Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volume 5 of 12 looks at 1970 and 1971
Beginning with Tears of a clown (a UK number one hit for Smokey Robinson and the Miracles), this volume contains plenty of high-charting hits. Other UK top ten hits include War (Edwin Starr), The love you save, I'll be there (both Jackson 5), Ball of confusion (Temptations), It's all in the game, Still water (both Four Tops), It's wonderful, I'll say forever my love (both...
Published on 14 Mar 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars cd
gave this rating because its ok not great but okay wouldnt recomend it to anyone wasnt what I expected my own fault
Published 20 months ago by MRS M MILLAR


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volume 5 of 12 looks at 1970 and 1971, 14 Mar 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Motown Chartbusters Vol 5 (Audio CD)
Beginning with Tears of a clown (a UK number one hit for Smokey Robinson and the Miracles), this volume contains plenty of high-charting hits. Other UK top ten hits include War (Edwin Starr), The love you save, I'll be there (both Jackson 5), Ball of confusion (Temptations), It's all in the game, Still water (both Four Tops), It's wonderful, I'll say forever my love (both Jimmy Ruffin), Ain't no mountain high enough (Diana Ross), Stoned love (Supremes) and Abraham Martin and John (Marvin Gaye - in America it was Smokey Robinson and the Miracles who had the hit with this song).
Only four tracks here failed to make the UK top ten. Forget me not (Martha Reeves and the Vandellas) only just missed, while Signed sealed delivered (Stevie Wonder) and It's a shame (Detroit Spinners - known just as the Spinners in America) also made the UK top twenty. Heaven help us all (Stevie Wonder) just made the UK top thirty.
This is a very strong compilation of some of Motown's classic songs from 1970 and 1971, showing that (at that stage) Motown was still the leading soul-pop label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic Sound Of Motown, 3 May 2006
By 
Ian Phillips (Bolton, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Motown Chartbusters Vol 5 (Audio CD)
Excellent compilation, continuing the classic Motown Chartbusters series. This set glides you through some of Motown's most famous classics through the late 1960's through to the dawn of the seventies. The albums opener is the superb The Tears of A Clown, one of Motowns definitive classics by the magnificent Smokey Robinson And The Miracles. Smokey Robinson had once been described by Bob Dylan "as the greatest ever living poet"! Certainly nothing of an understatement and this track remains timeless. This steadily leads to the roaring War by the highly underated Edwin Starr. Offering (at the time) a controversial political statement this is quite possibly Edwin's greatest ever recording and certainly is his most famous and the landmark of his career. Surprisingly The Love You Save by the Jackson 5 is more dated in comparison to the rest of the albums offerings, though Michael Jacksons distinctley young squeaky voice still has undeniable appeal. The fabulous Temptations are featured on here with one of their most supeb recordings offering again social and political statements on the soulful Ball Of Confusion (Thats What The World Is Today). Lead singer Dennis Edwards rocketing voice is complimented by superb backing vocals from the rest of the group. Another of Motowns all-time great groups is The Four Tops where Levi Stubbs puts in a beautiful, moving performance on the sensual ballad, It's All In The Game. Stevie Wonder, who is nothing short of a genius, puts in a sensitive and touching performance on Heaven Help Us All, whilst Jimmy Ruffin was another of Motown's artist thats acheivements were highly underated. His performance on the classic It's Wonderful To Be Loved by You, is timeless! This leads to the triumphant Ain't No Mountain High Enough, by the fabulous Queen of Motown herself - Diana Ross. Nicholas Ashford and Valerie Simpson wanted to capture Diana's sensual speaking voice on record and they do so highly effectivley on this Soul classic. Diana speaks through the verses, oozing sexual charisma and sensuality and the rhythm steadily builds to its rip-roaring, exalting climax. A timeless classic that shoto to the top of the U.S charts and became one of Motowns and indeed Diana's biggest sellers. The infectious musical arrangements on the classic Signed, Sealed, Delivered I'm Yours is complimented by a fantastically upbeat vocal performance from the magical Stevie Wonder, whilst Stoned Love by The Supremes (with the line up of Jean Terrell as lead vocalsit and Mary Wilson and Cindy Birdsong assuming backing duties) was quite possibly their greatest acheivement after Diana Ross left the group for a solo career. It gives hints of the Diana Ross led, Holland Dozier Holland era in the 1960's. One of the great geniuses of Soul music, Marvin Gaye is featured on the breathtakingly beautiful, Abraham, Martin & John where his soulful harmonies remain as exquisite as ever. There is another recording featured by the fantastic Four Tops on the timeless Stil Water (Love), whilst there is a classic cut featured by another of Motowns underated groups, Martha Reeves And The Vandellas with the catchy Forget Me Not, which has all the elements of that classic and distinct Motown sound. The sheer volume and power of Martha Reeves voice is masterful and deserved much better credit than it received at the time. Another infectious number is The Detroit Spinners, It's A Shame whilst The Jackson 5's I'll Be There falls a little on the schamltzy side though is still unforgetably beautiful whilst Jimmy Ruffin's mid tempo classic, I'll Say Forever My Love closes the album on a high.

All of these Motown classics have an undeniable timeless quality to them and shouldn't be ignored as milestones in musical history. From Diana Ross to Marvin Gaye, to The Four Tops and The The Temptations, theses are all quite clearly the definitive soul singers that have set standrs with todays new generation of artists. And the catchy hooks and striking musical arrangements of The Motown Sound is one that will never be captured again as they remain unique to this golden era. An essential compilation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of The Best, 6 July 2008
By 
David R. Bishop "Bishbaby" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Motown Chartbusters Vol 5 (Audio CD)
This one followed barely six months after Vol 4, and spent three weeks as the UK's No 1 album in April/May 1971.

The star track for me is 'Tears Of A Clown' from Smokey Robinson & The Miracles, which had hit No 1 in 1970. It was recorded a few years earlier, and was 'discovered' by a Tamla Motown employee in London. They releaesd the track, and the rest is history. Following the British success, they put it out in America, where it also did the business. The song is still never off the radio, but it is one that I never tire of.

Tamla Motown in London had a fairly free hand in what they released. They knew their market, and they knew what would get airplay. This Chartbuster series can be a good source of British only hits, that you don't always find on American compilations. Marvin Gaye's dreamy wistful version of 'Abraham Martin & John' was huge here, but it is not on many of his hits collections. Martha Reeves & The Vandellas' 'Forget Me Not' was a 1968 B-side in America, but gained British kudos with that camp little version of the reel we all danced.

Jimmy Rufin was nowhere on the US charts, but was consistantly popular in Britain, with two top ten hits on this album.

The Supremes lead by Jean Terrell, were still just ahead of Diana Ross on our singles chart. Both songs evoke the period so well for me.

The Jackson 5 are well represented by two hits, including their four million seller 'I'll Be There'. Also on this volume is The Detroit Spinners 'It's A Shame', which was their only big hit at Motown, before their phenominal run at Atlantic records.

This was the last one of the legendary Chartbuster series to make No 1. Perhaps it marks the end of Tamla Motown's golden period in the UK. There were still more hits and great music to come, but there was more competition and tastes were changing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chart-topping, 24 Feb 2014
By 
S. Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Motown Chartbusters Vol 5 (Audio CD)
Aside from the almost perfect Motown Chartbusters Vol 3, this chart-topping album - which was first released way back in April 1971 - is probably the best set from the long-running series of compilation albums that were released in the UK by EMI, between 1967 and 1982, under the descriptive title of Motown Chartbusters.

It begins powerfully with Smokey Robinson and the Miracles' mid-tempo R&B classic 'Tears Of A Clown, an emotionally-ambiguous, remixed 1967 album track that became a UK No. 1 years later. With its fairground melody, Smokey's ebullient vocals, and charming flute and bassoon intermezzos this clever stomper shows that Bob Dylan wasn't just wagging the dog's tail when he described their lead singer as "America's greatest living poet". It ends defiantly with Jimmy Ruffin - the unlikely British-only Motown hero - singing of renewed love and devotion on the similarly-paced, but lesser-known soul ballad 'I'll Say Forever My Love' (an affecting track, which was evocatively quoted by Dexy's Midnight Runners' Kevin Rowland on 'Reminisce (Part Two)').

Sandwiched in between are the squeaky-voiced Jackson 5's biggest hit - the multi-million selling 'I'll Be There' - and Diana Ross performing the elegant and sexually-charged, Ashford and Simpson-penned U.S chart-topper 'Ain't No Mountain High Enough'; whilst The Four Tops and The Supremes (sans Diana Ross) reinforce their hard-earned reputation as Motown's leading male and female acts, with the Beach Boys-like 'Still Water (Love)', and the sauntering 'Stoned Love'. That compelling bunch are brought together with a powerful trio of songs making social and political statements: Edwin Starr's bombastic pacifist anthem 'War'; Marvin Gaye's wistful version of Dion's 1968 hit 'Abraham Martin & John', and The Temptations' swirling shopping list of woes 'Ball Of Confusion (That's What The World Is Today)'. They showed that the label which had once skilfully advertised itself as "The Sound of Young America" was now growing up a bit.

It should also be noted that there is a remarkable level of consistency across Vol 5's 16 songs. That is reflected in the fact that only four of the chartbusters selected failed to make the UK Top 10 when they were originally released between 1967 and 1970: Martha Reeves and the Vandellas' 'Forget Me Not'; The Detroit Spinners' 'It's A Shame', and Stevie Wonder's 'Signed, Sealed Delivered' and 'Heaven Help Us All'. All of which is probably why the outspoken, political singer-songwriter Billy Bragg described it as one of his favourite albums of all time in a 2013 feature for the music website The Quietus, and why it was the last of the Chartbusters series to reach No. 1. Subsequent efforts were less frequent, and increasingly reliant upon inferior material, demonstrating that Motown had slowly slipped from its impressive peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Give It 5, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Chartbusters Vol 5 (Audio CD)
I Choose The above ratings because: I Love the music and the condition and quality (baring in mind the age) was Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars cd, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Chartbusters Vol 5 (Audio CD)
gave this rating because its ok not great but okay wouldnt recomend it to anyone wasnt what I expected my own fault
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Memories, 21 Feb 2011
This review is from: Motown Chartbusters Vol 5 (Audio CD)
This was my first ever Motown Album, I got it for Christmas in 1970 aged 12, what happy memories this evokes, dancin' around the lounge that mornin' my poor Mum and Dad, miss you both, anyway great album and at this price it seriously can't be beaten, every track an absolute classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad CD, 1 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Chartbusters Vol 5 (Audio CD)
I can now see why the Record Companies Re-Master some of their older but popular music, this is a good CD but it sounded a bit tinny in places, I like most of the tracks so am happy with my purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Motown Compilation, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Chartbusters Vol 5 (Audio CD)
Another great Motown compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dated, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Chartbusters Vol 5 (Audio CD)
okay if you want to get some tracks from this cd but mostly same as many other cd of motown songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Motown Chartbusters Vol 5
Motown Chartbusters Vol 5 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews