Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking for the right one.., 23 Jan 2000
This review is from: An Introduction To Stephen Bishop (Audio CD)
Stephen Bishop was someone I was introduced to at university a long time ago. I spent ages trying to find his first two albums on vinyl, searching second hand shops and the internet, and what do I find? Almost all of both on one CD. It still sounds great and I recommend it for quiet nights in when a reflective mood suits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent introduction to an under-rated artist, 1 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: An Introduction To Stephen Bishop (Audio CD)
if you like your music nice and laidback,look no further than Stephen Bishop.This man is criminally underrated.Excellent songs,lovely arrangements-treat yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an introduction!, 21 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. Wa Isaac (Rotherham, South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Introduction To Stephen Bishop (Audio CD)
I was made aware of Stephen Bishop around the late seventies by my best mate who had the "Bish" album. It was an album of pure class with some great artists guesting such as Eric Clapton, Chaka Khan and Art Garfunkel.

His voice is very smooth, soft and quite distinctive, he did the backing vocals for Phil Collins on "This must be love" on the Face Value album.

This album is the "Careless" and "Bish" albums together and for anyone who may not have heard him, take a listen. It's an album to put on when your relaxed with a glass of wine and you can simply escape to the world through the mind of this unsung hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good introduction to the work of stephen bishop, 29 Nov 1999
By 
David O'Farrell (County Kildare, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: An Introduction To Stephen Bishop (Audio CD)
This compilation contains several songs from "BISH'S" first two albums,Carless and Bish. Classic's like "on and on" , Looking for the right one , and save it for a rainy day are all featured on this one album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America's greatest secret . . ., 26 July 2008
By 
Peter Lister (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Introduction To Stephen Bishop (Audio CD)
Having got into Stephen Bishop in the early '80s, I have only just rediscovered him. (I'll admit that 'Bowling In Paris' was a huge disappointment to me and I lost interest thereafter). How under-rated he is, though. The songs on this CD, (which is the cream of the first two albums), are beautiful compositions and exquistely constructed and played. The all-star line-up of musicians is the icing on the cake and at 70 mins this represents excellent value for money, too. Buy it now. This is one that you won't be putting into a charity shop after your next Spring clean!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glad to have met him, 2 Aug 2007
This review is from: An Introduction To Stephen Bishop (Audio CD)
Stephen Bishop is one of those artists that a lot of people wouldn't necessarily recognise by name but would probably be familiar with some of his work.

This is a very good introduction with some very good tracks on it. "Careless" and the superlative "On and On" and "Little Italy" are the best known. But there is much more to Steven Bishop and this is worth buying.

He's not a stellar artist and I'm sure that he is comfortable where he is, but not all talent gets the full praise it deserves. Bishop is a writer and performer for the more serious minded listener and in that slot he is very good indeed.

Listen to "on and On" and "Little Italy" when you are sitting in your garden enjoying the sun with a glass of wine. I defy you not to let your mind drift off to a happy place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a compilation, 22 Nov 2013
By 
Graham Spafford (newcastle under lyme Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Introduction To Stephen Bishop (Audio CD)
a bringing together of some of bish's finest work its a definat cd to have in you collection a must. it flow's like mikk and satin,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BISH, 21 Feb 2013
By 
J. J. Mason "john m" (England S.Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Introduction To Stephen Bishop (Audio CD)
Nothing but brilliant. First listened to vinyl in 1970's, but his voice and presentation improves.
Anyone liking guitar music with soft,melodic melodies will like Bish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an introduction to stephen bishop, 21 April 2009
By 
A. Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Introduction To Stephen Bishop (Audio CD)
Although the album was good,it was bought as a present and the appearance of the case was poor. My husband thought that it was second hand as the case was broken. It was cheap but it should look new. Therefore 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Introduction To Stephen Bishop
An Introduction To Stephen Bishop by Stephen Bishop (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews