Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A musical delight for many. A political sledgehammer for all
Evil Empire has been criticised by many as poor when compared with the supremely awesome debut album "Rage Against the Machine".I can see where these criticisms come from as EE is a totally different kettle of fish. Gone are the roars and power that formed the foundations of early rage music. Instead, Zack De La Rocha has gone back to his hip/hop roots mixing...
Published on 29 Aug 2000 by magicfudgeshop

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite the album we expected
I remember getting this on cassette all the way back in 1996,it was four years after the aural onslaught that was the self titled debut,so the gap between them was considerable so i could be forgiven for thinking this would blow my socks off,in truth it just blew one of my socks off,my other foot was still wearing a comfy sock.

The album still has some face...
Published on 26 July 2006 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A musical delight for many. A political sledgehammer for all, 29 Aug 2000
This review is from: Evil Empire (Audio CD)
Evil Empire has been criticised by many as poor when compared with the supremely awesome debut album "Rage Against the Machine".I can see where these criticisms come from as EE is a totally different kettle of fish. Gone are the roars and power that formed the foundations of early rage music. Instead, Zack De La Rocha has gone back to his hip/hop roots mixing the rock/rap and funk into one unique sound. Okay, a lot of RATM fans don't want to hear this but a major part of Rages opinions and ideals is to accept your roots and be proud of them. In this album, Rage have produced a passionate, powerful and even more political record that boasts amazing songs such as "Bulls On Parade" and "Revolver". I saw Rage live at Reading this weekend and until you've seen the emotions and influences that drive this bands music forwards, you cannot appreciate this record as much as the guys wanted you to. On a musical level, I think this album is fantastic but the lyrical messages are a virtual smack in the face for the US government and other commitees that stand in the way of Rages quest for equality, liberty and freedom. Music brings people together and helps them fight for one cause.This album is capable of doing more than that.Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hits five stars, but if I could would not be six., 6 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Evil Empire (Audio CD)
Being the follow up to the amazing Rage Against The Machine self titled, it was bound to be not as good. The first one was simply amazing, and this one could not live up to it. Besides those points, Evil Empire is still an album worth 5 stars, it has a mix of rock and Hip Hop to drool over. And De La Rocha's vocals and Morello's Guitar again hit heights. The thing I would say sets them apart is the fact that rage selftitled seems to be more flowing and almost perfect, where as Evil Empire is much more eratic and voletile. Still, a follow up well worth your money, may not apeal as widely as the first, but an absolute must for all Rage fans. Well worth a try for others too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something old, something new..., 5 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Evil Empire (Audio CD)
To my mind this was a very clever move by Zack and co.; they knew that even they could not recreate the absolute genius of their self-titled debut, and so tried something subtly different with the clichédly "difficult" second album. Unfortunately this led to a less accessible record than its predecessor, and as such a less popular one. For this reason, Evil Empire is one of the most underrated albums of the 90s; its comercial success was nowhere near that of RATM, but it contains many great songs, some of which are now hailed as being among their best work; People of the Sun, Bulls on Parade, Vietnow and Revolver most prominently. However, I am also extremely keen on Snakecharmer and Down Rodeo. One way in which this album does actually outdo its illustrious predecessor is in terms of baselines; Timmy C's bass seems much more independant to the songs than it did before, and all in all the rhythm section as a whole is highly accomplished on the record. My only qualm on here is that sometimes you need to block out the almost embarrassing lyrics in order to enjoy the music fully; Zack is more focussed than the average punk-band vocalist, but is therefore cruder with it. This album is not the masterpiece the first album was, but then nothing in the genre ever will be, and as such this is a must have for any Rage fan - just get their self-titled one first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More relevant than they ever were..., 19 Oct 2008
This review is from: Evil Empire (Audio CD)
Rage have had a lot of influence (musically) on my life. I was introduced to them via MTV of all places where I witnessed People of the Sun maybe 10 years ago. What a song! It was like nothing I'd heard before, or since for that matter. It smashed, devoured and danced over the graves of everything I'd heard previously. So much energy, intensity and anger, so much groove. I was undoubtedly and unquestionably hooked and Rage became my favourite band up until I discovered Kyuss a few years later when the features of my musical landscape shifted once again.

There was something untimely special about Rage & their intense political leanings; even if you didn't exactly agree with De La Rocha's extreme left wing, anti capitalist political views he damn well made you aware of them. But with tracks like People of the Sun, Bulls On Parade, Vietnow, & Down Rodeo, who cares what they're about; they're some of the best tunes ever written and I will say that with a hand on my heart.

The musicianship, often overshadowed by Zack's rants, is outstanding; possibly the most flawless and tightest band I've ever heard. Such is their insensity, these guys don't even need to speak and they whip up a crowd as if it were effortless. Brad Wilk and Tim Commerford were, and still are, a stomping rhythm section and Tom Morello can coax some ungodly sounds out of his guitar. Unfortunately their talents have been wasted over the past few years in Audioslave.

Evil Empire, to me, feels like the forgotten middle album, overshadowed by the mighty self titled. Also, whilst not being their best album, the self titled takes that prize, it is my favourite. It's a lot darker, it's more diverse and my favourite two Rage tracks are on here in the form of People of the Sun and Bulls On Parade.

As they virtually invented `rap-metal' as it's now known, (now a near blasphemous phrase), there isn't as much on here as you'd think. There's more subtlety & more experimentation; Snakecharmer, Revolver, and Tire Me, don't actually have any rapping on them. Also, because Rage were a heavy band De La Rocha is largely considered a rock vocalist but his talents as a rapper are among the best. Stringing the lyrics together as he does with a political message and often storytelling is a difficult skill rather than "gangsta shopping list" style dross. Listen to 'Maria' from Battle of L.A. as proof - some of the best lyrics I've ever heard.

Evil Empire is still one of my favourite albums I have to say. Even though I sorely overlook them in my frequent ventures to my CD collection, Rage will still be in my favourite bands list 5, 10, years from now. Everything by Rage is essential. Nothing like them will happen ever again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very under-rated, 9 Mar 2003
This review is from: Evil Empire (Audio CD)
Although not as good as the self titled... this is still amazing music. Despite what has been said, it is no less "rage" than their self titled. The lyrics are still just as powerful, if slightly more clever. The criticism, is that the mixing makes Zack's voice not as clear or sharp as in the self titled.
I do really love this album.
Throughout the tracks it is noticable that a lot of emphasis is put on the bass, a definate plus. However there are less cutting guitar riffs.
The best track has to be "Bulls On Parade" tied with "Revolver". They both have attitude and perfect instrument riffs, filled with unmistakable Rage energy and passion.
All of the tracks on the album are great, and there is no actual "bad track."
This is still RATM, pure as they ever were.
Stunning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flippin' excellent, 8 Aug 2008
By 
LM BUTCHER (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evil Empire (Audio CD)
I can't believe it's taken me 12 years write this review but I'm glad I didn't write it sooner. When "Evil Empire" came out in '96, I - like many - was expecting a bombastic array of accessible riffage, heavy ranting and slick production similar to RATM's debut. What we got was a grimy, dark and sinister effort that demonstrated RATM's hiphop and punk influences. This was a shock. And it probably explains why it took me a while to get into. Now tho, this album deals out huge satisfaction. Everything about it is great: Zack de la Rocha's voice is so aggressive, so vitriolic and just so downright convincing; the guitars and bass (oh, the BASS!) are dialled in to just the right frequencies, so each is heard equally, even though they often play the same thing; and the drums - although not jaw dropping - add support and dynamics. The only thing I missed was Tom Morello's speedy guitar shenanigans - but even these aren't missed hugely because the tunes don't cry out for them like their first album did. Walking down the street listening to this album on headphones is what I imagine it's like to be on heroin - makes you feel 10 foot tall and bullets will bounce off you. Together with Mr Bungle's "California" and Soundgarden's "Superunknown", I have my desert island discs (and a stellar slab of 1990's rock). "Evil Empire" is an essential purchase for rock connoisseurs everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out standing, Fresh and very technical., 18 Feb 2002
This review is from: Evil Empire (Audio CD)
How anyone in there right mind can call this album 'sub-standard' is beyond me, I am a die hard Rage fan and I found it amazing a real inspiration with an amazing message which Zach puts across as only he can!!! Tom Morello is at his best( I mean scratching an allen wrench across his strings in people of the sun) Only Tom could use this technique and make it sound good! Tim's bass is outstanding filling the gaps in tom's 'dj' style playing and Brad's drumming makes you mosh untill your head spins!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evil Empire, 12 Dec 2009
By 
S. Hart "Knight Hart" (liverpool, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evil Empire (Audio CD)
Many people don't rate evil empire highly when compared to the rage against the machine's other albums, but as a big rage against the machine fan i feel it it's a excellent album full of raw power.
1.People of the Sun- Great short but quick paced song which makes for an ideal opener.8/10
2.Bulls on Parade- Superb song with a influenctial 'wawa' guitar tune. Some very intresting lyrics and a very unusual but excellent guitar solo for Tom Morello. 10/10
3.Vietnow- Very good song with excellent guitar playing. 9/10
4.Revolver- Fantastic song which goes from quick to slow and back, great drumming from Brad Wilk. 9/10
5.Snakecharmer- Very fast paced song with more great drumming. 8/10
6.Tire Me- Another excellent and fast song with a great bass sound from Tim Commerford,only thing is it's to short and makes you want to hear more. 9/10
7. Down Rodeo- Very good song with a great beat and lyrics. 8/10
8.Without a Face- Proboly the weakest song but still good, really picks up in the last minute. 7/10
9.Wind Below- Excellent and unusual sounding song with a very diverse guitar solo. 9/10
10.Roll Right- Standout track with one of the greatest bass tunes ever and with all round brilliant music talent on show. 10/10
11.Year of tha Boomerang- Excellent guitar and bass playing in this very catchy song. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raw 2nd helping, 5 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Evil Empire (Audio CD)
Evil Empire had so much to live up to after the great success and sheer brilliance of the self titled first album. For me this album is raw and unpolished, which gives it a great depth and enjoyment. However, before buying this album i suggest you buy the self titled first album and 'become a fan' of this fantastic band. Then listening to this album will give your new favourite band even more depth and delight, than what they had already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great progression from the first album!, 21 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Evil Empire (Audio CD)
This is my favourite RATM album. It tries to do something very different from the first and really succeeds.
RATM are miles ahead of Limp Bizkit (Limp really sums them up) or any of those other bands who I hear now (Jan 01). It's very sad that they won't be releasing any more records, now that Zach has departed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evil Empire
Evil Empire by Rage Against The Machine (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews