ‘Weep You No More Sad Fountains’ and ‘The Dreame’ …
I have just recently realised that Patrick Doyle has contributed so much to films I have enjoyed, and I would probably be inclined to purchase the soundtracks for these films. However, I feel that in buying soundtracks, care must be taken to ensure that expectations are met, particularly with regards to artist.
That aside, the remaining 19 tracks on this cd, being mostly pensive and romantic, with the odd, rather jolly one thrown in, are most evocative of the film and the period itself. In general, I believe that this soundtrack would make an excellent choice for either someone who has watched (and loved) the film, or even just for the eternal romantic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Doyle's best, 4 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility / O.S.T. (Audio CD)
I haven't seen the film, so I'm passing comment on this purely as stand-alone music. It's wonderful. It's one of Doyle's most classical albums, and it is full of romance, sadness and joy. The opening song is similar in style to Mahler's orchestral songs. The gorgeous melody is re-used throughout in various guises, including a very beautiful piano-orchestra version that evokes Mozart's slow movements. Later in the album the music leans to a more chamber style, with key roles for flute, clarinet and harp. There are also some jaunty, almost folk-like pieces for orchestra. The album finishes with another song for soprano and orchestra. I have enjoyed this album immensely, and strongly recommend it. It is on the same scale as the Hamlet score, but is generally "prettier" and less "modern" in it's tonality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vocal Sublimity, 6 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility / O.S.T. (Audio CD)
I have been compelled to write this review as a reply to those who say that Jane Eaglen's voice does not sit right on this compact disc. Miss Eaglen's voice is the icing on what is already an absolutely delightful and well produced cake. Patrick Doyle's music is stunning and is made even more stunning by the slightly ethereal voice of Jane Eaglen. In her last song 'The Dreame' she represents and older, more mature Marianne. Those who do not see this are missing the point. A brilliant disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some light listening, 26 Oct 2004
By 
K. Hurst "Kate Hurst" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility / O.S.T. (Audio CD)
I bought this CD about eight years ago and I always seem to come back to listen to it time and time again. I love the score - it ties in so well with the film and every time I hear the tracks from when Marianne goes out in the rain to Willioughby's house it brings everything back to me.
I agree with the person who said Jane Eaglen doesn't sound right on this. She's good but - after you've heard Marianne sing the songs in the film - it really does sound wrong, maybe because it seems so operatic when the rest of the soundtrack is so much lighter. Other than this, it's a great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just delicious, 24 Sep 2007
By 
K. E. Thurlow-Bishop (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility / O.S.T. (Audio CD)
I know I am just echoing previous reviews, but this is a delicious soundtrack. Patrick Doyle is such a gifted and sensitive composer, adding depth and richness to films without detracting from the visual drama. Like other people, I found Jane Eaglen's version beautiful, but ultimately too rich for the musical genre. Such a pity that Kate Winslett's pure rendition was not captured for this recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pity about Jane Eaglen...., 30 May 2001
By 
K. L. Holt "Karenlee" (Utrecht Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility / O.S.T. (Audio CD)
Patrick Doyle is a superb modern composer who perfectly captured the feeling of Regency England in his work for the S&S Soundtrack. The wonderful music added extra magic to what was already a beautiful film, and it's all on this CD - wonderfully touching and soothing without crossing the line into 'over-sweetness'. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed in the choice of Jane Eaglin as vocalist for the two tracks that Marianne sings in the film. Her dramatic soprano is very ill-suited to these lightly melodic, slightly melancholy tunes. At first hearing I was truly aghast - the effect is horrible. Thankfully, the melody of these two tunes is reprised elsewhere on the CD (without Eaglen). If you miss her out, it's a fantastic listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic soundtrack, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility / O.S.T. (Audio CD)
I LOVE this soundtrack. Perfect for revision/ work music when you don't want to be distracted.
My Father's Favourite is such a beautiful piece. So impressed with Patrick Doyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vocal Sublimity, 6 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility / O.S.T. (Audio CD)
I have been compelled to write this review as a reply to those who say that Jane Eaglen's voice does not sit right on this compact disc. Miss Eaglen's voice is the icing on what is already an absolutely delightful and well produced cake. Patrick Doyle's music is stunning and is made even more stunning by the slightly ethereal voice of Jane Eaglen. In her last song 'The Dreame' she represents and older, more mature Marianne. Those who do not see this are missing the point. A brilliant disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility / O.S.T. (Audio CD)
very good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD-, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility / O.S.T. (Audio CD)
I THOUGHT THIS WAS GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY, THE QUALITY WAS GREAT TOO. AND THE SERVICE WAS BRILLIANT THANK YOU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sense & Sensibility / O.S.T.
Sense & Sensibility / O.S.T. by Patrick Doyle (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews