Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 July 2001
I'm often bemused when I hear people say that the first Cure album one should buy is Pornography, Bloodflowers, etc. Let's face it. Unless you heard one of these albums and know that you like it, you're probably familiar with Cure music that you've heard on the radio...and it surely isn't anything on Pornography or Faith (terrific albums, however). The Cure are in some ways like Queen. Terrific British bands that have never really achieved mainstay status in America-yet I often hear people say they can't believe they know and like so many of their songs. You hear them all the time, you just don't realize it's one great band that has made so much fantastic music. Many people will recognize most, if not all, of the first 13 tracks on this great CD. Robert Smith is at his fizzy best when he sings such songs as "Why Can't I Be You?" "Just Like Heaven," and "Friday I'm in Love." "Love Song," "Pictures of You" and "A Letter to Elise" are among the most popular (and easy to listen to) ballads the band has produced. Songs 13 through 17 are from the largely ignored and underrated "Wild Mood Swings Album" (a perennial least favorite among longtime Cure fans), and the 18th track, "Wrong Number," represents the only new release of this album, and it was the least successful Cure single ever-though personally I think its zany guitar distortion and psychedelic lyrics make for a great song. Unless you already know you want to buy another Cure album, this is the perfect first choice, followed by either "Staring at the Sea" (a collection of singles from earlier Cure albums) or one of the albums that is represented on this disc-"Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me," "Disintegration," "Wish," or "Wild Mood Swings."
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
Brilliant record especially if you want to get into The Cure! I am a fan of their darker, gritty and emotional stuff, however, this makes for a easy and uplifting change. All of their big hits on here, including "just like heaven", "pictures of you", "Friday I'm in love" etc...A good Cure album when you need cheering up!!!! :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2012
A collection of singles from 87 to 97... the cure most successfull period... a beautiful compilation... for all cure newbies is a perfect beginning...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
Compilation of The Cure Singles from 1987 to 1997.

Very very good, but personally I prefer their earlier period so would go for Staring At The Sea instead.

However, if you can afford it, buy both, they're great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2000
This album comprises all released singles between 1987 and 1997, incorporating such modern day classics as "close to me" and "lullaby". This collection is a perfect example of all the best tracks disected from albums released over a span of ten years. Many of these classics, though, have been remixed specially for this collection, so don't fall into the trap of purchasing the album believing them to be exactly as they were when first released. However, the changes are minimal, with the addition of nuances here and there. So if you would want to hear classic tracks "jazzed up" slightly with the aid of latter day technology, this is the perfect choice for you!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
If you feel the way the singer feels then I can only say you are feeling somewhat down...This album will either inspire you to pull yourself up and out of it or just depress you even more ... Beware it is just like everything else they produce.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2003
for those familiar with cure music and have a taste for it as well as those that are just getting a taste, this is a master cd (though it probably will not replace some of your older albums from the 'boys and dont cry' era). but the compilation is brilliant and has an amasing amount of happy energy that escalates from song to song. cleverly put together, it really has thier best songs which awaken your liking for good lyrics and music... you probably will give up the contemporary pop consumption culture of music for quite a while as a result.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2001
This is a brilliant compilation, bringing together all of The Cure's singles from the period when they were hailed the cream of the alternative crop, even winning a Brit award for best band, over 10 years after their inception.
On Galore, nearly every track is a classic, with the exception of 'Hot, Hot, Hot!!!'..
Buy it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
Great collection of singles released by the Cure. A good sequel to the previous singles release "Staring at the sea". You can hear the way the band's music has evolved over the years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
Superb album, if your a border line fan of the Cure this has their most popular hits and is a great starting point for you to explore more of their work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)