Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Beautiful
To be honest, there is little else that can be said about this album. It is, to put it mildy, one of the most relaxing, and basically one of the best, albums that money can buy. Always beautiful, sometimes catchy, sometimes romantic, sometimes haunting, with a stunning voice, Enya is perfect to unwind to. After a stressful day Enya's calming tones are just the job...
Published on 29 Nov. 2003 by Mr. P. McCready

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
This was a present for someone else
Published 6 months ago by Flub


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Beautiful, 29 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Paint the Sky With Stars: The Best of Enya (Audio CD)
To be honest, there is little else that can be said about this album. It is, to put it mildy, one of the most relaxing, and basically one of the best, albums that money can buy. Always beautiful, sometimes catchy, sometimes romantic, sometimes haunting, with a stunning voice, Enya is perfect to unwind to. After a stressful day Enya's calming tones are just the job. Put it on whilst you go to sleep, in the bath, or with a glass of wine and dinner. This album has been worn out on my cd player, and is most probably the cd I have listened to the most often out of all my cds. There are no filler tracks, each is brilliant, and even though it seems human nature to have favourites, I cannot even pick out which tracks I like the least. It is simply that good. If forced to pick a single favourite it would probably have to be Book of Days, but let that take nothing away from the other 15 tracks. The only letdown is it doesn't have enough tracks on, as it could easily have been made into a double cd incorporating some of her earlier album tracks without detracting slightly from the quality, possibly even including the beautiful theme from Harry's Game, dating back to her days with Clannad (check out the Chicane remix of this by the way - interesting!). If you enjoy this, I would also recommend the brilliant 'A Day without Rain' (if nothing else for the absolutely stunning track wild child) and the Fellowship of the Ring soundtrack for the haunting 'May It Be'. This album is a must, and if it were possible, this album would have 6 stars and beyond. Roll on Enya Greatest Hits II!! Please!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enya At Her Very best, 20 April 2003
This review is from: Paint the Sky With Stars: The Best of Enya (Audio CD)
One of the most emotional set of songs I ever heard, every song has its own talant with The Celts being one of the best. I got this album when it came out in 1997 but even now it sounds amazing with ever song better than the last. Each song makes your mind open up and images flash through your mind. This album does not lag at the end like others, the last song is amazing and shows a more deep, evil side. Buy this album is your like Enya, and if you dont then get it any way because its pure magic. 10/10 Top Dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant nostalgia hit for me, 25 July 2006
This review is from: Paint the Sky With Stars: The Best of Enya (Audio CD)
I bought this CD in a abit of a nostalgia run, remembering when I had a self-recorded tape of it, and a lonely little girl used to sit and make up intricate fantasy worlds to the tracks on this album.

It's just as fantastic as I remembered, those fantasy worlds are coming right back, and I feel inspired and alive agin. Amazing what some music can do for a girl, huh?

Enyas music is beautiful, ethereal and haunting, ranging from quit dark sounding tracks to delicate creations.

A must for anyone who loves beauty and beautiful voices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars By Far the Brightest Star, 28 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Paint the Sky With Stars: The Best of Enya (Audio CD)
This 16-track compilation is the perfect way to get acquainted with one of the best-selling female entertainers of all time. Paint the Sky with Stars compiles 14 selections; from her debut album (Watermark) to her 1995 output (The Memory of Trees), plus two completely new cuts that sits perfectly well with her old ones. I've always thought of Enya as an album artist, and she mainly is, but she also happens to put out great singles such as the rhythmic flow of "Caribbean Blue," "Anywhere Is" and of course is perhaps biggest hits "Orinoco Flow." This album manages to gather some of her finest moments; from the chanting ballad of "The Celts" to the lilting new cut "Only If." I'm so glad that they included the lovely "Boadicea" and especially the enchanting standard "Marble Halls." All in all, this compilation is the perfect introduction to one of music's finest visionaries. It thrills, but at the same time, keeps you warm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paint the sky with stars, 21 Jan. 2004
By 
Reno (Europe (I'm not gonna say where)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paint the Sky With Stars: The Best of Enya (Audio CD)
There's many stars on in the sky but Enya is the brightest by far. She launched her career in 1987 with the soundtrack to the BBC serie The Celts, but she career actually took of in 1987.
She took the world with storm with her smash hit "Orinoco Flow" and her "debut" album launched in the 50 for more than a year.
"Watermark" the title song is perhaps one of the most beauitful compositions ever composed and "Storms In Africa" is a wonderful journey that takes you to an exotic and relaxing place. Both titles are also included on this compilation.
"Shepherd Moon" came in 1991 and it actually topped "Watermark", it includes the wonderful "Caribbean Blue" without risking, taking the same path as "Orinoco Flow". The Memory Of Trees came in 1995 and A Day Without Rain followed in late 2000. This compilation contains many of Enya's finest moments such as the sweet ballads: "Shepherd Moon", "China Roses" and "Marble Halls". And to the dynamic "Orinoco Flow", "Anywhere Is" and "Book Of Days". And on to the classics, "Watermark", "Boadicea" and "The Celts".
As much as I love this compilation there were some songs that were left out such as, from Watermark: Exile, Evening Falls.
Shepherd Moon: How Can I Keep From Singing, No Holly For Miss Quinn. Memory Of Trees: Pax Deorum, Ahaír Ar Neamh. A Day Without Rain: Wild Child, Deora Ar Mo Chroí. An from the Lord Of The Rings soundtrack: May It Be and perhaps Aníron.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paint the Sky with Five Stars, 19 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Paint the Sky With Stars: The Best of Enya (Audio CD)
The best of of the best from the very best.How better can you get.This is the
"Manchester United" of albums. Every song is like a star player each etched with different skills as per musical composition, ensemble, and memorable lyrics- one of which is my email signature"Ever and always, Always and Ever,Time gave both darkness and dreams to you. Now you can see Spring becomes autumn,leaves become gold, falling from view.
Even if this album were priced at £100, I'd still get it; also one of the few albums, I'd regard as a future heirloom. What's good about it is that you can select any track;Be it Far and Away, China Roses, Storms in Africa etc etc.Too good;I can readily see the 2nd volume of this "Best of" Collection in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 9 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Paint the Sky With Stars: The Best of Enya (Audio CD)
Enya's best album, so soothing and beautiful. You'll never be not be able to sleep again with this. as a child growing up in our house we always had Enya on standby, & this album remains the greatest. With most of well know tracks included & over 20 of them at that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ever flowing..., 20 Dec. 2005
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paint the Sky With Stars: The Best of Enya (Audio CD)
If you had but one Enya CD to buy, this would be it. You'd be missing much of the richness that comes through on her other albums (hence, I actually advocate you buy all of them in addition to this!), but given limited time and budget, this one is a great collection of many of the essentials of Enya's work.
This is one of my 'desert island discs' (were I to be stranded on a deserted island, this is one of ten the CDs I would opt to take).
This CD contains the highlights from her albums `The Celts', `Watermark', `Caribbean Blue', and `The Memory of Trees'. There are a few variations, however. The rendition of `Book of Days' on this, which was used in the cinematic film `Far and Away', is in English on this CD, whereas on the original album it is in Gaelic.
Classic tracks from the albums are here; this is her 'greatest hits so far' album (I hate the idea of a 'greatest hits' album for a still-productive artist, as if the best is behind). `Orinoco Flow' was her first 'smash' hit (having achieved some notice and popularity from `The Celts', it actually took this song to break into the charts and mainstream notice). The music from this song is flowing and haunting, with an interesting combination of celtic influences and modern recording techniques. Other popularly known songs include `Caribbean Blue', a song in a similar style; `Storms in Africa', an interesting juxtaposition of African and celtic rhythms with interesting lyrical content; `Anywhere is', likewise with overdubs and haunting strains, but a determined beat that is hopeful and progressive.
Lesser known songs from her albums include `The Celts' and `Boadicea', both used as backing tracks for the BBC series on the history of the Celtic peoples.
There are two new tracks on this album, too: `Only if...', which is upbeat with a strong tempo and lyric, and `Paint the Sky with Stars', a beautiful, subdued, melancholy tune which brings the trademark celtic sadness to bear on this, the title track.
Produced with husband Nicky Ryan, this is an excellent collection that gives both a good introduction and a good musical synopsis of a truly remarkable artist, one who has combined ancient and modern in quite innovative ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Spectacular Album, 18 Mar. 2002
This review is from: Paint the Sky With Stars: The Best of Enya (Audio CD)
This is one of Enya's finest albums in her long and successful career. It displays 16 of her best tracks, including the lively "Orinoco Flow" and the slow and haunting "Marble Halls".
A brilliant new age album from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy lady to love..., 22 Jan. 2003
By 
Neal Reynolds (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paint the Sky With Stars: The Best of Enya (Audio CD)
I'm asked on occasion to explain exactly why I feel so immersed in Enya's music. There must be easier things to explain!
She certainly is not likely to appeal to those who want their music loud and with incessant beats of rhythm. Enya's music is for those who find beauty in solitude, in introspection, in breathing in the nature around us. Her music is for those who are willing to shut their eyes and be transported to a mythical green and misty land.
Again, she is not going to appeal to those who feel the words are the important thing, because often, her words are likely to be in language you can not understand. This is fine, because that way the meaning of words are not going to interfere with the beauty of their sound.
This is an introduction to one of the most heavenly women of song, so just settle back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews