Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Stereophonics Album
If you're new to the Stereophonics, you may not have heard their debut. They didn't get huge until 'The Bartender and the Thief' came out. If you haven't heard it, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as its by far their best album.
Its quite a raw and rocky sound, but the phonics have never been able to match the raw energy of this album. The songwriting is open and...
Published on 19 July 2005 by Mark Dixon

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars if you like that sort of thing
the stereophonics aren't really my kind of band, and i really don't get on with their new material. this album - which i picked up in a bargain bin because i always rather liked 'local boy in the photograph' - is something quite different. the opening track amd the closing tracks stand out to me, while the rest of the album, after several listens, just seems to fit...
Published on 8 Jun 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a debut!, 4 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
Its hard to belive that this album is a debut album. The songs are mature, the lyrics have meaning; the whole album is impressive. The recording quality is fantastic, guitar sounds especially. Buy it, play it lound and jump around the house to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars never a better album, 5 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
Kelly and the boys have surpassed themselves in this album, it truly is their best out of all 4. Performance and Cocktails, although it is suprb and my next favourite from these Welsh wonders, can feel maybe a wee bit repetitive and Just Enough Education To Perform just lacks what made The Phonics big. You Gotta Go There To Come Back however is getting better, we may see Kelly, Stuart and Richard return to the brilliance that is Word Gets Around. My life wouldn't be complete without it and Kelly's marvellous vocals and lyrics are amazing. Every single song on this album tells its own story and what a story they tell. My favourite has to be Same Size Feet, you just won't hear a song like it again. All these songs are classics such as 1000 Trees, More Life in a Tramps Vest and Local Boy in the Photograph, not forgetting Traffic. This album is a must buy and you'll thank me forever for telling you to get it so go on... click "add to basket"... you won't regret it...! xXx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first and possibly the best offering!, 12 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
An incredible debut album from the Welsh outfit. Stunning tracks in the main influenced by their Welsh roots. Local Boy in the Photograph and A Thousand Trees are stand outs for me.
If you only discovered these guys later on in their careers then buy this Album - raw quality shines through!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best the Stereophonics will ever come up with, 18 Jun 2009
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
This is an album from a band that have completely ruined themselves.

'Word Gets Around' is there most inventive album (even though it's their debut album). The music is great and the lyrics are simply fantastic, if you lived in a small, isolated place as a kid you'd probably respect the lyrical nature alot more.

Usually in reviews I go though a few songs and describe/criticize them. With this album there is litrally no point because all the songs are fantastic... i cannot find anything I dont like about this album.

Fantastic... their best by far. Buy it, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album **********, 15 July 2008
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
Quite simply one of the best albums ever. Each track is distinctive, keeps you rocking, Kelly's voice is amazsing. Great lyrcis, great music, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality music, 21 Nov 2002
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
This is definatly the best installment we'll ever get from the 'Stereophonics' This album is by far the greatest, there's a certain emotion in each song, untill you listen to the songs and lyrics you'll never experience anything quite like it. Kelly Jones's almost raspy voice is excellent, varing his pitch more the Charlotte church on speed. Listing to this music makes you visualize the story, Please Please Please buy this, i guarantee you will not be disapointed. If you are reading this you must by vaigly interested in buying it SO PLEASE DO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cwmaman Boys Rock!!!!!!, 24 Aug 2002
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
Having been a massive 'phonics fan since they launched into my life with the tragic rock tune of "Local Boy In The Photograph" in March 97, i can honestly say that even after the amazing tunes they've released since this debut album- i still find this my most played c.d. Kelly Jones' amazingly sexy, gruff voice really gets into your soul especially on the tracks "Same Size Feet", "Not Up To You" and "Traffic". It just shows how talented these three boys from Cwmaman really are. Kelly sticks to what he knows best on this album- people he knows and his experiences on living in a small town and it shows how meaningful some of his lyrics really are- "Local Boy"- A tragic young boys suicide, "Tramps Vest"- Life on a market stall, "Too Many Sandwiches"- A typical wedding party!!! With some amazing drumming from the great Stuart and some great guitar work from the fab Richard, this is one album that should be added to your collection, listen to the lyrics just the once and you will be hooked. Keep up the good work boys!!!!!!xxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't own this be ashamed!, 28 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
I listened to Performance and Coctails and didn't think it could get any better, unitl someone told me about Word Gets Around and I went and bought it. I can honeslty say it's probably the best advice I've recieved. Kelly's voice is on top form during this album but excells in Look like Chaplin. Same Sized Feet is an outstanding track, and Stuart's drumming is unbeleivable.
A must have album for everyone out there. It is the best of the three Stereophonics albums, and lets hope that the lads from wales produce another "Word Gets Around" soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best, 8 Jan 2002
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
The 'phonic's first and in my view, best album. Songs like Too many Sandwiches and Same size feet are both high points on an album where there are no weak songs. Simply brilliant and even better when heard live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb!, 9 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
i bought this album after performance and cocktails and i did not think any album could match the superb genius of the phonic's 2nd album!
But the first is a pure masterpiece!
with the best opening track ever with a thousand trees giving the listener an indication of the quality
With such great songs as the rocking local boy in the photograph to the softer billy davey's daughter, any fan of rock or indie should have this album!
pure and simple an amazing album by a great band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Word Gets Around
Word Gets Around by Stereophonics (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews