Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An real 'classic' album - something we're missing today
I own all the Essential Selections pre 2000, and this is definitely the best of the bunch. I've always said 1998 was such a brilliant year for dance music - it was the movement away from acid and dark garage, and trance finally came into it's own.
Pete Tong mixes his usual style on the 1st CD, starting off with some brilliant break beats, and as ever, seamlessly...
Published on 6 Dec 2007 by Picard

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fraud
Bought this CD said 'like new condition'. There was only one CD in the box not two and the CD that was sent was that badly scratched that out of the or so 15 tracks on the cd, only 6 of them actually play. Avoid buying from this supplier.
Published 12 months ago by chris stanley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An real 'classic' album - something we're missing today, 6 Dec 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I own all the Essential Selections pre 2000, and this is definitely the best of the bunch. I've always said 1998 was such a brilliant year for dance music - it was the movement away from acid and dark garage, and trance finally came into it's own.
Pete Tong mixes his usual style on the 1st CD, starting off with some brilliant break beats, and as ever, seamlessly blending them with some fab house tracks. Stardust simply had to be on here, while other classics such as You Don't Know Me and Needin' U have their spot.
Paul Oakenfold has his say too on Disc 2 with a mix of trance and house, and is probably the better of the CD's.
Their are 2 editions of this album - the ornage edition has just the 2 discs, but the purple one has 3 discs, the 3rd being a Carl Cox session.
Can't rate it highly enough - it's a must if you love late 90's dance club music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Selection 1998, 12 Oct 2005
This is the first dance album I ever bought and it really is an awesome classic collection. Would definitely recommend for old school reminiscing or for anyone interested in experiencing dance music with heart and true class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COOL, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Selection '98 (Audio CD)
Bring back fond memories of my younger days dancing the night away with my friends .Very good album Disc 2 is the best i think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Selection '98 (Audio CD)
This firm recommended bought a few items and the goods are always on time and are always as described yes the biz this firm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cracking cd, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Selection '98 (Audio CD)
very good cd from tong cox and oakenfold.....essential indeed. i have a ot of the cds in this series and they never failed to impress
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hands in the air bonus Carl cox mix, 9 Sep 2013
By 
J. Smith "whatyadoinsucka" (Yorkshire. Gods Own County) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Selection '98 (Audio CD)
1-01 Jurassic 5 – Jayou 3:27
1-02 Fat Boy Slim* – Gangster Trippin' 4:13
1-03 DJ Skribble – Everybody Come On 4:09
1-04 Stetsasonic – Talkin' All That Jazz (Dim's Old School Mix)
Remix – Dim*
3:47
1-05 Da Click – Good Rhymes 5:25
1-06 Deetah – Relax (Bump N Flex Mix)
Remix – Bump N Flex*
1:52
1-07 Juliet Roberts – Bad Girls 5:37
1-08 Astrotrax – The Energy (Feel The Vibe) 5:10
1-09 Mousse T. vs. Hot N Juicy* – Horny (Mousse T's Extended Mix) 3:40
1-10 Voices Of Life* – The Word Is Love
Vocals – Sharon Pass
3:24
1-11 Pulp – Party Hard (Tom Middleton Mix)
Remix – Tom Middleton
2:24
1-12 Armand Van Helden – You Don't Know Me
Vocals – Duane Harden
5:17
1-13 Stardust – Music Sounds Better With You (12'' Club Mix) 6:27
1-14 David Morales Presents Face, The (3) – Needin U (Original Mistake)
Presenter – David Morales
7:12
1-15 Lucid – I Can't Help Myself (Lucid Vocal Mix)
Vocals – Clare Canty
5:24
1-16 Madonna – Drowned World (BT & Sasha's Remix)
Remix – BT, Sasha
3:19
1-17 Inner City – Buena Vida (Summer Fiesta Mix)
Remix – Tommy Onyx
5:49
2-01 Mansun – Wide Open Space (Perfecto Mix)
Remix – Perfecto
6:48
2-02 Dope Smugglaz – The Word 3:50
2-03 Da Hool – Meet Her At The Love Parade (Nalin & Kane Mix)
Remix – Nalin & Kane
7:44
2-04 Three Drives On A Vinyl* – Greece 2000 4:49
2-05 Storm – Storm 7:37
2-06 Billy Hendrix – Bodyshine 3:47
2-07 Energy 52 – Cafe Del Mar 98 (Nalin & Kane Remix)
Remix – Nalin & Kane
5:01
2-08 Y Traxx – Mysteryland (HHC 12'' Vocal Mix)
Remix – HHC*
7:27
2-09 Nalin & Kane – Beachball (Tall Paul Remix)
Remix – Tall Paul
5:55
2-10 Camisra – Let Me Show You (Tall Paul Remix)
Remix – Tall Paul
2:45
2-11 Arrola – Dreaming (Percussion Mix) 4:28
2-12 Freefall – Skydive
Vocals – Jan Johnston
4:20
2-13 Liquid Child – Diving Faces 5:39
2-14 Agnelli & Nelson – El Nino 2:58
2-15 Lucid – Crazy (12'' Dub) 3:45
Carl Cox - Bonus Mixed CD
3-01a Sven Vath* – Face It
3-01b Ian Pooley – Followed
3-01c Plastika – Disco Dancing
3-01d Aubrey – Straight Ahead
3-01e Dutch Liquid – Funk E
3-01f Chopper – 7 Hours In A Bathroom
3-01g Carl Cox – Tribal Twilo
3-01h Peace Division – Tribal Phunk
3-01i Sound Associates – Muzik
3-01j Thomas Schumacher – When I Rock
3-01k DJ Dan / Needle Damage – That Zipper Track
3-01l Stone Circle – Sound Of The Ultimate Base (Jim Masters Remix)
Remix – Jim Masters
Credits
DJ Mix – Carl Cox (tracks: 3-01 to 3-12), Paul Oakenfold (tracks: 2-01 to 2-15), Pete Tong (tracks: 1-01 to 1-17)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fraud, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this CD said 'like new condition'. There was only one CD in the box not two and the CD that was sent was that badly scratched that out of the or so 15 tracks on the cd, only 6 of them actually play. Avoid buying from this supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential Selection '98
Essential Selection '98 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews