Customer Reviews
K


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kula Shaker and Music at it's Best! Completely Mesmerising!
This album provides the best in indie-rock along with eastern sitar type music. An interesting hybrid but works amazingly well in this album. Every track has a good part to it. From upbeat rock such as "hey dude" to tracks such as "govinda" and "tattva" as well. Their other album Peasants, pigs& Astronauts is not as good but is still...
Published on 23 Feb 2001

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Britpop's Posh Hippies
Talk about strong opinions ... Kula Shaker were always going to divide people. Critics were wary of their retro 60s stylings and priveleged backgrounds. Pretty much everyone was put off by lead singer Crispin Mills' comments lauding the Nazis.

But there is plenty of fun to be had here. Tattva is a great piece of psych-pop, Hey Dude motors along most pleasingly...
Published on 21 Jun 2006 by B. Wilkinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars THEE Top Class Album of the 1990's, 27 April 2010
By 
This review is from: K (Audio CD)
Okay so what Hayley Mills' Son as lead singer..but what a sound..this is a great purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: K (Audio CD)
Top music not many albums better than this,brilliant driving music,recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music for housework, 1 Oct 2006
By 
Ms. C. A. L. Turner (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: K (Audio CD)
This bright, funky cd always gets put on to get me through necessary but boring housework. Some of the songs sound like Beatles covers, and the general effect is really energising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HeY Dude!, 6 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: K (Audio CD)
The cover gives off a Beatles flavour but this is the first timeI've heard rock fused with Indian psychedelic inspiration. This is a debut album and very interesting for boys from Britain. So as the East meets west will they work or repel well the sitar is used very well its not in your face it has subtle undertones in places which works very well. The single of this al bum is 'Sleeping Jiva' which is a great song that will make you sing even if you don't like it, it's very catchy and original. . On Govinda' the band give in to what they have wanted to do for such along time and that's chant with music that sets the tone, this is a very fresh look at what music can become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Britpop's Posh Hippies, 21 Jun 2006
By 
B. Wilkinson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: K (Audio CD)
Talk about strong opinions ... Kula Shaker were always going to divide people. Critics were wary of their retro 60s stylings and priveleged backgrounds. Pretty much everyone was put off by lead singer Crispin Mills' comments lauding the Nazis.

But there is plenty of fun to be had here. Tattva is a great piece of psych-pop, Hey Dude motors along most pleasingly and the rest of the album has plenty of good hooks and catchy tunes.

So why only three stars? For me, the whole undertaking has a whiff of contrivance and inauthenticity. Perhaps it's something to do with Mills' thespian DNA (his mother is Hayley Mills and granddad was the great Sir John Mills) but at times K sounds like an Austin Powers 60s parody.

The generally awful lyrics don't help: bad puns (Knight on the Town, Hey Dude) and name checking the Grateful Dead (Jerry Was There) only add to the feeling that the band was something for Crispin and his chums to do before settling down to something less noisy. There's certainly no sense that anyone involved had a desperate desire to express themselves through music.

Nonetheless, you can see that for lots of people (well, most other Amazon reviewers) it's a stunning masterpiece. At the very least it's worth a listen, man ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good stuff!, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: K (Audio CD)
Yeah, good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I like the idea, sadly it does little for me., 19 May 2008
This review is from: K (Audio CD)
Some people love this album and I won't say they are wrong because for one, opinion is individual and two, I like some of it.
The bad, for me was the mixing of sounds. I just cannot identify with many of the songs. That alone lessens my veiw of the album so if the idea appeals try it out. Tracks like Hey dude are excellent classic rock and are more my bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars kula shaker lp and single, 26 Jun 2014
By 
bernie woods (norfolk england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Received lp but single was not as ad said was plain black vinyl but was supposed to be purple vinyl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the reality is better than the idea, 12 Mar 2007
This review is from: K (Audio CD)
The idea of a bunch of middle-class white-boys (one of whom is Hayley Mills' stage-school kid) attempting to re-invent the nostalgia of 1960's eastern-tinged psychedelia is somewhat laughable, being the stuff sitcoms are made of. Those are my less charitable thoughts on looking back at what I believed were my less successful music purchases in the mid-nineties.

However, on listening again to this album, the experience is somewhat different to the expectation that I would find it disappointingly cheesey. Crispin and co. despite all their stage-school aspirations (for the record, I don't actually know whether any of them went to stage-school or whether they are "middle-class"), manage to somehow pull off what they set out to do. To re-invent the nostalgia of 1960's eastern-tinged psychedelia.

Although there's little that's innovative here, if you are in love with the whole Beatles eastern-type mysticism (like I am) and you want more of the same, you'll find that here in plenty, alongside lots of riff-driven rock, mildly reminiscent of Hendrix and Cream.

In summary, for those who want something new, then this isn't it. If you like the music of the late-1960's and you can overlook the idea of Crispin Mills and his mates, then the reality of this record (as testified to by an open-minded listen), will give you an album more of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Oct 2014
This review is from: K (Audio CD)
love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

K
K by Kula Shaker (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews