Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs to warm the soul!, 18 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magical World Of The Strands (Audio CD)
This is an album of exquisite beauty. Very few albums are made like this anymore-music stripped to the basics. Lovely songwriting and beautiful musicianship. Imagine "Bryter Layter", "Astral Weeks", "Forever Changes" and "Harvest" and you are getting somewhere near the sound of this superb album. I have actually owned it since it came out, however, it is one of those albums that I keep going back to. A timeless classic that warms the soul!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless - up there with arthur lee, beach boys and the rest, 6 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magical World Of The Strands (Audio CD)
I don't usually go in for all of these reviews. They're can be misguiding at best and written by the artist at worst. But I have been listening to this album for four years (I think) and it's still amazing. I agree with one of the other reviewers who says it's better than Forever Changes. Well, perhaps not better, but if this had been made 30 or 40 years ago, people would bang on about it being a classic. So why not say so now?
It's a classic. It warms your heart. "It's Harvest Time" is worthy of Nick Drake or John Martyn. You really can shove all of the so-called songsmiths (Coldplay, Travis, yawn) up your kilt, because this is what it's all meant to sound like. I sometimes think it's what The La's could have got to be, but then it's more cheery than Mavers and Co. And I hate all of these comparisons. It's just simply magic on its own terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful absorbing inspiring magical, 19 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Magical World Of The Strands (Audio CD)
u could bang on all day about the bad luck which has hovered over michael's head throughout his whole career. u could talk at equal length about what another reviewer somewhere called his "limitless grace and talent". do yerself a favour and get hold of this astonishing album.
the lad wrote/recorded the most perfectly realised pop-song of the 1980s (the paleys 'palm of my hand'). last time i checked it was only available buried as a bonus track on an expensive import copy of 'pacific street'. 'waterpistol' and 'the magical world...' are wonderous albums, lost deeper than 'sunflower' and 'forever changes', and both just as beautiful. since you've obviously found it, i couldnt recommend this album more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magical iz rite, 20 Jun 2006
By 
R. Fox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magical World Of The Strands (Audio CD)
If I had to recommend one album by any artist that wasn't a household name this would be it. Waterpistol is considered by many as Michael and John Head's lost classic, this is better. The first few bars of opening track 'Queen Matilda' should be enough. By then you should have left your humdrum surroundings and be floating on a misty haze to a beautiful place where nothing matters. If this records uplifting properties were common knowledge it would be made illegal.

There this no doubt in my mind that this is their masterpiece, and in a sense I hope they never go through the journey of creating another record like this, but if you consider Forever Changes to be a classic record, in my opinion this is the best record since, bar none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Classic, 12 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magical World Of The Strands (Audio CD)
This is bound to be one of those records that, if there was any justice in the world, everyone should own but at the same time you're secretly glad that that noone else has ever heard of them.
The Head brothers prove that they are some of the most talented songwriters we have in this country. It is an album full of beauty from the hum-along 'Undecided (Reprise)' to the haunting 7 minute 'Loaded Man'.
Noone should hesitate at the thought of buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 30 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Magical World Of The Strands (Audio CD)
When it came out, this album was for a while the one I considered my favourite ever. The lilting melodies of each song took a time to take hold, but like the X that hits the spot, I was soon addicted. The highlight for me is 'Something Like You', a track I disliked at first, thinking the strings were somewhat cheesy. But like the best of 'What's Going on', it lifts you to an emotional height almost classical. The best acoustic album ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hits the spot., 14 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Magical World Of The Strands (Audio CD)
Despite having been aware of Michael Head's work via the Pale Fountains and then Shack for more than 30 years, and despite owning several Shack albums, this record somehow completely flew under my radar until a few weeks ago. Well. What can you say? It's a masterpiece. It's an album to fall in love to, to break up to, to live to, and live with.

The fact that it's out of print, and not even available on iTunes or most streaming services just boggles the brain. I recently snapped up one of the few vinyl copies ever made, and it'll be one of the few things I'd grab if my house ever caught fire.

Talking about the songs is not going to help. You just need to soak it up and let it rattle around your head and be the soundtrack to life. And then find everything else Michael Head has turned his hands to and enjoy that as well. Then tell your friends and feel good when they realise how astonishing a piece of work this record really is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Years still going strong, 27 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Magical World Of The Strands (Audio CD)
I've had this record since release in 1997. I first bought it on vinyl and now also have the CD. The music on it just never seems to fade and it gets played in our house regularly to this day. It is a piece of brilliance equalled only by the Head brothers other output under the name Shack. Although they have never earned the full acclaim they deserve I truly believe their time will come. Buy this and then buy another of their albums, then buy another and so on untill you have the complete catalogue. Then go out and see them live. You will then be enriched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly special album, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magical World Of The Strands (Audio CD)
If you don't know this album, you should. If you don't own this album, good luck. I worked pretty hard to find it and then spent good money on it. In the end, it was completely worth it. Beautiful doesn't say enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beauty, 23 Oct 2011
By 
Miss Davies "LENA 777" (manchester england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magical World Of The Strands (Audio CD)
i adore this album.... is it.. 'i saw coleen?' or 'i saw my dream? she is running free'? beautiful album,truly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Magical World Of The Strands
The Magical World Of The Strands by Michael Head (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews