Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Laid Back It's Horizontal!!!, 25 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Timepeace (Audio CD)
I walked into a record shop and heard one track from this album playing (Get Your Heart Right) and made an instant decision to buy it. Since then it's never been far away, and I've managed to track down a lot of Callier's earlier work, and seen him live. This guy has a background in jazz, but this CD defies any definition, and you can hear elements of jazz/funk/soul/gospel and hip hop.. The music and lyrics are A1 and the guest musicians and band do themselves proud. Treat your ears and your head to his version of People Get Ready/Brotherly Love, and if you're a sax maniac, listen to Pharoah Sanders on the title track. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 22 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timepeace (Audio CD)
I can't believe no-one has reviewed this album up before now!

Recorded in the mid 90's after a 15 year long 'career break' this comeback record is the one I would recommmend to newcomers to Terry Callier.

This record's style covers jazz, soul and folk featuring classic songwriting, intelligent and thoughtful lyrics, soulful vocals and classy playing and arrangements.

If at first listen the record sounds too laidback and 'jazz ... nice,' repeated listens allow the subtle inspired playing of Terry and his two (American and English) regular back up bands to come through.

Even after 5 years living with and regular listening to this album I am still discovering new facets to the music and favourite tracks change continuously.

Give this one a go and if you like it delve deeper into Terry - a true artist who has been making deep and spiritual music for over 40 years now and go and see him live - it's practically a religious experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still not well-known enough, 18 July 2003
By 
R. A. Mansfield "bertieronbob" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timepeace (Audio CD)
I still can't believe that I can mention Terry Callier to people and get blank looks in return. I first heard Spartacus as a CD single some five years ago and became hooked instantly. The distinctive, mellifluous voice that Callier possesses, combined with an ability to write such poignant songs marks him out as (dare I use the word) a genius.
Listening to Terry Callier does one of the most difficult, yet wondrous things - produce that chill and shiver down the spine that marks out all great records. There is not a duff song on the album and it shines like a beacon among most of the detritus that hits the charts currently.
Revered by other luminaries such as Paul Weller and Beth Orton, Trery Callier deserves a wider audience. Buy this album, tell your friends and he will hopefully achieve the reputation he so richly deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is for all time, 19 July 2005
This review is from: Timepeace (Audio CD)
I heard this artist about 20 years ago and his voice still haunts me till this day. Timepiece must rate as the
best album l ever bought. Calliers music appears to be an acquired taste and although he is known to many musicians, their are so many others that havent't become acquainted with the mans genius. I am sure that l will still be listening to this album in another 20 years and hope that record shops have the wisdom to stock it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timepeace, 9 Feb 2013
This review is from: Timepeace (Audio CD)
this album can be described in one word {perfection}heard this on jazz fm and i had to buy it, its been one of my favourites ever since
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative jazz/soul, 16 Nov 2010
This review is from: Timepeace (Audio CD)
Quite simply the greatest album ever released if you are a Jazz/Soul/Blues fan.

From the haunting Lazurus Man through to the part-rap Traitor to the Race,Callier's distinctive voice oozes class,especially on the stunning Brotherly Love followed by the wonderful Love Theme from Spartacus.

Virtually all the tracks are written by TC,they are sometimes perhaps a little too religious for my taste but I know that Terry is an extemely God fearing person.

I have followed TC's career for 40 years and seen him live many times,how he is not a big time recording artist is beyond me.

Kisaint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful., 2 Oct 2010
This review is from: Timepeace (Audio CD)
I hadn't even heard of Terry Callier when I visited London this summer and was looking for a concert to attend. The concert was fantastic and so is this album - heartwarming, intelligent and of high musical quality. Suited for everyone who likes good, laid-back music with real content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical Brilliance, 16 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timepeace (Audio CD)
Terry Callier is a sultry jazz and folk singer, with a beautiful warmth and depth to his lyrical tone. Only amongst dedicated music lovers is this man truely appreciated and as such he remains underated. 'Keep your Heart Right' just oozes so much 'lurve' it just makes you want to dance and smile and do foolish things, it is so innocent it reminds me of the summer. Honestly my music collection would be incomplete without this album, it is quite simply musical brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Melton, 21 Jun 2010
By 
R. Melton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timepeace (Audio CD)
The album was for neighbour as I already have. Its a fine album and was delivered promplty by Kulchik.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Timepeace
Timepeace by Terry Callier (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews