Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars astonishing..., 3 Oct. 2003
By 
Simon J. Whight "fourfourfun" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Insides (Version 2) (Audio CD)
Well then! Personally I think this is one of the finest electronic albums you can buy. Something that always finds itself floating into my headphones, up there on a high plateau with Orb's Ultraworld and DJ Shadow's Endtroducing in my rankings. If you've checked Snivilisation, you will have spotted Orbitals progression away from the rave/acid house sound of previous albums towards a more soundtracky, musical epic feel.
The album fires off with the cracking The Girl With The Sun In Her Head, a slow 'helicopter blade' sound with melacholic synths gives way to bright live drums breaks and an extactic pitch bending brassy synth line. Up next is the dramatic P.E.T.R.O.L. (used on the Playstation's Wipeout title), futuristic whirrs, dramatic orchestral stabs and choral sounds give it a real sense of urgency .... appropriate for the future racing game. The Box pts 1 & 2 show Orbitals admiration for John Barry, a soundtracky spy movie-ish slow start then moves onto the faster tempo'd part 2 ... you can really picture this in a movie, the suspense as you feel something is going to happen then the shift up in gear as everything takes off. Dwr Budr has Orbital in Electro mode, eerie 'ooooh' vocals float over this pacy melacholic track, halfway through everything shifts up as a nice acid line gets introduced and synths bounce around your ears. Up next is Adnan's, which was used on the first War Child album, a mechanical clunking track, blissful and chilled. Then my copy finishes with Out There Somewhere pts 1 & 2 (seems like I got it before Satan, The Saint and The Sinner was added ... but I prefer it this way, feels like the albums original intent, without the biggie singles tagged on the end). Out There Somewhere is an epic 24 minute Electro journey. The first part being dark and moody in nature before everything breaks down and becomes uplifting and positive for the second part with a cracking orchestral synth arrangement.
Its an album which is really hard to sum up with words, but there isn't a single weak moment here. The pinnacle of Orbital's evolution from Dance outfit into something much bigger, you won't often see Danceland offer up anything as superb as this. Manages to blend Dance and orchestral structures together, light and dark in what is a genius album. Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Geraghty, 31 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Insides (Version 2) (Audio CD)
I bought this CD 10 years ago in Tokyo and it ... ahem ... changed my life. It's that good. The Hartnolls blew apart the confines of techno with this album, producing something truly transecendent - the music is structurally complex, emotionally rich and spiritually vast. A defining moment in electronica...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album., 20 July 2004
This review is from: Insides (Version 2) (Audio CD)
Orbital are probably the best electronic duo in the world, and this is the best that I have heard from them. Every song is long, and there are no poor songs. Tracks 1, 5, 6, 7, and 8 are among the best, though 2, 3, and 4 are strong also. The only track that I dislike is 9, which is a short track playing with the mission impossible theme tune. I have no idea why this is on this masterpiece album; perhaps it was a bonus track or something. Anyway, this is a tour de force and is some of the nicest music I've heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oldschoolish electronic euphoria, 5 Sept. 2002
This review is from: Insides (Version 2) (Audio CD)
If you're anything like me and came to this album from 'The Middle of Nowhere', you may or may not be in for a small shock. And conversely, if you're planning to buy 'The Middle of Nowhere' next, you're in for a rougher ride than you might expect. You may find yourself waiting for a harder baseline in 'The Girl With The Sun In Her Head' but as the album progresses, it becomes clear that you won't get any big beats. You're still sure to be swept away by the aforementioned track though - that's a chord progression that'll stick in your head.
This album carries within a distinct sense of being created with a TR-808 and it's merits will seem more musical than technical at first. But fear not - if again you're anything like me - your heart will be melted well before you've reached the end of the album. This album is techno alright - and very carefully crafted at that. Many brilliant highlights will catch your attention. To name a few, I was completely taken by surprise with The Box's serenity and melancholy in the first part. Another unexpected heartstealer is 'Adnan's' which is among my favourites on the album with it's atmosphere, flowing melodies and slightly trippy beat. Another very highly ranking track (or rather two tracks) is 'Out There Somehere?', which shows (along with The Box) how unique Orbital is with creating these epic tracks. You won't find anything like that by anyone else! The two opening tracks of the album will also be given a new meaning when you take a look at the sleeve notes.
I find it very hard to imagine that anyone could be disappointed in buying this wonderful album. It strongly reinforced my Orbital fanhood after 'The Middle of Nowhere' and the only track that hasn't gotten that much playing time on my stereo set is the industrial and bleak 'P.E.T.R.O.L', which is still not a bad track and beat lovers may even consider it the best track on the album (it's certainly the strongest one, as far as sound goes). It's just up against some pretty stiff competition on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shop at Adnan's, 19 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Insides (Version 2) (Audio CD)
Orbital, without doubt the most enduring and innovative dance/techno act ever, went a bit awry with their latest offering in the shape of 'In the Middle of Nowhere'. Nevertheless, the previous four Orbital offering were all superb and for different reasons: Orbital 1 those superb early 90s clanks and chimes (quite literally) Orbital II for the flowing and ethereal house vibe, and Snivilisation for being so political (quite an achievement for this genre of music). Then we come to Insides. It's frightening in places and exquisitely beautiful in others. 'The Girl with the Sun in her Head' and 'The Box' are the most notable tracks, but Adnan's is, in my book, one of Orbital's finest moments. I often get quite emotional when I hear it - and it's up there with Belfast as perhaps one of the finest things ever to be put onto plastic (and vinyl) in the past 10 years. Orbital, both live (particularly at Glastonbury in 1995) and on record, will stay at the forefront of my memory for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets, 15 Oct. 2002
By 
Mr. N. Connolly "nc1980" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Insides (Version 2) (Audio CD)
I would like to second the gentleman who cited Insides as a life changing album. I was 16 when it got released and, having heard snivilisation, brought it immediately. It is still by far the best album I own.
It is a journey into the heart of dance music, sucking the listener into an alternative world where tiny details hold their own alongside hugely expansive sounds and intricate beats. Nowhere in modern music has this balance of depth, power, and emotion been matched.
I honestly believe that one day Orbital, the producers, and Insides, the album, will be viewed as a defining features of my generation. This is awesome... as good as it gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Masters of live dance at the peak of their career, 12 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Insides (Version 2) (Audio CD)
This album was made at about the time when dance music was less mainstream and the everyone had their own style. Orbital excelled themselves when they made this album, I can only describe it as perfection of atmosphere in dance. When I listen to this I can re-live the time when the only dance music that existed was good dance and when everyone struggled to make money. It is at this time that the masters of dance music (Chem. Bros., Underworld, Leftfield, Orbital) couldn't get much better and the music was anything but tacky, unoriginal rubbish that seems to make it into the charts nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Orbital album with a great extra CD, 26 Aug. 2004
This review is from: In Sides (Audio CD)
In Sides is, in my humble opinion, Orbital's best album. It really is as simple as that. I could go on listing reasons why it is so great, but there are plenty of reviews that do that already. Instead I am going to concentrate on the Bonus CD that comes with this American import.
It should also be noted that with this version comes a bonus a CD, which features the following:
1. Satan (Industry Standard)
2. Satan (Live in New York City)
3. The Saint
4. The Sinner
5. Halcyon (Live)
I don't know why the track listing on amazon doesn't say this, but believe me, it does come with the CD.
Satan is one of Orbital's best songs, especially live and now that Orbital have split up, this bonus CD is a great chance to catch such a rare track. This CD features both the non-live and a longer live version.
The Saint is the theme music from the movie The Saint, you've probably heard it and most newer versions of In Sides feature it anyway. However, it doesn't really fit in with the first CD of In Sides, it's much better kept seperate here on the bonus CD.
The Sinner is an alternative version of The Saint, it's rather nice, especially for a bonus CD.
Halcyon is fantastic, everyone who knows anything about Orbital has heard of Halcyon. This version is live and as such, features the Bon Jovi and Belinda Carlisle mash-up at the end. Again, you'll probably struggle to find this version anywhere else.
I usually go out of my way to buy versions of an album with bonus CDs, but they tend to be nothing special and go neglected. I can honestly say this is the first bonus CD that is actually worth the extra effort to get a hold of.
When you consider that the price of this American import is the SAME PRICE as the UK edition (at the time of writing) with NO EXTRAS, it seems insane to pass it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hail to the King Baby!!, 26 Jan. 2001
This review is from: Insides (Version 2) (Audio CD)
Well- where do you start?Hows about the haunting 'Girl Witht he Sun in her Head'. Haunting, resonant, and utterly unique. A collision of emotion wrapped up in music to represent the strange psyche of a unique individual, and the moment that you realise that what you are listening to is more than just another techno album, but a duo whose skills transcend their medium and have taken the music into the status or truly unique and classic. Its probably the worst tune on the album to top it all off. No more to tell- you'd have to be crazy not to listen to this- its the future of music!!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to fall in love?, 15 July 2012
This review is from: Insides (Version 2) (Audio CD)
This remains, 16 years after I first heard it, my favourite album of all time.

I still remember putting the CD on for the first time - having heard about this band through a friend and having no idea what to expect - and hearing those first weird whooshing sounds of 'The Girl with the Sun in her head'.

From then on, the experience of getting to know this album was very like falling in love: the initial interest and desire to know more, with repeated exposure just revealing more and more aspects to adore.

Beautiful, and so so special.

PS Important note: the original issue of the album In Sides did NOT include the song 'The Saint'. The decision to clag this on the end of In Sides was clearly a decision taken by an accountant at the record company with as much music taste as Simon Cowell. It's like trying to improve the world's most exquisite banquet by serving a McDonalds for dessert. Utter madness. The first thing to do (as this is very definitely an album to listen to all the way from start to finish (in fact I put aside time to enjoy doing this from time to time)) when you get this album is to program your CD/MP3 or whatever to remove The Saint from the playlist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Sides
In Sides by Orbital (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews