Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this any more!!!
Not even Ocean Colour Scene, who peaked with this late 90's britpop classic. The moment Steve Cradock starts with the opening to Hundred Mile High City, to the crescendo finish of It's A Beautiful Thing, the music is ebgulfing. Not since the the late 70's era of Queen and the Sex Pistls could a frontman be so charismatic. Not since Clapton or Hendrix could guitar sound so...
Published on 13 Feb 2001

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pat Arnold pops up and Brendan's at the desk....
As a follow up to 1996's leaner "Mosely Shoals", this feels like a sprawling album with a folky feel in places.

"Hundred Mile High City" sounded like it and was used in a Brit-gangster flick and is a striking opener. "Travellers Tune" is a retro-stomp that is quite appealing. "Half A Dream Away" is a pleasant enough bit of ska-lite with a lovely trombone slot...
Published on 4 Sep 2006 by Merry Terry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travellers Tunes!!, 6 Jan 2001
By 
This review is from: Marchin' Already (Audio CD)
After reading other reveiws of this album I felt I had to write one so as to mention the brilliant "Travellers Tune" which in my opinion is the best song on this album, only second to "hundred mile high city". "Travellers Tune" ROCKS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums from one of the best bands., 18 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Marchin' Already (Audio CD)
Marchin' already includes an all time great Hundred mile high city which featured in Lock stock.... The album is the best, listen to it a few times to get the full experience.Top notch music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy piece of guitar genius, 22 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Marchin' Already (Audio CD)
what can i say hundred mile high city rocks. steve cradock is one of the best guitarists there is. The album is just pure class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect follow-up to Moseley Shoals, 28 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Marchin' Already (Audio CD)
I bought this album when it first came out and haven't looked back since. This is a brilliant album - right from the storming opener, 'Hundred Mile High City', right through the beauty of 'Better Day', the superb 'northern soul' of 'Travelers Tune', The chilled 'Half a Dream Away'right through to the end with 'Beautiful Thing. The thought that 4 artists of such genius could come from the same town just beggars beleif. My only criticism would be that Marchin' Already does not cover the entire emotional spectrum that OCS are capable of. For that you need to delve into their back catalogue of amazing b-sides or check out the album 'B-sides, Seasides & Freerides'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT... but not quite the best., 14 Oct 2005
This review is from: Marchin' Already (Audio CD)
Well this album is from the OCS peak era (having said that flying squad is fantastic)and i reckon is probably there second best album after Moseley Shoals. With a good range of tracks including the amazing Hundred Mile High City, Better Day, Travellers Tune, Get Blown Away and It's A Beautiful Thing, this album really works. For me the stand out track Debris Road makes it only a whisker away fom Moseley and quite frankly if you don't own this album shame on you. Buy it, Best band of the 90's come on down !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OCS live @ their peak, 6 April 2014
By 
Tim Parker (Baltimore, MD) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marchin' Already (Audio CD)
Live @ Sterling Castle DVD worth the price of admission, though admittedly steep! Band is sharp at the peak of their powers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool disc........., 2 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marchin' Already (Audio CD)
great album from a quality band! OCS's third album."100 mile high city" was worth the purchase price on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Special Edition Album for Years, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marchin' Already (Audio CD)
once I opened this I knew it was going to be good. the hardback book and all the b-sides. great release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 12 Feb 2013
By 
B. M. Spice - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marchin' Already (Audio CD)
this was another present for my son for Christmas. He is very pleased with his choice. Thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of a genre, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: Marchin' Already (Audio CD)
I had this album when I was 17 and loved it for the day I caught the train and riverboat song. Listened to it again recently and cant believe I didn't appreciate the other tracks - 40 past midnight and get away, to name 2. Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marchin' Already
Marchin' Already by Ocean Colour Scene (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews