Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tracklisting
Only contains half of their UK chart successes, (Minuetto Allegretto, Wombling Merry Christmas, Super Womble and Let's Womble To The Party Tonight are not featured), but still a reasonable snapshot of the Wombles output. The 2CD 'Wombles Collection' was better, but sadly no longer available. In fact, on closer scrutiny, this CD is just disc 1 of the double CD set with the...
Published 23 months ago by Stephen Wright

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There's no track listing
Could someone tell me what tracks are on this? I don't want to buy it till I can check my favourite Wombles songs are on it, but I can't see a Track Listing? Thanks.
Published on 29 July 2011 by Soo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tracklisting, 28 Jan 2013
By 
Stephen Wright "Steve" (Gravesend, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Best Wombles Album So Far (Audio CD)
Only contains half of their UK chart successes, (Minuetto Allegretto, Wombling Merry Christmas, Super Womble and Let's Womble To The Party Tonight are not featured), but still a reasonable snapshot of the Wombles output. The 2CD 'Wombles Collection' was better, but sadly no longer available. In fact, on closer scrutiny, this CD is just disc 1 of the double CD set with the last track (I Wish It Could Be A Wombling Merry Christmas Every Day - featuring Roy Wood), removed!
Featured Tracks on this single CD:
1) The Wombling Song
2) Remember You're A Womble
3) Wombling White Tie And Tails
4) The Orinoco Kid
5) To Wimbledon With Love
6) Wombles On Parade
7) Down At The Barbershop (Singing In Harmony)
8) The Empty Tidy Bag Blues
9) Wellington Goes To Waterloo
10) Nashville Wombles
11) Invitation To The Ping Pong Ball
12) Non-Stop Wombling Party
13) Underground Overture
14) The Myths And Legends Of King Merton Womble And His Journey To The Centre Of The Earth
15) Hall Of The Mountain Womble
16) Banana Rock
17) Womble Of The Universe
Loses a star mainly because of the missing tracks which means that it isn't really 'The Best Wombles Album So Far'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frankly I think they are wasted on children!, 26 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Wombles Album So Far (Audio CD)
I already have a Wombles record, so when I stumbled across this one I had to buy it. I know that those of you who haven't listened to a Wombles album probably think that I am somewhat mad, but it is not until you actually sit and listen, that you appreciate the wit of the lyrics and the amazing variety of songs, for example one of the tracks is a barber shop song! I firmly believe that this cd is wasted on children! (althought they will probably enjoy it too!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful reminder of the golden days of the Wombles., 19 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Wombles Album So Far (Audio CD)
There was much excitement when the news came that a new series of the Wombles was being made, but this was tempered by the unforgivable news that Bernard Cribbins was not doing the voices. I found myself hankering for the golden days of the original series and that wonderful music. Mike Batt turned the Wombles into a pop sensation but for many years it has been impossible to find the original songs. All that has changed. This album carries several of the best know Womble tracks and it is amazing to hear the amazing array of styles all brilliantly produced. The missing star is due to the missing tracks that should be on volume two but sadly as yet that CD is not available. In the meantime, this is a must for all true Womble fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There's no track listing, 29 July 2011
This review is from: The Best Wombles Album So Far (Audio CD)
Could someone tell me what tracks are on this? I don't want to buy it till I can check my favourite Wombles songs are on it, but I can't see a Track Listing? Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Jazz-Fusion, Prog-Rock Classics from the Wombles, 19 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Wombles Album So Far (Audio CD)
The most incredible album in the world... i joke not. Buy just for 'Down at the Barbershop' and 'The Empty Tidy Bag Blues'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars incomplete overview of the wombles output, 19 Dec 2004
This review is from: The Best Wombles Album So Far (Audio CD)
As an erroneous die hard fan of Mike Batt and his creation,i wonder why they decided to change producers with this album. Great uncle bulgaria has produced somewhat of a muddy mix with not much top end. A bit hard to swallow as it was recorded at THE MANOR where mike resides on a regular basis. a very disappointing album for the wombles. Lets hope there is a return to form on the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Childhood memories can't beat it, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Wombles Album So Far (Audio CD)
Wonderful album full of childhood memories and the Wombles doing it in their on style simply great, silly and magic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Guilty pleasure, 22 Oct 2013
By 
CEJ (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Wombles Album So Far (Audio CD)
I just about remember the wombles on TV when i was younger, and it is hard to believe when listening to this album, that they created a novelty band, rather than serious. Whether the songs on this album are original or covers I don't know, but I could really imagine them in the charts back in the 80's.
I re-bought this CD as my original went missing 10 or so years ago; I still love it - especially at the right price (ie I bought it second hand and cheap)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wombles, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Wombles Album So Far (Audio CD)
Awesome CD love it. i definitely recommend it for anyone one who loves the wombles. Completes my set perfectly :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Best Wombles Album So Far, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Wombles Album So Far (Audio CD)
Not as good as the two vynal records my kids enjoyed but my Grandaughter enjoys dancing to this CD recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Wombles Album So Far
The Best Wombles Album So Far by The Wombles (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews