Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good budget collection
Dusty emerged as one of Britain's finest female pop singers of the sixties, Her total of ten solo UK top ten hits in the sixties is only matched (among female singers) by Cilla Black, although Dusty also had two more as lead singer of the Springfields (Island of dreams, Say I won't be there), neither of which are included here.
Many of the best-loved Dusty classics...
Published on 30 Mar 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IT IS NOT WHAT THE TITLE SAYS IT IT.
Calling this CD The Hits Collection is wrong,it is not true.What you have is a few hits and an assortment of other songs.Anyone buying it without studying the track listing is likely to be most disappointed.There is nothing wrong with the CD as such,it just is not a hits collection and its title is is so so misleading.

If you want a hits collection,try...
Published on 13 Oct 2011 by Christopher W. Brierley


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good budget collection, 30 Mar 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hits Collection (Audio CD)
Dusty emerged as one of Britain's finest female pop singers of the sixties, Her total of ten solo UK top ten hits in the sixties is only matched (among female singers) by Cilla Black, although Dusty also had two more as lead singer of the Springfields (Island of dreams, Say I won't be there), neither of which are included here.
Many of the best-loved Dusty classics are here including You don't have to say you love me (a song of Italian origin that gave Dusty her only UK number one hit), I only want to be with you (later covered by the Bay City Rollers, whose cover peaked at four in the UK in 1976, exactly as Dusty's original had done - the Tourists, whose lead singer was Annie Lennox, repeated the feat in 1979), I just don't know what to do with myself, Losing you, Some of your loving, All I see is you, I close my eyes and count to ten and Son of a preacher man, all of which made the UK top ten, together with How can I be sure, Stay awhile, Your hurting kind of love, Give me time and I'll try anything, which proved Dusty with further UK hits.
The set opens with Look of love, a song that is generally associated with Dusty but didn't chart for her in the UK, as well as superb covers of Windmills of your mind and Yesterday when I was young.
This is not the definitive Dusty hits collection as two UK top ten hits (Going back, In the middle of nowhere) are omitted but this is a budget collection. You can find more complete collections at a higher price but this is very good for the price and provides an ideal introduction to Dusty's music at a low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DUSTY...A LEGEND IN HER OWN TIME, 5 Nov 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hits Collection (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful collection of Dusty Springfield's hits, though I wonder at the glaring omission of one of her biggest state side hits, "Wishing and Hoping". This twenty one track, value priced CD gives the listener a lot of bang for the buck, though the production values could have been better. It is, however, a terrific overview of Dusty's musical work, as it showcases her versatility and range. Though all but one of the selections were recorded more than a quarter of a century ago, the tracks remains as fresh today as when they was first recorded.
As part of the British pop stars invasion of the nineteen sixties, Dusty went on to became a star state side, as well as in Great Britain. From Rock to Pop to White Soul, Dusty Springfield did it all and did it well. Her premature death due to cancer leaves a hole in the music world. Yet, Dusty will live on in the hearts of her many fans, a legend in her own time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not so rusty Dusty!, 15 Nov 2003
By 
Jason Jesson "Jason J" (Yorkshire, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hits Collection (Audio CD)
This is a good example of Dusty's punchy pop and power ballads that made her distinctive voice and dramatic appearance so very, very 60s!
By the time you get to 'I close my eyes and count to ten', I can almost guarantee you will have turned up the volume and been surrounded by a unique talent that was oh so Dusty.
If you like what you have heard here, then do try to locate a box set which has almost every track she ever recorded, amazing stuff that just keeps on appearing on radio stations, the occasional tv ad and even in the background at the Queen Vic on Eastenders! 40 years on and still what the phrase 'fab' was all about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty Springfield - Better Than Any Music Now, 19 July 2003
This review is from: Hits Collection (Audio CD)
Dusty Springfield - she has a powerful voice, much better than the music of today, so says a 12-year-old here! When I purchased this, it was for my more favoured songs such as "The Windmills of Your Mind", but I found out that all the songs are excellent, including "I Just Don't Know What To Do With Myself" (heard the version that White Stripes has just released of this song? It's the worst thing I have ever heard) and "I Close My Eyes and Count To 10". Full marks for this wunderful song! =D If a 12-year-old likes this album, so should you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super collection of classic 60s songs, 3 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hits Collection (Audio CD)
Despite one or two obvious ommisions (eg. "In The Middle of Nowhere" and "Little By Little") this is a super collection of some of the best songs by one of the best artists of the 60s. There are a lot of inferior collections at full price out there so this is fantastic value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fab CD, 4 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Collection (Audio CD)
This release is ideal for die hard fans as well as those discovering the great lady for the first time. As an introduction to her work it does very well and should feature in any record collection, regardless of your preferred genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IT IS NOT WHAT THE TITLE SAYS IT IT., 13 Oct 2011
By 
Christopher W. Brierley - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hits Collection (Audio CD)
Calling this CD The Hits Collection is wrong,it is not true.What you have is a few hits and an assortment of other songs.Anyone buying it without studying the track listing is likely to be most disappointed.There is nothing wrong with the CD as such,it just is not a hits collection and its title is is so so misleading.

If you want a hits collection,try "Complete A And B Sides 1963-1970 " however many tracks are mono as were the original singles,so if you want stereo look elsewhere.

"Goin' Back - The Very Best Of Dusty Springfield 1962-1994" has all her hits and many are stereo.Amazon has plenty to choose from,I tend to buy only those with the sound samples to listen to,atleast then there won't be any nasty surprises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She Was One Of The Best!, 20 Aug 2008
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Collection (Audio CD)
If you were born in the late 1940's to early 1950's then you will be more than familiar with Dusty Springfield. She was on TV more than most, (and we only had 3 channels), and out of the 21 tracks on here virtually every one of them was a single. It's one of those great CD's where, even if you have a lousy voice, you put it on and find yourself singing along. Dusty may have been more for Mum's and Dad's at the time, but growing up when her hits were around, I find I enjoy this album more now than ever before. Nostalgia. That's what it is. And Dusty's unique voice is better than any around today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TRUE BARGAIN., 28 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Collection (Audio CD)
I AM VERY SELECTIVE IN THE C.D`s I BUY. SO WHEN I SAW THIS LISTED I THOUGHT I`de GIVE IT A TRY.HOW GLAD I AM. HER HITS COLLECTION IS TRULY WHAT THE TITLE SAYS.IT`S TWENTY ONE TRACKS OF PURE HEAVEN FOR ANYONE WHO LIKES DUSTY, AND GOOD MUSIC. AT THE PRICE AMAZON HAS LISTED THIS AT IT`s A MUST FOR ANY COLLECTION. FOR THE PRICE OF A BAG OF CHIPS AND A WALLY YOU COULD OWN A CLASSIC C.D,BUT DONT TAKE MY WORD FOR IT. BUY IT AND SEE FOR YOUR SELF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty, 30 Jun 2009
By 
L. S. Glaze (shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hits Collection (Audio CD)
Dusty`s hit collection is great. I bought it for my hosband who is very pleased with it. Some great songs & very good sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hits Collection
Hits Collection by Dusty Springfield (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews