Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pixies, 21 Nov 2003
By 
chris (East Dereham, Norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death To The Pixies (Audio CD)
Just thought I'd add a note, quite a few of the songs on Death to the Pixies are slighlty different to the original album versions such as gigantic, velouria...this is because the pixies were made to make 2 recordings of the songs, one for the album and 1 for the single release. The record label made them do it so people would buy their albums and their singles! Hope this info comes in handy when coming to choose if you want to buy this album or not! Its a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long Live The Pixies, 31 Oct 2003
This review is from: Death To The Pixies (Audio CD)
Producing a relevant track list for any band's 'Best of...' album is troublesome, but for a band as eclectic, turbulent and melodic as the Pixies, it becomes an almost impossible task. Throughout their career, the Pixies have had a powerful influence on popular music, with many bands adopting their bitter-sweet Spanish-tinged pop-rock (David Bowie famously claimed Nirvana's 'Nevermind' was a complete rip-off of the Pixies style). So how do you begin compiling a seminal collection?
The 17 tracks that make up 'Death to the Pixies' span their career from 1987 to 1991, and their 5 studio albums are all represented. It would be easy for me to list tracks that I felt should have been included, but as a single CD it holds together quite well.
A cover of the Surftones' 'Cecilia Ann' kicks the album off, and throughout the next 16 tracks we are treated to such classics as the surf-inspired 'Here Comes Your Man', the manic 'Debaser', Kim Deal's trance-like bass playing on 'Gigantic', and the haunting 'Where is my Mind?'
There is no ultra-rare, never-before-heard track to entice those who've already bought all the released albums, although some may wish to purchase it for the marginally enhanced audio.
I would recommend 'Doolittle' or 'Surfa Rosa/Come on Pilgrim' as anybody's first Pixies album, however 'Death to the Pixies' serves as a well-structured look at the career of one of the most revered bands of the past 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, 2 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Death To The Pixies (Audio CD)
Forget all the pompous retro-drivel you constantly read about The Pixies. Put to one side the fact that music journalists insist on giving them jingoisitic and meaningless labels such as "seminal", "influential", "groundbreaking" or whatever - in simple terms, this is a compilation of some of the finest rock songs you will ever come across.
You want loud - Planet of Sound
You want melodic - Digging for Fire
You want powerful - Debaser
You want soulful - Caribou
Every constituent part of what makes outstanding rock music is evident in abundance throughout the entirety of this album, with all those elements magnificently distilled in to one or two standout tracks that demand to be hailed as simply awesome - Tame, for instance, deserves to be considered one of the most significant tracks (I hesitate to call it a song given the grossly distorted quality of Charles's vocals...!) of the last twenty five years.
If you have to raise the funds to purchase this album by selling every other CD or piece of vinyl you have ever owned, do it - everything else just pales into insignificance by comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST ALBUM YOU WILL EVER HEAR, 17 Sep 2001
By A Customer
I am not an old school Pixies fan. I first borrowed this CD off a friend last year having noticed that magazines such as NME continuously referred to the band as 'the most influencial..'. I was also going through a Nirvana phase and read that Teen Spirit was supposed to be a rip off of The Pixies. I don't normally like songs the first time I hear them but as soon as I played Debaser I left it on repeat for the next week. It was, and still is, the best and most perfect song i have ever heard. Tracks like Wave of Mutillation eased me into their harsh, yet orderly and in a different way catchy music. I soon realised that every song on this record, whilst all sounding completely different, is absolutely brilliant. I have personal favourites of Gouge Away, Holiday Song and Monkey Gone to Heaven - but yours will be different. If you have never heard of the Pixies and to do already possess Doolittle, Surfer Rosa or the other three equally brilliant albums, you are missing out. If you consider yourself a music fan buy this album. If you are a Pixies fan, try to catch Frank Black and the Catholics live. If you get to meet him, Kim, Joey or David beg them to reform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For any fan of music there is no fault in this record, 29 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Death To The Pixies (Audio CD)
An incredible compilation from the most influential and intelligent band of their generation. All these songs are masterpieces of beautiful lyrics sung with a feeling not matched before or since and soaring intense music to die for. Velouria is a particular favourite of mine although being a bit pop it is pop rock to perfection. This is a rare cd where every song deserves your full attention and never becomes old, no other cd i know can hold my concentration for its duration and make me think that it lasted just a second, having me beg for it to all start again.
Many of the pixies classic songs are not on this, but there isn't room for them all, the selection has been criticised by some but I don't envy the person who had to choose which songs to include and i think they did the best job possible. This is the perfect starting point to begin your exploration of the pixies full range of musical genius. Once listened to there is one thing for sure you will be glad you begged, stole or borrowed or even sold your soul to get this cd, you will never look at music in the same way. God bless the Pixies, the world will never tire of their twisted view on reality, it is after all closer to the truth than many bands have got.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure brilliance, 14 Feb 2004
This review is from: Death To The Pixies (Audio CD)
As the great Bono once said "the pixies are the best band America has ever produced" i couldn't agree more. I first heard this album when i rented it from the library, it was the best 70p i've ever spent and it was the best £70 i ever spent on buying the rest of their albums. I'll say no more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From death Nirvana was born, 28 July 2006
This review is from: Death To The Pixies (Audio CD)
Like Van Gough, many bands dont get the recognition they deserve, but hey presto! when they split or die they become cool and everyone begins to say they were influenced by them. The Pixies are such an act, during their 4 year existence from 1987 to 1991 (in which this compilation covers) they were mostly ignored but they did manage to create a new sound that would become grunge (Kurt Cobain was a big fan). This compilation is an excellent introduction to this inovative band; containing no filler, the songs compiled here are tight 4 minute wonders such as U-Mass and Bone Machine. Each song going down a completely different path to the last. If there is one fault, the pace does not change and there is often a lack of subtlety in the songwriting which results in in a collection of very different but one-dimensional songs but this is a minor niggle as the quality is so strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death to the Pixies: Timeless condensed seminal rock n wail., 9 Mar 2000
By 
R. Dalrymple (West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death To The Pixies (Audio CD)
This album is a perfect entry point for those who have been unfortunate enough not to sample the gut twisting, awe inspiring, headbutt music of the band that has inspired so many others. Universally admired and acknowledged by too many indie guitar bands to mention, the Pixies have a Beatlesuqe quality of having no real style pattern or repeatable formula to their songs. This ranges from the singalong "Here Comes Your Man" to the absolutely throbbingingly manic "Tame". Pixies main man, Frank Black, wites lyrics than can shock, confuse and fascinate all at the same time. "Planet of Sound" is one of many songs from the early albums that expresses Frank's fascination with space and space opera. "Debaser" is a gem of distilled rock. If it doesn't move you, I suggest you rapidly check to see if you still have a pulse and heartbeat. If you are a big record buyer I am sure you have encountered the phenomena of hearing a track or two from an album and, based on this, buy it only to be disappointed with the quality of the other tracks on the album. There is not a single pixies track I have come across that does not stimulate me emotionally and musically. I have seen The beatles, Hendrix, the Stones and literally 100's (if not 1,000's) of bands live but the Pixies at Brixton Academy was the Mutts Nuts. Do yourself a favour - buy every Pixies sound byte you can lay your hands on. Because you are worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of...Of the Best [Alternate Rock Band], 6 Oct 2000
The Pixies always sounded smarter, tougher. They always seemed to do it just right, from gigs in reverse, and the acrostic lyric of Ana [six lines, the first letter of each spelling 'Surfer']. They even picked just the right time to split. There are only two minor gripes about this album:
1. Doesn't have all the best songs. Everyone will complain about one of their favorites that isn't here. This is not a result of bad selection, it's just that they won't all fit.
2. The skits from Surfer Rosa are missing. But then, you'll be buying that soon enough....
This is a good place to start, and the Pixies are worth discovering. Kurt loved them, R.E.M. were listening, and for better of for worse, grunge owes a lot to them. But no grunge act would ever play a song as -odd- as 'Monkey Gone To Heaven'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You'll Never Find Anything Quite The Same, 17 Mar 2003
This review is from: Death To The Pixies (Audio CD)
An amazing cd that really shows off the diversity of the Pixies, from the almost pop sounding "Here Comes Your Man" to the guitar thrashing and vocal diversity of "Tame" and others. This cd is ONLY made up of the absolute best of the Pixies, if you only buy one Pixies album I'd have to say this is it, if you can stretch to two then the Surfer Rosa/C'mon Pilgrim combo is another Pixies Masterpiece. I only offer one guarantee, that you have heard nothing quite like the Pixies.
Not reaching their greatest heights until after their split, they left behind 5 main albums with amazing material cut down to just 17 tracks. There is some degree of difference between some tracks, with the rather more pop sounding and slower "Caribou", "Wave Of Mutilation" and "Here Comes Your Man" all fulfilling and no less of an achievement than the other side to the Pixies. The more eccentric and energetic "Nimrod's Son", "Bone Machine" and "Tame" altogether making DTTP a vigorous and original sounding album of great material from Frank Black (Black Francis or whichever name you know him under).
Often compared to 'The Smashing Pumpkins' and 'Jesus and Mary Chain' (both really great bands) this album will show why 1 they never made it as big in the time when "1979" and similar tracks were most popular and 2 why this comparison is not a very good one, if you enjoy a fast and short track of just good music, and certainly if you are a fan of most forms of punk then you will enjoy the pixies whose greatest attribute is their penchant for irregular lyrics most demonstrated on "Bone Machine" and "Monkey Gone To Heaven".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death To The Pixies
Death To The Pixies by Pixies (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews