Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melodic Pop & Moving Folk
Although she emerged from the folk/singer-songwriter boom of the Woodstock generation, Melanie’s music has always had more of a pop edge to it. This excellent collection includes most of her hits – with the exception of Bitter Bad - and the cream of her popular album tracks. It kicks off with the novelty song (and her biggest hit) Brand New Key, followed by...
Published on 20 April 2003 by Peter Uys

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Something wrong with the CD I got - some tracks, including my favourites, don't play.
Published 1 month ago by ALAN MORAN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Unique Voice, 28 Sept. 2013
By 
richard lake (Chepstow, Monmouthshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
What can anyone say about Melanie her voice is unique and to the un initiated may take a few listens to get it but it's a combination of her voice and the feeling she puts into songs that brings out her quality. This album features 2hat are her probably best known tracks Ruby Tuesday, What Have They Done To My Song Ma, Nickel Song, Brand New Key also features some covers of Mr Tambourine Man, Lay Lady Lay, Christopher Robin & Carolina On My Mind. A Few songs I hadn't heard before are really good Beautiful People, Pebbles In The Sand, Good Book & I Don't Eat Animals plus the wonderful song Lay Down (Candles in the Wind) featuring the Edwin Hawkins Singers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, perfect, moving, 27 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
We hadn't listened to Melanie for years since our old albums were religated to the attic but after hearing her on an old 'old grey whistle test' decided to look out for a 'best of'. This is it. Excellent sound quality, heart-rending melodies, gentle yet so powerful. She is truly unique and very special.
Also our tentative ideas about become veggies in the New Year might just happen after listening to 'I don't eat animals'! Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Melanie' best songs, 27 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
A good quality and good value selection of early years Melanie songs. Tracks sound like they are taken from original albums, rather than later re-recordings which lack the depth and feeling of the original recodings - many years ago I returned a CD of her songs to the seller as the quality of the re-recording was so bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Melanie CD, 21 July 2010
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Having just found out that Melanie is still around in 2010, after losing sight of her in the early 70's, I purchased this CD.
It is excellent, and shows what a good singer/song writer she is. I purchased some of her LP's in the 60's, so it was refreshing to hear these songs again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Evocative 60s songs, sung with passion, in that uniquely beautiful voice, 14 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Well her voice is beautiful to me, anyway, and is probably the main attraction of Melanie for me.

But her songs are heartfelt, if very much of their time, and all the most well known ones seem to be here -a great value cd for fans of Melanie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remember Melanie, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I have always liked Melanie's work from the very early days. Still like her music and this cd, but time does funny things with your memory and some songs don't strike the chords they used too. Maybe that's unfair, but its still worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I remembered., 15 May 2013
By 
Mr. P. D. Sitch (Essex, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
It may simply be that the old style records had a character that is lost with CD, or it may be that I remember it better than it was; it is Ok but I perhaps would not have bought it if I had listened to it beforehand - sorry Melanie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The cd was in good condition and well packaged, 31 May 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
The cd was in good condition and well packaged. Regarding the content of the cd there are a few "fillers" but the the rest of the tracks have stood the test of time and are just "fab".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get yourself some "Leftover Wine"., 24 Feb. 2015
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
The last four tracks really show off what a wonderfully dramatic voice Melanie had. In fact when I'm finished typing I'm going to play it. Beautiful girl, beautiful singer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still great, 5 Mar. 2014
By 
J. Imrie (Aberdeenshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Voice, sounds and songs quite as good as fond memory. A very good collection of all the hits and others. My wife and I have played it over and again with real pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of
The Very Best Of by Melanie (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews