Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hypnotic Sidney Bechet..
Very nearly didn't buy this. No-one had reviewed it so I was rather in
the dark. Now that I have the disc I am addicted to Sidney Bechet! RCA
Victor has given us a first-rate recording - apart from only one track
from 1949 which is a little scratchy - but I still feel the 5 stars
are merited for the standard of Bechet's artistry. His rendition...
Published on 13 April 2008 by Joan Jones

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great music, terrible transfers
I finally remembered to check out Sidney Bechet when Woody Allen used his wonderful 1952 song "Si tu vois ma mère" ("Lonesome") as the main theme in his recent film Midnight in Paris. This album in RCA's Jazz Greats series has excellent selections from the later (French) part of his career (1949-1952), including "Petite Fleur" (considered by many his most beautiful...
Published on 5 Nov. 2011 by Mike L


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great music, terrible transfers, 5 Nov. 2011
By 
Mike L (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Greats (Audio CD)
I finally remembered to check out Sidney Bechet when Woody Allen used his wonderful 1952 song "Si tu vois ma mère" ("Lonesome") as the main theme in his recent film Midnight in Paris. This album in RCA's Jazz Greats series has excellent selections from the later (French) part of his career (1949-1952), including "Petite Fleur" (considered by many his most beautiful song) and "Les Oignons". Unfortunately, the transfers have been filtered to hell, and the sound is really dull: this is one of the worst filtering jobs I've ever heard, and a disgrace to RCA.

It's hard to recommend a good CD covering the same period: there are a number on amazon, but there are no sound samples. If you are content with a digital download, consider The Most Beautiful Songs Of Sidney Bechet.

If you are really just after "Si tu vois ma mère", check out the French Woody Allen soundtrack compilation "La Musique De Manhattan À Midnight In Paris", available as double CD or more usefully digital download (choose the tracks you like!) which has some great Erroll Garner numbers. Warning! This is not the soundtrack of Midnight in Paris.

Sidney Bechet's earlier recordings can be heard on the always good value AVID label's Essential Collection, either as double CD or digital download. Or if you are a real fan, get the 10 CD box on document Petite Fleur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hypnotic Sidney Bechet.., 13 April 2008
By 
Joan Jones "Joan" (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Greats (Audio CD)
Very nearly didn't buy this. No-one had reviewed it so I was rather in
the dark. Now that I have the disc I am addicted to Sidney Bechet! RCA
Victor has given us a first-rate recording - apart from only one track
from 1949 which is a little scratchy - but I still feel the 5 stars
are merited for the standard of Bechet's artistry. His rendition of
Petite Fleur and Le Marchand De Poisson is hypnotic...He demands your
full undivided attention - and gets it. If you don't know Bechet but
like jazz - buy this CD - and if you are already a Bechet fan, you
won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WORTH WHILE FOR A LOW BUDGET COLLECTION, 27 Feb. 2012
By 
Mr. Aa James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Greats (Audio CD)
THIS SIDNEY BECHET COLLECTION COVERS MAINLY HIS 1950S PERIOD WITH PIECES SUCH AS LES ONIONS AND PETITE FLEUR THE RECORDING QUALITY FLUCTUATES MOST TRACKS TAKEN FROM LIVE BROADCASTS ,HENCE 4 INSTEAD OF 5 STARS. I GOT THIS AT A GIVEAWAY PRICE
AND WAS GENERALLY PLEASED WITH IT , THOUGH THE SOUND IS A BIT ROUGH HERE AND THERE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A value for money compilation of latter recordings of a master., 19 July 2014
This review is from: Jazz Greats (Audio CD)
This CD is great if all the listener wants to do is enjoy listening to Sidney Bechet, still playing as well as ever despite these tracks being sourced from the period 1949-1952, seven years before his death aged 62. There are no band details, though I suspect the musicians are mostly French (nothing wrong with that; he lived in France for the last ten years of his life, as well as in the 'thirties. I've given this only 4 stars because of the lack of personnel and the variation in recording quality......but the MUSIC is 5 star, especially the commanding playing by Bechet, THE master of the soprano saxophone until it was adopted by John Coltrane around 1960.

All the favourites are here: Les Oignons, Petite Fleur, Maryland, Royal Garden Blues, Summertime etc.

Under different circumstances, Bechet would be remembered as a superior influence on the development of jazz than Armstrong etc. a master of New Orleans music, and a virtuoso musician. Any lover of jazz should enjoy the music of Bechet, and although there are many recordings out there this represents pretty good value for money, despite its flaws already referred to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality of recordings good, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Greats (Audio CD)
Excellent selection of his work and most of the recordings are very good for the time they were made. Would suit anybody wanting an example of this Jazz style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Greats (Audio CD)
Good recording as this CD is of later stages of Sidney Bechet's career.and music from the film Midnight in Paris is included Teriffic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A recent discovery, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Greats (Audio CD)
Every single track excellent. Such moody, sexy and happy
music. Thanks to the movie Midnight in Paris I would never
have heard of Sidney Bechet. The soundtrack just rang out
and the movie pale into insignificance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sidney Bechet, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Greats (Audio CD)
I love traditional jazz, so this is right up my street. I never tire of listening to this fabulous music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz Great, 10 Dec. 2012
By 
Sunny (Hampshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Greats (Audio CD)
I really like Sidney Bechet and this CD is really good. It has a lot of tracks I love. No problem with the sound at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What a shame, 11 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Greats (Audio CD)
I picked this album for the songs on it. I recently started playing soprano after decades on the alto and wanted to hear how an an old master interpreted them. A lot of his best tunes are on here but the recording quality is quite poor. I know it's old but the same stuff with much better quality is available to play on the web for free. We live and learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jazz Greats
Jazz Greats by Sidney Bechet (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews