Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grows on you!
I first heard this album as a relatively new Genesis fan in 1997. At first, there were only a few songs that really stood out - but it wasn't, then, what I would call exactly, a classic album.
I went off it for a bit, thinking that it was a fairly unremarkable album. Later, though, someone else told me what a great album they thought it was, and I started listening...
Published on 5 Oct 2001 by TW Bonard

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as you've been told
I was lucky enough to hear much of this before it was released. I bought it on release day, bought the double LP with the "special" etched 4th side, etc. I am a Genesis fan.

What I remember is that Genesis fans online raved about how great this was.....until it flopped in the charts. Then suddenly everyone hated it. The very same people who professed to...
Published 8 days ago by A. Gulliver


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as you've been told, 18 Nov 2014
By 
A. Gulliver "absinthe_boy" (Luton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Calling All Stations (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to hear much of this before it was released. I bought it on release day, bought the double LP with the "special" etched 4th side, etc. I am a Genesis fan.

What I remember is that Genesis fans online raved about how great this was.....until it flopped in the charts. Then suddenly everyone hated it. The very same people who professed to love this record in the summer of 1997 hated it by summer 1998. The intervening 17 years perhaps allow a less biased view.

It's not as bad as you remember. The title track, plus "Dividing Line", "Alien Afternoon", "Small Talk", and "One Man's Fool" are all rather good. What's lacking is any real passion in the writing, or in the production. In fact the production is godawful across all formats. If you ever heard the title track played live, it blows your socks off. But it sounds like a damp squib here.

The band promised us "Darker, heavier, back to the old melodrama" but really the record falls short. It is darker, but Nick Davis doesn't seem to understand how to produce heavy. And the melodrama of "Fountain of Salmacis" or "One For The Vine" or even "Dutchess" simply isn't there.

Might have scraped 3/5 if the production was better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 1 Sep 2012
By 
H. Du Preez "steve du preez" (south africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Calling All Stations (Audio CD)
I love Genesis and have all their studio albums. Although this album is different to the power drumming albums of the Collins years, which were also good however, it is a lovely modern album, with beautifully crafted songs. In my opinion, Banks and Rutherford are the real stars in the group!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ...AND THEN THERE WERE TWO, 17 Sep 2002
By 
J. C. Bailey (East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Calling All Stations (Audio CD)
This is nothing like as good or as bad an album as most of the reviewers on this site make out. If you heard it on the radio and didn't know who it was by, you'd probably rate it above average. Unfortunately, Genesis have spend a quarter of a century generating controversy, from the "I do really look like a fox, don't I?" Gabriel period to those long Dark Ages when the band was little more than a matching tie-and-handkerchief for Phil Collins' solo career. Almost everyone likes one of their creative periods and hates all the others. That means that people bring a lot of baggage along to their first hearing of every new release.
If the band was trying to bring on-side their early-period fanbase (as many have suggested, and the network TV live performance of Supper's Ready Pt. 1 might well serve as Exhibit A for the prosecution) then it must be counted at best a limited success. There are some longer, less pop-inflected songs on here, but sadly these lack something of the structural intricacy and cohesion that attracted the band's initial hardcore following.
And yet too much genuine creativity and care has gone into this work to justify writing it off as a cynical cash-in on famous names. If that was the agenda, they need have taken far less risks and could probably have sold more product in the process. And while Banks and Rutherford might be excused an attempt to live off past glories, the young and talented singer Wilson (ex-Stiltskin) has too much of a stake in the future to play that game.
I think in the balance that this was an honest and sensibly judged attempt to build on the slight return to proggy-ness that has been evident in recent work by younger Brit bands (e.g. Radiohead and more recently Muse (who are all of course in artistic debt to Genesis, King Crimson and so on). And it largely succeeds on its own merits. Just don't approach it with unrealistic expectations that this is the old Genesis reborn, and you may well enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop playing it., 8 Sep 2008
By 
Squonk (Runcorn, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Calling All Stations (Audio CD)
I got into Genesis when 'Duke' was released and immediately bought everything they had recorded ('Wind and Wuthering' was actually THE 1st record i bought, but i did so on the strength of hearing 'Duke'). The next album to be released after 'Duke' was 'Abacab' and its 'Paperlate' E.P. which i loved just as much as any previous Genesis album, and so it was with every subsequent release up to and including 'Calling All Stations.'
Get it?
CAS is just as good as any other Genesis album if you give it a chance, and you may end up like me, not being able to stop playing it, again, just like all the others.
I have often thought about why this is so, and the answer is simple: Banks and Rutherford. They do together what they don't do apart.
The B-sides and outtakes are bloody good too!
Ray Wilson is an excellent choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They should have stuck it out, 26 Feb 2006
By 
R. PEMBERTON "theoriginalpembo" (Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calling All Stations (Audio CD)
This album is open demonstration of this new incarnation going through it's formative stages. Finding its way, that's true, but so was "From Genesis to Revelation" and that led to Trespass, Nursery Cryme, Foxtrot etc. Like that album some flashes of brilliance beg the continued effort to develop a mature sound. I just wish this band had been brave enough to ignore the poor responses, and pushed on into a second album - I am convinced it would have moved us away from the Collins rut into a new era of adventure.
Ray Wilson (pity not all reviewers can even get the man's name right) had demonstrated brilliance with Stiltskin, and really did work hard to revive this band. The small amount of the material that benefited from his writing contribution really do show inspiration. As for the stage act, it can be very difficult to generate the energy when you've lost your nouveau pop audience in response to the departure of Mr Predictable pop (Collins), and the original fan-base that had followed the most progressive band in the world have so lost faith that they can't even be bothered to find out what the new blood brings.
The trouble is, Banks and Rutherford had become so used to being so much more brilliant than the Collins myth (there were two excellent post-Gabriel albums, when Hackett's influence prevented Collins' excesses, and Collins himself turned out 2-3 excellent albums before leading both his solo and group careers down the same road) yet so far exceeded by him in both ego and public perception, that they failed to notice when they had finally found a formula to match the excellence of their Gabriel origins. They really should have learnt the lesson from Marillion by opening up fully to the influence of their new member - Hogarth has taken Marillion down new exciting avenues that go from strength to strength, and I feel that Wilson could have done the same for Genesis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calling All Stations is not like a Prince album., 21 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Calling All Stations (Audio CD)
This album is different from other Genesis albums. It is darker and contains no songs I'd really describe as 'happy'. It is however an excellent album which I recommend you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 July 2009
By 
D. A. Webster (Selby, N. Yorkshire Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Calling All Stations (Audio CD)
I am a big Genesis fan and saw this live on the "calling" tour. It is one of the best albums Genesis has done. What a shame they didnt continue with Ray Wilson and instead bowed down to commercial pressure. Ray Wilsons voice is excellent. Buy it, then buy the first two Ray Wilson albums, His first album "changes" shows you what Genesis missed out on.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A return, 25 Aug 2009
This review is from: Calling All Stations (Audio CD)
No this album doesn't grab you at first, but I'm not sure
genesis albums ever did. It has to be 5 mins plus to
get to me and some of these eventually did,( no, did'nt
like the pop-vacation either ). Whatever,.. genesis have
a back catalog that will outlive them,

amazed there arn't more covers,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
This review is from: Calling All Stations (Audio CD)
Fantastic album, one of their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Return to From, 29 Nov 2011
This review is from: Calling All Stations (Audio CD)
Not since And Then There Were Three had there been a real Genesis album. Everything from there on was just another Phil Collins dominated pop album. That is not to say that Calling All Stations is a return to the true progressive rock roots of Genesis but this is a return to the musical integrity that this band had in its earlier incarnation, it is a real shame that they did not carry on for at least another album, my guess is that the new lineup would have established a really strong place in fans heart. It is a crime that Ray Wilson was ditched when they decided to get back together for their cash in tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Calling All Stations
Calling All Stations by Genesis (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews