Customer Reviews
And


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some of Martyn's best
I first heard 'Sunshine's Better', the opening track on this album, at (of all occasions) a funeral. The words, John's voice and the situation made it an incredibly powerful and intense first listening!

John Martyn's voice on this album is weathered by years of drink and drugs, but this adds to the power of the songs. There is a sadness, a melancholy, a...
Published on 1 Mar 2007 by Chipstick

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good tracks
I saw him perform these tracks in concert with a very tight young band in 1998. The tracks are somewhat more upbeat than is normal for JM. Unfortunately many are weak and reminiscent of other work. I recommend the first three tracks - especially Suzanne and Downward pull... Not his best album but still good.
Published on 5 Jan 2004 by John Watters


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some of Martyn's best, 1 Mar 2007
By 
Chipstick (Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: And (Audio CD)
I first heard 'Sunshine's Better', the opening track on this album, at (of all occasions) a funeral. The words, John's voice and the situation made it an incredibly powerful and intense first listening!

John Martyn's voice on this album is weathered by years of drink and drugs, but this adds to the power of the songs. There is a sadness, a melancholy, a yearning for youth in the words to many of the songs... this is the work of a man who has lived, and loved, suffered, but yet who ultimately hopes.

'Sunshine's better' and 'Carmine' are the stand out tracks for me.

If you have only heard Solid Air, then this will be a surprise as it is not acoustic folk, more a bluesie/jazzie late night album.

It is one of my favourite albums of all time. Possibly not to everyone's taste... but in my opinion, possibly some of John's finest work can be found here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare record but one of the finest!, 24 April 2014
By 
John Gladman "John" (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And (Audio CD)
I am a long time fan of John. For some reason (cost!) I never got hold of And until recently.
It is a masterpiece. It gets the soul of the man and his music. The bass resembles some of the earlier work with Danny Thompson most will know of Solid Air and I was surprsied by the degree to which it invoked the same emotions in me at that record.
In fact the whole record, to me, sounds like a return to form and stands above his records that preceded it and followed it.
It really deserves to be more widely and affordably available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why has this album been abandoned to the rip off merchants?, 21 Jun 2013
This review is from: And (Audio CD)
This album marked a considered move deeper into JM's focus on his voice as his main instrument. Clearly some fans of his earlier work will have had difficulty with this but I am not sure why this album is uniquely unavailable on either CD or MP3 download. It has, thus, been abandoned to the merciless rip off merchants. Whoever owns the right to this album please find a way of having it available so that fans can get it at a reasonable price. John would have hated that some people are trying to rip off fans like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Martyn maintains the standard, 12 July 2005
By 
Benny Placido "edo152" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: And (Audio CD)
Over the years John Martyn has produced some spectacularly good albums, amongst the stand outs are One World, Solid Air and Inside Out. I was rather perplexed by some of the 80's stuff with Phil Collins, some of it however was still rather good, if not vintage (try Sapphire for some of the best of that era). This album however marked a real return to form for the guitar virtuoso with the unmistakably gruff voice. 'And' ranks amongst Martyn's best work of late and his trademark guitar style and slurred vocals are used to great effect on an album that displays of all his remarkable talent. Martyn combines Jazz, Blues, Rock and Folk into his very own style and he remains one of this country's national treasures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Spencer, 3 Feb 2010
This review is from: And (Audio CD)
All JM fans should have this. Just browsing and saw this, remember seeing the bulk of this set, incredible. Just suprised it's not more readily available.

Listening to the Sunshine's Better, classic, now. Suzanne to follow, Step it up, She's a Lover. Doesn't get better from the rover.

Roll up, skin up and chill out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good tracks, 5 Jan 2004
By 
John Watters (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: And (Audio CD)
I saw him perform these tracks in concert with a very tight young band in 1998. The tracks are somewhat more upbeat than is normal for JM. Unfortunately many are weak and reminiscent of other work. I recommend the first three tracks - especially Suzanne and Downward pull... Not his best album but still good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And (Audio CD)
Brilliant album. At a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

And
And by John Martyn (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews