Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fusion from a golden age
This was released 10 years ago when experimentation with the fusion of international sounds was a fresher and more creative art less reliant on the wholesale use of samples of already successful tunes and more interested in forging something invigorating and imaginative. Irresistable dance music drawing on multiple cultures it bears a lot of listening. OK, some of the...
Published on 13 Jan 2005 by Pikeperch

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not wanting to be unpopular, but...
This is actually my least played TGU album. For me it doesn't have the appeal of International Times. I think its the first track that puts me off- the vocals are a bit naff. If you're not a fan of TGU yet, I'd recommend their 'best of' Backing on the Graves of our Ancestors and go from there.
Published on 31 Jan 2003 by chrisnz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fusion from a golden age, 13 Jan 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychic Karaoke (Audio CD)
This was released 10 years ago when experimentation with the fusion of international sounds was a fresher and more creative art less reliant on the wholesale use of samples of already successful tunes and more interested in forging something invigorating and imaginative. Irresistable dance music drawing on multiple cultures it bears a lot of listening. OK, some of the rapping vocal is a bit trite but it is a minor aspect of the whole ensemble. Think of the vocals more as a musical texture and it all makes sense. Check out International Times and Dream of 100 Nations too, the 3 CDs make a good set. I saw TU playing live a few months ago and they have lost none of their power to get an audience rocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best yet, 17 Nov 2000
By 
This review is from: Psychic Karaoke (Audio CD)
This album builds on ideas planted in TGU's earlier work, particularly the big, BIG bass beats on "Boss Tabla" which combine with inspired harmony, eg "Chariots" and "A Tongue Of Flame" to produce a phenomenal feeling, which simply must be enjoyed. Also featuring "Eyeway Souljah" - the most incredible sound from TGU's panoply of brilliance - one of the best tracks ever. Psychic Karaoke outshines any other in its genre, consigning "Dream of 100 Nations" to a close 2nd. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An island of originality in a sea of blandness, 25 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Psychic Karaoke (Audio CD)
There seems to be a fair bit of stirring on the 'world/global fusion' market at the moment (a horrible phrase but convenient)what with the various Arabica, Arabesque complilations etc. But, back in the early-mid 90s TGU were out there at the forefront, taking the idea of mixing Indian, Arabic and Western influences - as pioneered by the likes of Suns of Arqa and Davy Graham - adding house, dub and hip-hop and bunging in a load more besides into the cocktail. Of their 3 best releases -including 'Dreams of 100 nations' and 'Rejoice rejoice' - it's 'Psychic Karaoke' that I come back to time and again. There are one or two fillers but the sheer greatness of tracks like 'Chariots', 'Bullet train', 'Boss tabla' and my fave, 'Eyeway Souljah', make up for this in spades. With, a dreary, uninspired music scene populated by derivative US garage bands, Gareth Gates, dire nu-metal, trance-by-numbers etc, a record like 'Psychic Karaoke' serves to remind that occasionally there are groups with originality and imagination not to mention the ability to seriously groove.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far from Karaoke, 25 Mar 2003
This review is from: Psychic Karaoke (Audio CD)
It's simple; if you know of TGU's work and you like it you'll like this. If you havent heard of TGU's work, buy Dream of 100 Nations and work your way through the next 4 albums. You wont be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best tgu album., 2 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Psychic Karaoke (Audio CD)
from the very first track, this album will grab you. Lots of chanting from natacha atlas, which has to be a good thing. this cd keeps it up all the way through to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not wanting to be unpopular, but..., 31 Jan 2003
This review is from: Psychic Karaoke (Audio CD)
This is actually my least played TGU album. For me it doesn't have the appeal of International Times. I think its the first track that puts me off- the vocals are a bit naff. If you're not a fan of TGU yet, I'd recommend their 'best of' Backing on the Graves of our Ancestors and go from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psychic Karaoke
Psychic Karaoke by Transglobal Underground (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews