Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A dark and brooding masterpiece
Numan's 'Exile' album is a masterpiece of vast brooding music. It could almost be described as a concept album, for every song fits into a theme dealing with aspects of religion, divine intervention, and judgement, telling what Numan himself describes as a horror story. This 1997 album utilises the same stylistic elements as the later and better-known 'Pure' CD of 2001 -...
Published on 28 July 2003 by Mr C M Geeson

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull angst
This is a 3am insomniac self-indugently telling us all what he thought of God when he was at his lowest. The lyrics are adolescent and the music is tedious. Personal demons don't make for great art by themselves; they need help from the intellect and none has been applied in creating these ridiculous bleatings. I know Numan has great artistic instincts but he really needs...
Published on 8 July 2011 by Ed Kingsley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A dark and brooding masterpiece, 28 July 2003
By 
Mr C M Geeson (Easingwold, York, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Exile (Audio CD)
Numan's 'Exile' album is a masterpiece of vast brooding music. It could almost be described as a concept album, for every song fits into a theme dealing with aspects of religion, divine intervention, and judgement, telling what Numan himself describes as a horror story. This 1997 album utilises the same stylistic elements as the later and better-known 'Pure' CD of 2001 - heavy guitars, industrial keyboards, and soaring angry vocals.
'Dominion Day' is a strong opener, and one of the more pacy tracks, while 'Prophecy' has an atmospheric melody and haunting vocals brimming with dark religious imagery. 'Dead Heaven' is one of the most memorable tracks from the album, sounding more like a 'Pure' track than anything else here with it's cutting guitars and mournful piano lead. 'Dark' is worth listening to just for the tolling bell accompanying the verse, but the standout track for me is 'Exile', with it's menacing lyrics and droning synth lines.
This is certainly far removed from the music Numan is famous for. Anyone expecting him still to be making songs like 'Cars' would be shocked to see how much his music has changed, but the curious will be pleasantly surprised. However, anyone who has been following the lesser known paths of his career will not be disappointed with this CD - the songs still sound like they could only ever be performed by Numan, and his vocals are still full of paranoia, with lyrics touching subjects nobody else can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gloomy. Gary. God. And Other Things Beginning With 'G', 15 Feb 2012
By 
Pink (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Exile (Audio CD)
This is a funny one. Not literally of course, it's actually rather gloomy, but in terms of the mixed feelings I have always had about it.

`Exile' was the next album after Numan's spectacular return to form on the remarkable `Sacrifice' but for me did not really continue the upward trend. It's in no way a bad album and is very `Numan' throughout, it's just that there is a same-iness to much of the material and to this day I can't tell most of the tracks apart.

Let's put it like this; if like me, you found `Absolution' a bit dull, then it's unlikely that you'll take to `Exile', as most of the songs sound a bit like that, with perhaps slight variations in tempo. The songs worked well live though, where they were interspersed with older, familiar songs, but listened to as an unbroken stream, the album has always seemed a bit one-dimensional to me.

The general atmosphere is very moody, with sparse instrumentation and distant drum-loops, and many of the tracks never really get going. Only `Dominion Day, `Prophecy' and the monumental `Dark' (one of Numan's finest songs and a long-time personal fave) stand out from the inseparable `Angel Wars', `An Alien Cure', `Exile', `Innocence Bleeding', 'Dead Heaven' et al.

The lyrical content sees Numan railing against God, which neither interests nor repels me personally, but it does wear a bit thin by the end of the album.

As ever though, since Gary Numan can't honestly be compared with anyone else, it's all relative, and the music here is still light years ahead of even his best mid-to-late 80's output, so in that respect I do hold it in high regard.

I guess it's a fan thing really; if you are one, you'll already have at least one copy of `Exile' and will have formed your opinion of it years ago. If you're new to Numan though, I think you'll be much more impressed by `Sacrifice' and `Pure' or any of the pre-1985 releases, which you should check out before filling in the gaps with the less essential albums like this.

Like I said, a funny one this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Numan album which depeche mode fans will love, 2 Feb 2000
By 
Ashley Irons "Ashley" (Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exile (Audio CD)
To be honest this is the second Gary Numan album I have ever purchased. The first being his Best Of 1978-1983 album, which I bought for We Are Glass, Are Friends Electric, I Die:You Die, and We Take Mystery To Bed. Gary's latest offering is a great album in my opinion. Very haunting in parts yet other tracks are quite upbeat and reminded me of Depeche Mode (who I like very much) Top tracks IMO are Dominion Day, Prophecy, Absolution, etc... listen for the bells ringing on "Dark", it will freak you out. BUY IT! This will appeal to both fans of electronic music and rock, but is also a great album for chilling out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius. His best album since Pleasure Principal., 17 Nov 2006
This review is from: Exile (Audio CD)
Some people may find this album dull and repetitive, others will think this is a masterpiece. One thing is for sure, this is NOT pop music! Neither is it Industrial Rock.

This is an album to lose yourself in. It has an amazing dream-like quality to it, which is helped by the similarity of all the songs. Normally this is a very bad thing, but due to the style of music on Sacrifice, it actually makes the album. One song seamlessly blends into the next, without much change in tempo, mood or lyrical themes. This is an album to be listened to as a whole, and to be given your undivided attention.

Numans unique vocals are the best of his career, soft, bass-heavy, and pitch perfect. Proving once and for all that he CAN sing! The down-tempo drum loops become very hypnotic, adding to the trance-like state this album can put you in. The guitars are certainly there, but they do not dominate the songs like on Pure, making this much less Industrial than it's little brother. The synth strings and choirs add the final touch, dark, moody and very atmospheric.

Similar in style to: The Sisters Of Mercy, Depeche Mode, Joy Devision, and Disintegration-era Cure.

Like any of those bands? BUY THIS NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best album ever written by any artist., 12 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Exile (Audio CD)
I have been a Gary Numan fan for as far back as I can remember I have all his albums from his Tubeway Army days to the Sacrifice album. Then came the release of Exile, and as a Numan fan I went and bought it straight away stuck it in my CD player, and I couldn't believe it, it is is probably the best album ever written by Gary or probably one of the best albums ever written by any artist, I have friends who don't listen to much of Gary's stuff but when they heard this album they loved it, if your going to buy any album today make it this one and you will understand why I gave it five stars.
See also - Exile ---Extended *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The exiled godfather of electro-rock returns, 28 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Exile (Audio CD)
This is another great example of Numan's new heavy industrial/electro style. I have been trecking backwards through Numan's musical career after being reintroduced to his music via the Jagged and Jagged Edge albums. I dug out a reference to Exile after purchasing the Pure album and reading a review that suggested Pure was a logical development from the Sacrifice and Exile albums. Another great piece of work for devout Numanoids everywhere, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull angst, 8 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exile (Audio CD)
This is a 3am insomniac self-indugently telling us all what he thought of God when he was at his lowest. The lyrics are adolescent and the music is tedious. Personal demons don't make for great art by themselves; they need help from the intellect and none has been applied in creating these ridiculous bleatings. I know Numan has great artistic instincts but he really needs to go back to the drawing board and leave this obsession alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 26 Oct 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exile (Audio CD)
Not the return to form that many say it is. Very similar drum loops & tempo throughout.. And the vocal melody of "Absolution" is repeated in at least three songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful, 6 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exile (Audio CD)
This is the album that meant I could never be a Gary Numan fan. The theme is repulsive, the music awful, like a teenager been sent to his bedroom for being rude and 'out there' so he dreams up something that he thinks will "really shock them all downstairs." Please don't waste your money on this. I gave it straight to a charity shop ......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gary Attacks God, 8 Jan 2008
By 
M. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exile (Audio CD)
For a guy who claims not to believe in God, Gary Numan devotes a heck of a lot of time writing songs about him. "Exile" is the culmination of the increasing hostility towards the guy in the clouds that had been apparent in his previous few albums. Here practically the whole album is one long anti-religious rant. Now, I'm not particularly religious, but it seems to me that Numan has a real bee in his bonnet and can't focus on any topics other than god-bashing. Or does he think that this is gonna make him seem somehow "edgy" or even "rebellious" (like Marilyn Manson)? Whatever the reasons, this constant focus on one topic does get very tiresome. Couple that with the fact that all the songs on the album sound very similar (those drum loops) and the extremely dark and downbeat tone of the album and you've got a pretty depressing listening experience. Please grow up Gary and get back to making some decent music again. Exile? Infantile more like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exile
Exile by Tony De Vit (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews