Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Stereophonics Album
If you're new to the Stereophonics, you may not have heard their debut. They didn't get huge until 'The Bartender and the Thief' came out. If you haven't heard it, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as its by far their best album.
Its quite a raw and rocky sound, but the phonics have never been able to match the raw energy of this album. The songwriting is open and...
Published on 19 July 2005 by Mark Dixon

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars if you like that sort of thing
the stereophonics aren't really my kind of band, and i really don't get on with their new material. this album - which i picked up in a bargain bin because i always rather liked 'local boy in the photograph' - is something quite different. the opening track amd the closing tracks stand out to me, while the rest of the album, after several listens, just seems to fit...
Published on 8 Jun 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cwmaman Boys Rock!!!!!!, 24 Aug 2002
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
Having been a massive 'phonics fan since they launched into my life with the tragic rock tune of "Local Boy In The Photograph" in March 97, i can honestly say that even after the amazing tunes they've released since this debut album- i still find this my most played c.d. Kelly Jones' amazingly sexy, gruff voice really gets into your soul especially on the tracks "Same Size Feet", "Not Up To You" and "Traffic". It just shows how talented these three boys from Cwmaman really are. Kelly sticks to what he knows best on this album- people he knows and his experiences on living in a small town and it shows how meaningful some of his lyrics really are- "Local Boy"- A tragic young boys suicide, "Tramps Vest"- Life on a market stall, "Too Many Sandwiches"- A typical wedding party!!! With some amazing drumming from the great Stuart and some great guitar work from the fab Richard, this is one album that should be added to your collection, listen to the lyrics just the once and you will be hooked. Keep up the good work boys!!!!!!xxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply, the greatest album ever!, 30 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
Some may say that the Stereophonics are a bit too "middle of the road" for their liking, and to those people i ask this one question: How many band's debut song(local boy) and album(WGA) have been as heart-stoppingly exciting as this? Not many since "Definately Maybe" anyway. Each song, a masterpiece in its own right, tells a story of either normal, suburban life(tramps vest) or a heart rendering story of death(local boy, Billy Daveys Daughter) or simply nothing that somehow all seems to make sense in a roundabout kind of way(not up to you). Traffic, undoubtedly the groups masterpiece is sandwiched between another two classics, "local boy" and "not up to you" The albums stand out line has to come from traffic: "talk dirty to the priest? makes them human at least"). Brilliant. Best album ever? I think so. Difficult to follow up but the Stereophonics do it proud with Performance and Cocktails. Not half as good as WGA but hey, it would be difficult wouldnt it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars breathtaking, 13 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
stereophonic, well what can i say apart from there one of the best things to come out of wales. The album is pure beauty,with songs like thousand tree's which lift you from the first time you hear them and forever on. Other songs include local boy in a photograph which is one that makes you want to pick up a broom and mime in a mirror all day long. The album is a mixture of songs which are stories of life in the bands local village Cwmaman. All the songs are different in there own ways some emotional like the beutiful song Traffic, and others like the comical more life in a tramps vest. Every single song is a hundred percent marvelous. Ohh and just two more words, BLOODY BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums EVER!, 10 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
Quite simply, this is one of the best albums i have ever heard. Almost every song on the album is a classic, the pick of the bunch being "Too Many Sandwiches". This is a fantastic song featuring great vocals and awesome guitar work. This is just one of those albums that gets better every time you hear it, and one which you will never get bored of. It's so surprising to think that none of the singles from this album really hit the big time, as they are far, far better than what most bands could even dream of coming up with. I would strongly urge any music lover to buy this album, believe me, you won't regret it! Long live the 'Phonics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST SINGALONG EVER, 13 April 2001
By 
sunny527@hotmail.com (somewhere in england i think) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
this album will make you sing ur heart out whether your feeling as happy as more life in a tramps vest.....as sad as same size feet...as philosophical as traffic or just ready to jhump and barf up ur brains to a thousand trees. this album has it all and will never ever bore or lose its magic.one of the best..kelly jones provides more than enough brilliance to make the average bass and drums go unnoticed.absolute class..they will never ever achieve better even if mtv select will tell you they have as they are now on their screens.nothing beats this....brillliant lyrics outstanding vocals and superb guitar from kelly.roll on july 14th!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Greatest debut album ever ever ever!, 21 April 2000
By 
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
What is this "Rock4cash" geezer going on about? This is a great album! All I will say is Rock4cash, you are clearly a greebo and do not deserve to listen to such great bands as the 'Phonics. This dramatic, sensual and seductive mix of tranquil peace tunes (see Billy Daveys Daughter and Traffic - two of the best songs ever written!) and classic - typically - welsh rock (see Thousand trees, Looks like Chaplin and Local Boy In The Photograph) is just breath taking. it bulids you up and breaks you down. It can make you laugh, cry and feel at peace and feel crazy all at the same time. Great stuff from the valley boyz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a debut!, 4 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
Its hard to belive that this album is a debut album. The songs are mature, the lyrics have meaning; the whole album is impressive. The recording quality is fantastic, guitar sounds especially. Buy it, play it lound and jump around the house to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best debut albums ever, 26 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
The lyrics alone could make this album good. The sheer originality and clever construction of lyrics like those of the second track "Looks like Chaplin" made the album a hit with me. The songs are more upbeat than those of the Stereophonis second album, and I think this style of songs definitely suits the band better. Kelly Jones' voice adds integrity to already great songs and I would recommend this album to any indie fans. It is along the same lines as Travis' debut album "Good Feeling" and this album has definitely been a hit with me. It is the work of a band yet unspoilt by excessive fame and media attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best the Stereophonics will ever come up with, 18 Jun 2009
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
This is an album from a band that have completely ruined themselves.

'Word Gets Around' is there most inventive album (even though it's their debut album). The music is great and the lyrics are simply fantastic, if you lived in a small, isolated place as a kid you'd probably respect the lyrical nature alot more.

Usually in reviews I go though a few songs and describe/criticize them. With this album there is litrally no point because all the songs are fantastic... i cannot find anything I dont like about this album.

Fantastic... their best by far. Buy it, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Performance and Cocktails, 18 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Word Gets Around (Audio CD)
This is probably the best debut album I've ever heard. From start to end all of the songs are fantastic. There may only be 3 members so the tracks are often fairly simple when compared to bands like Radiohead but that doesn't matter. Their riffs are so contagious and brilliant it more than makes up for lack of complexity.
Kelly sing fantastically on Word Gets Around. He has one of the most unique voices I have ever heard. It has power, emotion and a certain ruggedness which flows perfectly with the rest of the music. This is a must buy CD, order it now and you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Word Gets Around
Word Gets Around by Stereophonics (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews