Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Driving Rock
"Country Rock" might be the term used on the back of this, but what it actually is is great driving music. Members of the band form other well-known groups/musical phenomena - Loggins and Messina springing happily to mind.
This is a wonderful way to hear the band's best numbers, especially if you're totally new to them, as I was, until about 6 weeks ago. Not only...
Published on 14 Jun 2004 by Mrs. Catherine Coulthard

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good bad and ugly
This is a very mixed bag and ranges from the absolutely excellent to tracks you want to fast forward within a couple of bars
Published 11 months ago by J. donnet


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Driving Rock, 14 Jun 2004
By 
Mrs. Catherine Coulthard "CateCoulthard" (Letchworth Garden City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Collection [1975-1982] (Audio CD)
"Country Rock" might be the term used on the back of this, but what it actually is is great driving music. Members of the band form other well-known groups/musical phenomena - Loggins and Messina springing happily to mind.
This is a wonderful way to hear the band's best numbers, especially if you're totally new to them, as I was, until about 6 weeks ago. Not only that, but you may just find it the ultimate in feel good music.
It makes you want to put the hood down on your car and step on the gas.
Oh, and I defy you not to love Rose of Cimarron. Glorious stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of 'second generation' Poco, 18 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection [1975-1982] (Audio CD)
The previous review by Mr.Harris has got it pretty much spot on. This is post Richie Furay and more rock/less country. Personally I can't get enough of Rusty's steel guitar. Most songs are either Rusty Young or Paul Cotton compositons and I disagree with another earlier reviewer who says the songs are not very strong.
'Keep on tryin', 'Stealaway', 'Legend', 'Midnight rain', 'Under the gun' and especially 'Indian summer' are great songs that have stood the test of time well and still feature in Poco's live sets - atleast up to Paul's departure in 2010. Given the very cheap price this is now selling at, it's an absolute steal. In fact I'm going to buy a few copies for those of my friends who haven't yet discovered Poco.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Always under-rated, 22 Jun 2012
By 
Peter CLARK (Epsom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection [1975-1982] (Audio CD)
Somehow, Poco never got the recognition their music deserved. The material, musicianship and production values were beyond reproach, but whilst their peers went astro, Poco remained almost a word-of-mouth band. It was if they were never on the right label. (Probably would have been better on Elektra/Asylum or Warners).
This compilation also sums up Poco's problems. The first 4 tracks (from Head Over Heels) have been taken from a damaged tape; the LH channel is partially erased and the RH one has magnetic noise all over it, because the tape has been played on a poorly maintained, non-demagged machine.
So the dubbing engineer was a) not listening or b) CBA'd to find an alternative copy master and c) the record company released it anyway. Couldn't give a toss!
On the other hand, I now know how much I liked this stuff and will set about buying the proper CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poco, great value album, 7 Mar 2012
By 
Raymond E. Young (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection [1975-1982] (Audio CD)
Just like early Eagles unsurprisingly as both bass players defected to them eventually. Mostly good stuff. Best value way of obtaining Poco's best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Essential - Poco, 5 Feb 2010
By 
P. R. Phillips (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection [1975-1982] (Audio CD)
This album contains a good selection of Poco's music spanning from their 1975 album "Head Over Heals" up to 1982. You'll enjoy this collection.If you like Eagles, you'll like Poco.

Peter Phillips, Cape Town, South Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poco....The Essential Collection, 11 July 2009
By 
Davey F (Leicestershire,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection [1975-1982] (Audio CD)
This collection from poco is excellent. For somebody who hasn't heard of this group before and likes a mix of country & rock music, then this cd is a must! This group was formed in 1968. This cd is also excellent value for money, containing 21 tracks. Give it a go & you won't be disapointed! Two of my favourite tracks on this album are 'Makin' Love' & 'Rose Of Cimarron'. 78 minutes of great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The later years - more rock than country, 4 April 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection [1975-1982] (Audio CD)
Some years ago, I reviewed The Forgotten Trail: 1969-74 (2CD), a compilation of Poco's early music with Epic. This compilation covers the second and most commercially successful part of their career after they switched to the ABC label, which later became part of MCA. Whether you like the music here better than their earlier music will depend on your personal taste, but there is much to like about both compilations.

Poco's early music featured a prominent steel guitar, and while I love the sound of a steel guitar, a lot of people don't and this may have been part of their problem. The steel guitar had gone by the time Poco joined ABC, so you won't hear it on these tracks, which owe more to rock music and less to country music. That said, even these tracks sound more country than you'll hear on contemporary country music stations across America, but that's a whole other issue.

The tracks here are taken from seven albums, these being Head over heels (Keep on tryin', Making love, Lovin' arms, Flying solo), Rose of Cimarron (Rose of Cimarron, Too many nights too long, Tulsa turnaround, Stealaway), Indian summer (Indian summer, Livin' in the band, Me and you), Legend (Crazy love, Heart of the night, Legend), Under the gun (Midnight rain, Under the gun), Blue and grey (Widowmaker, Sometimes) and Cowboys and Englishmen (Price of love, Ashes, Feudin'). Of these tracks, the most recognizable are Rose of Cimarron (later covered by Emmylou Harris), Price of love (Poco's cover of an Everly Brothers song) and the two major American hits from the Legend album, Crazy love and Heart of the night. The success of those two hits propelled the Legend album into the top 20 of the American album charts and the album eventually sold a million.

This is an excellent overview of Poco's music from 1975 to 1982, neatly complementing the Epic compilation. After 1982, Poco recorded some more albums but (it seems) nothing of any consequence. Despite the success of the Legend album and the singles taken from it, Poco remained something of an enigma to the end. Nevertheless, they were an important factor in the history of country-rock music, not least because so many of their members learned their craft with Poco before departing for better things elsewhere. If you enjoy country-rock, you should have at least one Poco album, and it might as well be this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth getting, 11 Jan 2012
By 
M. J. Salmons (Barling Magna England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Collection [1975-1982] (Audio CD)
As a long time Buffalo Springfield, CSNY and Neil Young fan, thought I'd venture into POCO. Then it all came rushing back with "Rose of Cimarron". Yes, I had heard them before, just forgot all about them and their great Country Rock music. Buy this album and get it for 2.99, it's money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection [1975-1982] (Audio CD)
Brilliant Best value CD I have purchased in ages. Some great tracks and memories are in this superb collection !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good bad and ugly, 1 Oct 2013
By 
J. donnet (perth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection [1975-1982] (Audio CD)
This is a very mixed bag and ranges from the absolutely excellent to tracks you want to fast forward within a couple of bars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Collection [1975-1982]
The Essential Collection [1975-1982] by Poco (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews