Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most compelling album I'd heard in years
While I hope to keep this review as balanced as possible, I have to admit that Grandaddy have become one of my all time favourite bands since I first heard ‘Under the Western Freeway’ 2 years ago.
They blend acoustic guitar, electric guitar, pianos and synths in a uniquely atmospheric fashion. Their songs often flick from grunge guitars, to melodic...
Published on 30 Nov 2002

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ah the memories
goodness,is this album really ten years old,i bought it not that long after it was released and recently spun it a few more times to relive the feelings that i had when i first heard it and for the most part those feelings remain.
Grandaddy were band,(they have now split) who wanted to remain on the small time side of life,they refused large record label deals and...
Published on 16 July 2007 by sean paul mccann


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most compelling album I'd heard in years, 30 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Under The Western Freeway (Audio CD)
While I hope to keep this review as balanced as possible, I have to admit that Grandaddy have become one of my all time favourite bands since I first heard ‘Under the Western Freeway’ 2 years ago.
They blend acoustic guitar, electric guitar, pianos and synths in a uniquely atmospheric fashion. Their songs often flick from grunge guitars, to melodic pianos and off into space age synths in just a few seconds, but it never feels wrong. The songs always seem to have a very definite flow and they rarely lose the listener in a mash of sounds. Tying all this together are some of the most wonderful lyrics ever penned. There are no love songs or tales of teenage angst here, instead you get songs that conjure up visions of ship-wrecked astronauts and sitting on a veranda having a beer and strumming on a six-string. Take the opening few lines of track 9:
“Go progress chrome
They paint the moon today
Some brand new future colour”
It’s original stuff and much more interesting than hearing someone yawn on about how they can’t live without a certain girl/boy.
People who have heard that one of Grandaddy’s biggest influences is ELO maybe put off by this idea; I know a lot of Grandaddy fans reject this statement outright, but I’m afraid it’s true. Don’t panic though, as someone who was brought up with ELO during the 70’s I can assure you we’re not talking ‘Mr Blue Sky’ or ‘Last Train to London’ here. In fact it’s ELO’s 1980 space opera ‘Time’ that seems to have had the most lasting impact on Grandaddy’s song-writing, but it’s fairly subtle. An odd riff or chord that sounds familiar or a few lyrics that are reminiscent of ‘The Rain is Falling’. If you’ve only heard ELO’s chart releases you’ll never notice.
Most people will be drawn in by the rocky ‘AM180’ with its ice cream van siren signalling one of the most distinctive intros ever, but patience reveals this is an album with incredible depth and character. The same goes for their second proper studio album ‘The Sophtware Slump’, which continues the themes established here (only even more space aged) without sounding rehashed.
So give ‘Under the Western Freeway’ a try, you’ll thank yourself in the long run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical equivalent of summer, 30 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Under The Western Freeway (Audio CD)
Listening to 'Under the Western Freeway' is like laying in a field on a cool summer evening. The sunset casts beautiful reds and golds across the horizon and birds still sing in the treetops. Occasionally a bee buzzes past or an aeroplane skims across the otherwise still sky. You can hear it but it's far away. Quite simply, 'UTWF' is sublime. It will not be to everybody's tastes but if you have even a passing interest in music of any kind (but mostly rock) then this album should have a place in your CD collection for a very long time.
It begins with nonphenomenal lineage which sets the scene for the rest of the album and for Grandaddy's overall sound. AM180 is then a surprise as it is quite literally a pop tune, although not one like you have ever heard before.
The title track is possibly the most relaxing, beautiful piece of music you are ever likely to hear, complete with bumblebee. It is hard to pick a favourite as the album is packed with minor classics.
The overall appeal of this album is its obvious musical integrity and overwhelming sense of peace that seems to surround it. You can fall asleep to it, put it on as background music and jump about to it. It all seems to wrapped up in a kind of 'fuzziness', for want of a better word, that can only really be described as essentially summery.
Buy it and never let it go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not like ELO at all., 27 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Under The Western Freeway (Audio CD)
Claims that ELO are Grandaddy's biggest influence are, quite frankly, ludicrous in the extreme. These guys don't really give a shit about most things, let alone the afro perms, coloured strips and fancy violins that prevailed in the aforementioned '70s "rock" band.
The strange thing about this album (and its excellent sequel The Sophtware Slump) is that the first couple of listens produce songs or bits of songs that you either dislike or think are out of place. A little more listening effort reveals the method behind the madness.
Weird album cover, a scrawled lyric sheet and the suggestion that "Lytle" does everything except make the tea complete the package, one which I recommend most heartily to those who only like about 2 ELO songs (including Mr Blue Sky).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very important band, 16 Jan 2003
By 
G. J. Weaver "elweaverino" (Chester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under The Western Freeway (Audio CD)
This is the most recent Grandaddy purchase I have made, and after already hearing and admiring their brilliant sophomore effort "The Sophtware Slump" as well as a few of their e.p.'s, it confirms my opinion that not only are Grandaddy one of the most consistently entertaining acts around, they are also creating music that somehow encapsulates the time we are living in, like no-one else can.
The songs are constructed not only of hypnotic melodies, but lyrics which deal with pre- and post-millenial angst, the uneasy, but bizarrely happy, marriage of technology and nature, and the belief that the world has never been further out of our control. In the hands of anyone else, this stuff would be clumsily, embarassingly post-modern nonsense, but in the hands of this one band, it's like music from an alternate reality.
Grandaddy: doing something strangely right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncomparable, 24 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Under The Western Freeway (Audio CD)
Everything Beautiful is Faraway instantly became one of my all time favourite songs literally as soon as I heard it. In my opinion although Sophtware Slump is a truly great album Under the Western Freeway easily shows the bands true potential and listens to them being recorded as they want to be heard. The only shame is that it has taken Grandaddy this long to be noticed. The only reason I listened to such a masterpiece was due to word of mouth recognition. it is more than time for them to have their moment and undoubtedly their flagship album would be this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 26 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Western Freeway (Audio CD)
I bought this album because A.M. 180 was used as the theme for a Charlie Brooker TV show. It's the stand out track of the album but I was pleasantly surprised to discover at least 3 or 4 other songs of a similar very high quality. As an impulse buy, consider it low risk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Synths revisited., 8 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Under The Western Freeway (Audio CD)
Grandaddy could be easily summarised as "Slow rock with synths"... but it's so much more than that!
I used to dislike synths in rock, probably because it reminded me too much of some crappy stuff from the 80's, but the way Grandaddy uses them made me change my mind: here they add space, they put you in a kind of peaceful trance, they sometimes are funny little noises but without ever being ridiculous.
The final touch, along with the always beautiful tunes, is the singer's fragile voice. Oh my... that voice! Soft and delicate, always on the brink of, but never breaking. It lies on the strata of synths and on the wall of guitars like a light feather on a calm lake.
I first came across Grandaddy on French TV (they played what became their hit single "AM 180") and I've been a fan since then. This record is their first album and contains this track. It is a good one to start with if you don't know the band, and a must have if you already like them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could it be ... my favourite of all ?, 21 Nov 2004
This review is from: Under The Western Freeway (Audio CD)
Five stars is not enough, I award a special crown, and a trumpet & some turkish delight.
I'm so glad I missed my trip into town.
Big Mountains, Big Love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Totally melodic, melancholic and rather spine-chilling lo-fi, 29 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Under The Western Freeway (Audio CD)
I was given this by a friend, to whom i will always be grateful Obvious reference points have to be other US lo-fi bands such as Pavement, Sebadoh and even a touch of Yo La Tengo. Synth is a surprisingly welcome addition to the usual instruments of this genre. In fact the low-tech electronic melodies interact with the more trad guitar/bass/drum to produce a sound which makes you want to pogo and chill out with a spliff all at the same time. Imaginative lyrics, some songs that are really like nothing I have heard before and an overriding sense of empathy with the unpopular/dumb/nerdy kids at school provide a riveting listen. Try it soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ah the memories, 16 July 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Under The Western Freeway (Audio CD)
goodness,is this album really ten years old,i bought it not that long after it was released and recently spun it a few more times to relive the feelings that i had when i first heard it and for the most part those feelings remain.
Grandaddy were band,(they have now split) who wanted to remain on the small time side of life,they refused large record label deals and toured very independently hence fans probably didnt even know that the band were in town so what they wanted they did but in the end it killed them,this debut album is hard to pin down in stles,there are elements of grunge,indie,country and folky moments as well,even poppy segments can be found here.
When you listen to this you are reminded of artists like neil young,mudhonet,weezer,rem and even bands like new order.This album is famous for the song that i have never forgotten in all the years thereafter and thats 'am 180',who doesnt love that song,with its quirky dippy opening to grungey riff and back again.'summer here kids' is also a classic as are 'laughing stock' and a few others to boot,alas the band at times played outside the zone and let a song drag on a minute or two too long and thats annoying but they werent in the industry to do what you expected,a good album but not a masterpiece although masterpiece songs exist within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under The Western Freeway
Under The Western Freeway by Grandaddy (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews