Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best since 1975
This raw slice of blues and rock n' roll simply has to best the best thing that Bob Dylan has come up with since "Blood On The Tracks".
The lyrics are dark and haunted, at times even bitter and resigned. But, in case you doubted it, "Time Out Of Mind" proves that Bob Dylan can actually sing. His phrasing is perfect, and his vocals more powerful than you can imagine...
Published on 7 Dec 2002 by Docendo Discimus

versus
8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An honest review (3.5 stars)
This album got much hype on its release and continues to do so. I revisited it last week and have to say that i was pleasantly surprised there are some genuinely brilliant and exciting tracks. "Love Sick" is just genius, a haunting song with many different parts, the chorus rocks, expertly played but not devoid of feeling which can often happen when world class musicians...
Published on 14 Oct 2005 by P. Sharpe


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best since 1975, 7 Dec 2002
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
This raw slice of blues and rock n' roll simply has to best the best thing that Bob Dylan has come up with since "Blood On The Tracks".
The lyrics are dark and haunted, at times even bitter and resigned. But, in case you doubted it, "Time Out Of Mind" proves that Bob Dylan can actually sing. His phrasing is perfect, and his vocals more powerful than you can imagine if you've only ever heard him do "Blowin' In The Wind" in 1963.
Highlights include "Love Sick" ("I'm sick of love", Dylan sings), "Tryin' To Get To Heaven", "Not Dark Yet" and "Dirt Road Blues" - which actually is a genuine blues, unlike about a thousand other songs with the word "blues" in the title.
But my absolute favorite song off this album is "Make You Feel My Love", easily one of the most beautiful love songs ever written.
These songs have it all, both melody and powerful, intelligent lyrics, and Dylan's dark, raspy vocals suit them perfectly.
Bob Dylan has certainly made more influential albums than this one (no one can be expected to revolutionize popular music more than once, after all), but he never made a better one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch out for faulty vinyl., 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is awesomely good. The best Dylan album since Blood on the Tracks.

BUT, this latest (overdue, when you consider how much the original pressing has been going of on a certain auction site) pressing isn't perfect. Firstly, the sound is excellent, but my copy has a couple of manufacturing faults - small scratch on Cold Irons Bound and a missing label. Both are relatively minor, but are irritating examples of poor quality control. I will live with the copy I have, but others should be mindful that 'Music on Vinyl' is no 'Mobile Fidelity'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars snowstorm and moonblind - a state of grace, 20 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
The tracks on this album were meant to have been recorded during a snowstorm in Minnesota (according to Jim Dickinson who plays keyboards on many of them.) I like that story as 'Time Out Of Mind' has the feeling of being a few grim steps removed from the world.
This is a beautiful, soul weary record. Anger and acceptance, a distance from the stupidity of people, a feeling of time running out. A disconnectedness. And yet it is one of the most heartfelt evocations of (unrequited) love and longing I have ever listened to.
'Not Dark Yet' is the album's emotional core. There is a sense of resignation to suffering and pain, and you know that the person who wrote these songs is for real, they are about to face something which will truly bring them to the end of their rope. The unhealed scars, the loss of faith in humanity, the search for 'heaven's door'.
I don't believe that Daniel Lanois's production at all denigrates the piece. On the blues numbers particularly there is genius going on in the mix. It's not raw and primitive but is alive and breathing and darkly muttering to itslef.
The closer 'Highlands' is hypnotic in its intensity, where every word is given extra meaning by the tone and nuance of Dylan's voice. (Something which is unique to him.) It's uplifting in its isolation and sense the self going it alone.
It does not surprise me that Dylan had a near encounter with death four months after. There is a palpable sense of mortality here.
This is an album of heartbreak and pain, where the hurt and the loss become something between numbness and a state of grace.There are very few songwriters who can bring that feeling across but Dylan can. It's music of the darkened road, the thin, thin line. This is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In awe of this album, 12 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
The depth and class of the album is first masked by it's subtlety and understatement, but this grows to be it's great strength, for those prepared to listen. The new Love and Theft is a good upbeat album, with Bob sounding like he's enjoying himself. Time Out Of Mind is borne of something darker and more brooding. Songs like Trying to Get to Heaven and the haunting Lovesick are more than worthy of mention but the bass and funk of Cold Irons Bound are a revelation. Sit down by yourself with your favourite tipple and listen to Not Dark Yet. Tingling and beautiful, subtle and engrossing. It creates an atmosphere in an empty room, the music is almost tangible.
You could say this is one of his best albums, but I don't like to compare. How can you compare albums thirty five years apart. I have heard a lot of Dylan. I am only in my twenties and so have not followed the story from the start. I am no aged Dylanite who believes he has monopoly of opinion on all things Dylan. This is a very good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For me this album just keeps getting better., 12 Jan 2013
By 
J. Fletcher - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
I admit it I'm a huge Dylan fan ..., I've just about bought every album he's released as it has been released since 1981...., I also have all the official releases before this date and a ridiculous number of bootlegs.
Well so much rubbish has been written about just how good recent Dylan albums have been ..., well believe me when I say as of Jan 2013 this is chronologically the last of the truly great Dylan albums.
There have been some half decent albums since of course, but this one is truly great.
When I bought it (on the day of release) I was so pleased as Dylan had been coasting for quite a number of years (since Oh Mercy!)
At the time I thought it was good, but as the years have passed it just keeps growing on me ..., I now consider it as one of Bob's best; its definitely one of a handful of most played albums.
Worth buying just for 'Cold Irons Bound' but over time it will become a much reached for CD I'm pretty sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A jaded masterpeice, 30 Aug 2006
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
Lets deal with the term masterpeice. It's over-used but lets get a working definition. Lets define it as an example of a craftsman working at the peak of their powers.

Dylan has amazed and frustrated during his career. Low points have not been in short-supply and a stream of 1980s albums until 1989's "Oh Mercy" were bewildering and disappointing.

1997 saw the release of this stone-cold classic produced by the excellent Daniel Lanois who makes it sound like it was recorded next to a swamp.

"Love Sick" is the grumpy storming opener which sets the tone of a man aghast at the futility of that around him and feels somehow left behind but not wanting to move on.

There is beauty to be found here. "Standing In The Doorway", clocking in at around 7 minutes - is a stunner and alongside "Not Dark Yet" and "Trying To Get To Heaven", provides a contrast to the 12 bar workouts.

"Cold Irons Bound" is devestating and "Highlands" is a 16 minute lazy stroll that you would only tolerate from Mr Dylan but even he might be pushing it a little. But forgive him this time. Here he delivers his best record in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Dylan - Time Out of Mind (Columbia/1997), 22 Jan 2006
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
I've listened to this recording literally hundreds of times and never tire of it. In my opinion, it captures Dylan at his lyrical and musical best. As a writer of ballads, he is surely unsurpassed. And this album demonstrates that: "You took the silver, you took the gold/ You left me standin' out in the cold... I'm tryin' to get closer/ But I'm still a million miles from you". A devotion to the blues (those old Document label recordings) - both musically and lyrically - is in evidence (esp. Dirt Road Blues), and mercifully, the maestro's croaky (but equally evocative) vocals are rendered nicely by Daniel Lanois' unique approach to the stereo mix. And every song is different. If there is one quibble - and it is only a very minor one - it is with the last number, Highlands, which can seem a trifle over-long. Otherwise, I urge you to hear this record. It's his masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, deserves 6, 31 Aug 2006
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
Dylan has spent his entire career hiding. Clever lyrical wordplay and cryptic press conference answers have served as a tool to avoid sharing himself with the world, a barrier between his private self and his millions of fans hungry for even the tiniest of Dylanesque insights.

Time Out of Mind is an album written by a sick man who is tired of running; old and weary, he has finally decided that it's time for his fans to have those insights they've been desperate for for the the best part of 30-40 years. He is explaining how he feels inside in plain English, and it is on his own terms.

This album is nothing more than a man baring his soul for anyone who cares to listen. It's the fact that, after years of people scrutinising his lyrics for translation, he has written songs whose intentions no one can mistake, and that is what makes this album so beautiful. I have never heard an album so emotional and it is a desperate, gutwrenching, raw emotion; two outstretched hands looking for a passer-by to care.

The album starts off so deliciously bleak; Lovesick struts so broadly and his vocals fit the music perfectly, emphasised with a hint of digital effect. Dirt Road Blues is a footstomping and totally enjoyable rocker, whereas Standing in the Doorway is nothing more than a cry for help. Not Dark Yet could possibly be the most beautiful and sad song ive ever heard, as it rolls sluggishly like a funeral march; it sounds as if it was written by a man expecting to die soon, and too soon. A contender for, not only the best song on the album, but also the best song ever.

Cold Irons Bound is another landmark track, whose thumping arrangement stands so starkly against the two other tracks either side of it. Can't Wait is a brilliant song, not only for its catchy simplicity, and it is as frank and self-explanatory as any of the other tracks. Highlands is long, but wonderful in its laziness and whimsy; I cant help but grin when listening to this song, especially for the mini restaurant soap opera halfway through.

Dylan's aging and strained voice is perfect for the emotions and themes of this album. It is an old man's album, and he has an old man's voice. He talks candidly about his emotions, as if the illness he fell into before this album had made him realise that this may be his last chance to say how he feels, to set the record straight. Lanois' production is nothing special, the mix and indeed the sound of the instruments remains pretty much constant throughout and it is more a comment on Dylan's songwriting, as opposed to Lanois' producing skills, that every song has been made to sound so different to the next (and it really is a sign of genius).

Music is emotion, and I would recommend this album to anyone who is interested in hearing one of the greatest albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time out of Mind: Bob Dylan - Not dark yet for Dylan, 25 July 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
This 1997 album was the one that got me interested in Dylan. Hearing it upon release I was instantly captivated by the shuffling backbeats and the world weary craggy moan that told tales of love and loss. And I just loved the songwriting. It set me off on a journey through Dylan's back catalogue with all its highs and lows. But for all the genius albums he has released it is this one that I still retain the greatest affection for.

Coming off the back of a run of three not so good albums (Under The Red Sky, Good As I've Been To You and World Gone Wrong), this album marked a bit of a commercial and artistic renaissance for this iconic artist. Reuniting with producer Danny Lanois he went into the recording studio armed with a host of newly penned songs (his first album of all original material since 1990's Under The Red Sky) and a talented band to make them reality. Moving totally away from his recent folk/country blues output, this is a sound more pleasing to the modern ear. Dylan accepts that his voice (never exactly the best in the world) is now broken by years of punishment, and he mournfully croaks his way through a series of touching songs. Lanois' production is totally sympathetic to Dylan's voice, and he sounds great as a result, delivering a set of tracks that are just full of deep down emotion.

It's slow blues full of distortions and shuffling drums. It's slick, and some might say too slick, but I always find it packs a punch and feels quite raw. Especially with Dylan's voice.

5 stars from me. Recommended to anyone who likes music full of expression and emotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new fan, 5 Aug 2005
By 
Mr. C. J. Bird (Burntwood, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Out of Mind (Audio CD)
Hi, I am a new fan of Bob Dylan. As I am only 22 it is taking alot of time to discover Dylans work. Listening to his 60's music I never thought of buying his later work. However I am glad I brought this album. I thought it was great. I notice is voice is alot more smokey now but I like that rough edge and the album seems personal which makes it more interesting to listen too. With a blues feel to it I think this is one of his greater works. As a fan of Lennon and other older musicians I noticew they can loose their spark but for Dylan it is refreshing to see he still keep the talent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time Out of Mind
Time Out of Mind by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews