Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly diverse and skillful breakbeats
This album is my favorite drum'n'bass album of all time. For me, and for any true fan of this genre, this album will never be samey, and never dull. The atmospheric tunes, coupled with clever use of samples, breathtaking basslines, and perfectly constructed beats make this record a must for any serious collector. More chilled than many drum'n'bass artists such as...
Published on 30 April 2000

versus
0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sounds like music in a tyre shop
Horns, rattles, bumps and squeaks; it sounds like a Kwik Fit Fitter's paradise. Tools rattle in their boxes and the occasional rumble as a tyre falls to the ground. Not Enough Night
Published on 23 Feb 2012 by Dan Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly diverse and skillful breakbeats, 30 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Logical Progression (Audio CD)
This album is my favorite drum'n'bass album of all time. For me, and for any true fan of this genre, this album will never be samey, and never dull. The atmospheric tunes, coupled with clever use of samples, breathtaking basslines, and perfectly constructed beats make this record a must for any serious collector. More chilled than many drum'n'bass artists such as Grooverider, and more interesting and diverse than the ubiquitous Roni Size, this is dreamy, trippy, sophisticated, and yet seriously funky and danceable too. All in all, this album really summarises everything that is brilliant about drum'n'bass. If you like chilled, intelligent drum'n'bass, you probably already own this album, if not, then you really should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want the best D & B of the last 15 years? Look no further..., 8 April 2003
This title is an absolutely sensational summary of the greatest drum and bass tracks of the last decade and a half. The double CD compilation is understandably focused on LTJ Bukem, not only because he is the producer of the album but also because he has dominated the scene for so long and created an unrivalled number of classic tunes himself. If you like ambient, melodic and most importantly listenable drum and bass, then this is the CD for you. It combines fantastic classics such as Bukem's 'Music' and 'Horizons' with great work from Peshay, Seba & Lotek and great vocals from MC Conrad on Disc One. These two CD's represent an all-round brilliant introduction for the newcomer to drum and bass, and a fantastic collection of classic and innovative dance music for the drum and bass enthusiast. Buy it now!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure class, 6 Jan 2004
By 
Music is a matter of taste and this album is a cold bottle of red stripe after a day in the sun on a building site . I was fortunate enough to get most of these tunes on e.p before the album came out, i have this album on vinyl under the stairs and i havent listened to it since i stopped mixing, but i heard horizons the other day and it had the same impact as it did all that time ago. Most albums have a couple of main presents then a load of stocking fillers, this album doesnt know about stocking fillers. The tunes from LTJ himself are amoungst the finest ever made. Music ( wicked ) Demons Theme (oh my gosh) Horizons (forget about it, game over). Then there are producers like PFM bringing you the western,amoungst others.
Bukem has always been ahead of the game i remember going to Dance 93 at the Brighton Centre and half the crowd were walking around saying Bukem had ruined the vibe and the other half knew that they were listening to something special. What i mean by that is that music is a matter of taste, those with taste liked Bukem those without liked Mickey Finn and the likes. That is no disrespect to him or the countless other D.J's like him but with Bukem you really got the feeling that he didnt play or make music to make money or please crowds. He played what he loved and what he felt passionately about and that is why Logical Progression is such a good album. These arent tunes that Bukem liked, these are a series of tunes that bukem loved, compiled over about 5 years. And i still hate him for holding them back on dub plate for 10 months at a time!!!!!!! Bukem i salute you you are a genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1996 edition review, 5 Jun 2011
By 
K. Statham (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logical Progression (Audio CD)
What can I say. I don't really like drum and bass that much, but I've had this since 1996 and it sounds as fresh today as it did then. I have friends who aren't into DnB but love this album. why?
Simply because it is a work of Art. The tracks on this album are amazing, such wonderful creativity, you simply have to get this 1996 edition. I've been into dance music since 1989 and of all the music I've heard, this album is in the top ten. Timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Logical Progression, The Clue's In The Title, 11 Aug 2013
This review is from: Logical Progression (Audio CD)
In a time in the mid nineties when Jungle was dark and gangster themed, a light, jazz tinged mellowness emerged in the form of Logical Progression.

To me it's the antedote to gloomy days. Even when it rains you'll be washed away in coolness and uplifting vibes. From Peshay's 'Vocal Tune' to Bukem's 'Horizons' they are all finely crafted works of drum n' bass sublimity.

Bukem's introductory 'Demon's Theme' is an amazing feat of deep sub bass, amazon jungle vibes into a drop into a cosmic soundscape in it's third quarter. A fusion of styles that only Bukem can set up with such talent and expertise. A track worth listening to alone.

Thumping sub-bass, blue note mellowness and intricate dnb beat patterns are what you'll get with this 2 disc compilation. This is what put me firmly on the road to liquid dnb discovery. It not only stands out as a mind blowing memory but a bench mark of what was so influencual in the dnb era of it's time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars D'n'B's seminal moment, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logical Progression (Audio CD)
For me, this is the best drum and bass album ever made, and by a long way. Other Bukem albums are great, in particular 'Journey Inwards' is another favourite of mine. But this is the most atmospheric, spaced out, absorbing D'n'B offering I know of.

Bukem's take on D'n'B is quite distinct. He has very clear jazz influences; more prominent on 'Earth' and 'Journey Inwards' than on Logical Progression, but in Logical Progression we witness his very best adoption of atmospheric ambient music.

It's difficult to pick out stand out tunes, but 'one and only', 'so long' and 'airtight' are probably the pick of a truly excellent selection. It's smart without being cold, sensual without being cheesy, atmospheric whilst remaining astonishingly accessible and engaging. Like what Michael Mayer's 'Immer' did for minimal, and Dj Tiesto's 'In Search of Sunrise' did for trance, Bukem showed that Drum and Bass can be intelligent, filled with heart and soul, and be every bit as captivating as music performed with "real" instruments. It is, quite simply, a work of musical mastery.

Bukem has released many mix albums now, which display in varying degrees a spacey/jazzy take on drum and bass. He remains my favourite D'n'B dj and producer and I hope we can look forward to many, many more years to come of his hypnotic but warm and sensual style.

It's an easy 5/5 for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 15 Sep 2009
By 
David I. Jones (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Logical Progression (Audio CD)
The first time I ever heard this album ( thanks Jethro !! ) it completely blew me away. I went and bought it immediately ( 10 years ago ) and it set me off on a fantastic musical journey discovering the whole genre of Drum and Bass. I still come back to it again and again and marvel at its quality and diversity ... ranging from tight sophisticated breakbeat mixes to wonderfully uplifting soulful moments ... One and Only is just a complete classic ... guess D+B is not everyones cup of tea but this album will always live on for me .. just fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary music from a legendary artist....., 28 Jun 2005
By 
'Logical Progression Level One' is the one production-set that LTJ Bukem remains truly renowned for. Although Danny Williamson has pioneered his GLO label, with associates, to dizzy heights of production and variety, with the 'Producer' series, 'Progression Sessions' series and associate labels 'Earth' and 'Cookin' to name a few, this first volume of 'Logical Progression' is where it all took off. To call it a digital masterpiece would be an understatement. Produced in 1995, it is a journey through ambient jungle / drum & bass with atmospheric backrounds, haunting vocals and progressive, technical beats. The mood swings from deep and melancholy in tracks 'Music' (LTJ Bukem) and 'The Western' (a PFM track) to joyous and uplifting, check tracks 'Above and Beyond' (CD1) and 'Bringing me Down' (CD2). With two discs of absolutely magical classics, this pioneering release from the one and only LTJ is a MUST HAVE for any discerning listener of jungle drum & bass /electronic music and all those with an open mind. I have owned Logical Progression for years and yet it still retains that rare quality that makes me return to it time and time again, even though I am so familiar with the music. There aren't many CD's that have that effect and especially not in the 'drum & bass' genre. Purchase now as I'm sure in time, these releases will become collectables....
If you like this try: LTJ Bukem: Producer 05
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logical Progression (Audio CD)
Drum and bass in its purest form, just as it emerged from jungle. though its a CD, sounds like analogue.

2 Cds also, bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logical Progression (Audio CD)
Perhaps the greatest D&B album ever! I listen to this over and over - it still sounds pure, fresh and inventive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8d84ca8)

This product

Logical Progression
Logical Progression by L.T.J. Bukem (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews